8/5 Harley AMPS 311, PMPS 388, +4 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob & Harley (GA)

Member Since 2009
I should have given him a token dose last night but there was too much going on.

So I gave the token dose this morning, I know you all won't agree with that but I have a big meeting at work today and can't test mid cycle and can't be worried about it all day.

Sorry, we'll see what happens now. I may regret it.

Yesterdays News
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=21517
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 311

Robin, Harley is your cat and it's always your decision. Please don't apologize for doing what you are comfortable with!! It will be ok, you will get him back on track. It's important to not spend the day worrying about Harley...been there, done that and it's not worth it!

He does like to keep you on your toes, that was a nice run of numbers!

I may be a little OCD, but I keep a log of what I feed Tinkles, how much and the timing...that's how I know which foods cause spikes and which don't. If you can do that, it might help you. I don't put it all on the SS, it makes it too busy IMO, but I have kept a notebook from the beginning. Food can have a BIG effect, and I have found that 2 foods from J&Bs list that have the same carb % can act very differently on Tinkles' BG. It may be more than you want to take on, but it's something to consider.

I know you said you didn't change his food yet, but I would make a note of what you fed him yesterday...even if it was a 7-8% carb food, it may be one that doesn't affect his BG as much as others.
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 311

well robin my love, all i can say is i saw that coming. you got a little blue happy i think :lol: seeing all those blues!
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 311

LOL, I guess we are pretty predictable, eh???

No worries, I remember saying the EXACT same thing when I was trying to get Bix's #s under control - ah, the good old days. :lol: My view is you have to do what feels right to you. That's how you learn what works and doesn't work. When I went against the advice I was getting I always learned from it, and even a few times I turned out to be right, and that helped me realize that once I did start getting the hang of it, I knew Bix's patterns & response better than anyone else, since I was seeing it first hand.

As they used to tell me "you hold the syringe" and basically, you have to live with the consequences of any shot you give. So if something were to go wrong b/c you did something you didn't think was right but that's what everyone was telling you to do.... ewww, that would be pretty icky.

So IMO there is never any need to apologize or defend what you are doing. We are here to offer support and suggestions if we can, but they are always just suggestions to help you make the best decision that you can.

Hope your meeting goes great!!!
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 311

of course joanna is absolutely right, you hold the syringe.
who cares what we say? who are we? LOL :lol: totally kidding.
I always like to hear the 'method to your maddness' as they say.
can hardly wait to hear what you were thinking, tho, i do have a clue i think.
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 311

Hi Robin-

Just wanted to stop by and say hello...no advice or feedback here. There seem to be a lot of Harleys on the board and our posts are usually hanging out pretty close together on the board. I can't tell you how many times I've clicked on your condo thinking it was mine! :-D

Best of luck you you both today!!

s
 
Re: 8/5 Harley AMPS 311

Boy you guys were busy last night on health!

Thanks for the support. Actually there wasn't any stragegy in the decision making. Life can be very stressful at times and I don't think straight when I'm stressed and I didn't want to make a stupid mistake with Harley's life.

Work is always a little stressful, some days more than others. I was stressed by having to shoot early because of an appointment I wasn't really looking forward to and than he had all those lower #'s. I just figured that I would test again when I got home 3 hours later. He was rising but he wasn't that high and I stayed up much later than I should have (with the upcoming meetings today) to keep testing him, by midnight it seemed too late to shoot so this morning I didn't think I would be able to test mid cycle and didn't want to over do it. I was a little blurry eyed after only 4 hours of sleep and didn't want to be stressed or distracted by worry so I shot low.

Now we'll pay for it.

The new food was not a big hit. I'll try to get better at keeping track of what was fed and carb content. We all know that it makes a difference.

But now I'm giving myself the night off. No chasing around trying to get everything done. No juggling responsibilities. Me and the kittehs are going to hang in front of the tv & puter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top