8/4 Nadia PMPS=122 +1=220 +2=230

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liz4Paws

Member Since 2013
Hi LL! Nadia has been doing a great job of staying in the blues, but she generally starts out high in the 100s or 200s and dips into the nice numbers. Tonight she is at PMPS122 which is the lowest PS so far. I'm a little nervous about her dipping too low tonight because I am on-call for work for the next week and even though I will be home, if I get a call for work tonight my attention may be pulled away. I can juggle both but it might be very difficult.

Do I shoot? wait? We are 15 min before her shot. I know I have to learn to shoot low and maybe is the night I start? What do you all think?
 
Re: Nadia 8/4 PMPS=122 Do I shoot?

You've shot a 155 which is pretty darn close. I think you should shoot as long as you can monitor and you have strips and HC if you need them.

Remember to get a +1 and a +2 to start.
 
Re: Nadia 8/4 PMPS=122 Do I shoot?

That's what I was thinking. Thanks for responding. Okay, may the sugarcat guardian angels be watching down upon us tonight. :)
 
Re: Nadia 8/4 PMPS=122 Do I shoot?

And the deed is done! Thanks! I'll get a +1 and +2. I know this is a dumb question, but based on her spreadsheet, does this look like a cat headed into remission? We had her on .5u when she was first diagnosed and she wasn't nearly this receptive.
 
Re: Nadia 8/4 PMPS=122 Do I shoot?

Great shooting! :RAHCAT

Shooting low does get easier! (at least when you'll be home to test ;-) )
 
Re: Nadia 8/4 PMPS=122 Do I shoot?

Nikki's Mom said:
Great shooting! :RAHCAT

Shooting low does get easier! (at least when you'll be home to test ;-) )

Thanks for the encouragement. Dumb question on my part - what about the days when I can't be home to test? Like tomorrow I have to be at work from +2 until +9 and I have a feeling she might have a lower AMPS too.
 
Re: Nadia 8/4 PMPS=122 Do I shoot?

You can always leave some MC food out. Plus if you can get a +10 or +11 on the PM cycle, that will give you an idea on whether the number is rising or not. I chickened out plenty of times with Nikki, mostly because she was so unpredictable. :lol: Plus I was out of the house from +1 to PMPS, so it was really hard. The good thing is that as their cycles get flatter and you shoot lower, they won't tend to bounce around as much (hopefully!) That makes it easier to leave for the day.

I usually made sure Nikki had food every 3 hours when I had to go to work, which helped me worry a little less. An auto feeder is a godsend! :-D

ETA: Since Nikki's SS isn't exactly a good example of what happens when you start shooting low (i'm a BCS :oops: and she clearly wanted to march to her own drum! :roll: :lol: ), maybe take a look at Lucky's SS. It's pretty amazing how she started shooting lower and almost right away the bouncing stopped and his cycles flattened out!
 
Re: Nadia 8/4 PMPS=122 Do I shoot?

Liz4Paws said:
And the deed is done! Thanks! I'll get a +1 and +2. I know this is a dumb question, but based on her spreadsheet, does this look like a cat headed into remission? We had her on .5u when she was first diagnosed and she wasn't nearly this receptive.

Headed for remission? Too soon to say. We would expect to see a lot more greens and blues, with only the occasional blip of yellow.

I do see some bouncing from the lows on 7/30, and from the skipped shot on 8/2 PM.

The cycle count started over with that skipped shot, so you are only on the 4th cycle of this new 0.5U dose. It may not have settled yet due to that skipped shot on 8/2. We need to put on those patience pants to see how the BG numbers fall out with this new dose.
 
Re: 8/4 Nadia PMPS=122 +1=220

Makes sense, Deb. Thanks.

Her +1 went up to 220! I think she's going to have a good cycle, but I've eaten my words before. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top