8/4 Oberon AMBG 47 (stalled), +1 41 (skip), +3 98, +6 192, PMPS 370, +4 385

Lisa & Oberon

Member Since 2020
yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-50-1-5-46-3-49-4-5-39-5-5-48-6-5-53.266659/

Should be a calmer day today now that we skipped the AM dose.

Last night was clearly the old 5.5 depot talking, but I'm wondering about the dose for tonight. Stick with 5.25, or take him down to 5 U? (Remember that the way we're measuring with the calipers, there's about 0.5 U of dead space. So 5.5 is really 5 U, and lower than that threshold we should be using 0.25 U increments. But also, cat on a mission.)
 
It could be argued you didn't decrease enough from the 5.5 level and should have gone to 5.0 units. I'm ignoring the syringe markings. When Neko was on a deep dive down dose, I found 0.5 unit reductions worked until around 3.5 units total. Different cat, different circumstances. But I've also seen it on a cat over 5 units breaking glucose toxicity. I'm always on the side of caution with higher dose cats and some secondary condition causing insulin resistance that can shift on you.
 
Yeah, 5 U tonight sounds good. It's always a balancing act with him... if we overdo the reductions he gets stuck in high numbers really quickly. But this is the third time we've had to skip in the past week, so there's definitely something up.
 
Back
Top