Manuel
Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-1-emma-amps-299-failed-reduction.266556/
Hi! Emma came in at 124 this morning, though I wonder whether that could be an error on my part. I got her either on the vein or so-called sweet spot and a lot more blood came out than usual (!), so I got the sample from my nail/hand. Does that affect the reading?
In any case, I'm a bit confused, because last night PMPS was 248 and +5 was 270. Numbers have been in the 200 range generally for the last week, but 4 days ago I started introducing some wet food accounting for about 35% of her daily calories. She seems to be tolerating it well (no vomit), which I take to be a very good thing.
What might explain the lower starting number this time? She was starving, so I gave her about half her meal and will give the rest in a bit.With stalling, do I wait 30 minute, test and shoot? I recall reading different things, though I know ideally I wouldn't have fed her. Thanks for any thoughts or advice.
I tested at +1 and I see she's still falling somewhat, even though I didn't give her any insulin. I guess it could be within margin of error. I will skip the morning shot today and give the remainder of the food at +2.
Hi! Emma came in at 124 this morning, though I wonder whether that could be an error on my part. I got her either on the vein or so-called sweet spot and a lot more blood came out than usual (!), so I got the sample from my nail/hand. Does that affect the reading?
In any case, I'm a bit confused, because last night PMPS was 248 and +5 was 270. Numbers have been in the 200 range generally for the last week, but 4 days ago I started introducing some wet food accounting for about 35% of her daily calories. She seems to be tolerating it well (no vomit), which I take to be a very good thing.
What might explain the lower starting number this time? She was starving, so I gave her about half her meal and will give the rest in a bit.
I tested at +1 and I see she's still falling somewhat, even though I didn't give her any insulin. I guess it could be within margin of error. I will skip the morning shot today and give the remainder of the food at +2.
Last edited:
