8/4 Tibby AMPS 272 +5 249 Do I have to do a curve?

Amy&Tibby

Member Since 2020
Hello again. So I started Lantus a couple of weeks ago at 2 units 2x a day. He had been on 2.5 units of Prozinc 2x a day before that. I did a curve after 9 days on Lantus and upped his dosage to ~2.25 units 2x a day. It's been a week since then with spot tests here and there.

Do I have enough data to NOT do another curve and raise his dosage to a solid 2.5 units 2x a day?

I emailed his curve to the vet, and he suggested 3 units 2x a day, but that seems too much of a jump. He actually seems to have a nice, normal-looking curve with Lantus that he didn't have with Prozinc, so I feel like maybe he doesn't need all the ear stabbing at this point. What I'm thinking is upping it to 2.5 with a lot of periodic testing to make sure his BG isn't going too low.
 
Since you're following SLGS you can increase after 10-14 cycles of not seeing any low nadirs (under 200).

It looks to me like you have enough data, except for getting a test at night before bed.

If you take a look at Luci's SS - look at what she pulled on us at her 'before bedtime' test.

Just goes to show that cats can take a nice dive 200 or more points after the sun goes down...

Lantus is a depot drug and I believe slower acting than Prozinc.

I think you're doing a great job - just be sure to get a test or two at night :)
 
I would love a spreadsheet with numbers like those! I keep meaning to get evening numbers, but that's usually when I jog and do more work at home, and then I forget. During the day has been so much easier. It's all going to be trickier once school starts up again though. (I'm a teacher.)

I've also been meaning to put the times in like you have, but I'm adjusting his shot time earlier gradually. That is so helpful to have the times.

I definitely didn't want to jump up to 3 units. I think he's not terribly experienced with diabetes, but he has been very good and responsive. I think I've been accidentally giving 2.5 anyway because I can barely see the lines, so I'll just be going up to a line that I can see properly.

I'm still not sure at what I point I should not shoot or start to worry. He's never been close to low numbers since this all started, so now I need to study up on that.
 
It's all going to be trickier once school starts up again though. (I'm a teacher.)

Lucky you! Are you going to be back in the classroom? So many of our schools are opting for virtual again this Fall. Too many students are already testing positive...but I understand your dilemma with testing - although lots of people who work full time manage to work in a few tests during the day. There's a stickie all about the topic: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/

I've also been meaning to put the times in like you have, but I'm adjusting his shot time earlier gradually. That is so helpful to have the times.

Also very helpful for me since I work full time (from home) and can get distracted easily - so I need to know exactly when I'm supposed to get started on the test/feed/shoot routine twice a day - and it's really helpful when I have to change the time (it happens!)...and I need to back up or move forward over the course of a few days to prepare for an occasion when I know I won't be here at my regular time - I write it in and then look to see what time I've got myself scheduled. I also have to set up reminders on my phone...may day can get really crazy - without those reminders I'd be lost...and Luci would suffer from it.

I've been accidentally giving 2.5 anyway because I can barely see the lines, so I'll just be going up to a line that I can see properly.

You will want to get some calipers for just this purpose - moving your dose to a 'line you can see properly' isn't going to work when Tibby starts earning reductions since it's recommended to move in .25 increments in either direction. I use these little calipers and love them!

https://www.harborfreight.com/hand-...rs-micrometer/4-in-digital-caliper-63710.html

When you get the calipers ask for help on how to use them - there's info posted here including a video! I couldn't live without them!
He's never been close to low numbers since this all started, so now I need to study up on that.

My last recommendation for this - I'd strongly advise for you to switch to a human meter. They work just as well as a pet meter and are a lot less expensive for the strips. And the 'cut off' number of 68 or less is kinda tricky to get to when you just start hitting those 100's, 68 isn't far away. And on SLGS I believe the 'cut off' is 90...so if Tibby drops below 90 he'll have earned a reduction - whether or not he truly has is another issue - but hopefully those numbers aren't too far off. You guys are new at this so it takes time to learn the ropes here.

But the best advice I can give at this time is to set an alarm in the evening and get a test or two - inconvenient? Most likely. Important? Absolutely.

I hope you have a wonderful day - I realize I've written a lot here...just tick thru them one at a time and do the best you can :) It's all we can ever do...Now I have to post for Luci and get to work...:)
 
I did a test last night since y'all put the idea in my head. I'll just set yet another phone alarm. :)

Right now we may be in school, but that could all change. Our plans aren't set yet, but I'm preparing for every contingency. But even when I teach from home, it's hard to fit tests in. Teaching becomes all-consuming when it's from home.

I'll have to try those calipers. And a human meter. I'm stocked up on PetSure strips for my AT2, and that's what the vet uses, so that's why I've stayed with that so far.
 
Teaching becomes all-consuming when it's from home.

Your job sounds like mine...sometimes when I'm on a conference call or Zoom meeting, I have to 'mute' and then I go and test Luci...sometimes, I've just had to tell my boss that I need a minute to test Luci... he says that she owes her life to my attentions...and he's right...He was actually on FaceTime with me when I got the news from our first vet that he had recommended euthanasia due to her diabetes - and that it was impossible to regulate cats; that she'd pee all over the house and that she would not cooperate with me giving her shots. Silly guy! That was almost 3 years ago...and Luci is doing quite well, although not in remission...and she may never be, but that's ok...She's over there sunning herself and having a kitty bath and looks quite contented at the moment...and so it goes.

My work day is often so frantic that I can barely keep up...but if I have to get up from all that and go to the bathroom (which is impossible to ignore!) I can grab a quick test on Luci on the way...

I'm sure you'll love the calipers and the human meter too...you can even use it along with your AT2 ... and gradually migrate to the human meter - it's interesting to see the differences...as you grow and learn about this disease you'll see the ranges of numbers..not so different.

Hang in there...it'll all come together soon. :)
 
I'd try to set your alarm for later in the evening cycle for a day or two and try to fill in the +7 to +9 blank spots on the chart. My girl is a late night diver and regularly has her lowest numbers in 24 hrs at around PMPS +9.
 
Back
Top