8/4 Merlin AMPS 94 Not shooting going to the vet.

@Bandit's Mom
I had a situation last night where MC and HC stopped working to control Merlin. Nothing, or very little would happen when I fed him 15, 30 or 28. He was in green and stayed pretty much the same, if not dropping, even 45 minutes after feeding. I cant shoot the full dose, if any, if I cant control him with carbs. I noticed this yesterday morning as will as I fed him 9.8 at +4 and +4.5. Here is a photo of my notes from last night.

Can i ask a question as it's been praying on my mind since Jill posted this yesterday.
@Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Darcy @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) thanks ladies.
As you know i have been following Merlins progress daily since day one including his overdose back in May.
I am not a Lantus user so forgive me for my ignorance but i am trying to learn.
On the 2nd August PM cycle Jill gave Merlin the full dose of 0.75u and he dropped down to 3.7 mmol/l (67 mg/dl) at PM+2.5 so Jill fed 8g of 30% high carb food to steer him but even after feeding the 30% high carb food he still dropped down to 3.3mmol/L (59 mg/dl) at PM+3 so again Jill had to feed Merlin 10g of 28.6% of high carb food to stop him dropping into the danger zone below 2.8mmol/L (50 mg/dl) which no doubt he would have done without the very high carb food.
Even with all the high carb food in him he remained low but in good numbers but surely this feeding with the very high carb food should have earned him a reduction as Jill was fighting and not steering to stop him dropping below 2.8mmol/L (50 mg/dl).
I can understand if Jill was feeding low to med carb to steer him but this was 30% carb food.
Again sorry for my ignorance but as i say it's been praying on my mind.
 
Last edited:
I do hope he's ok Jill.
Did you manage to get some Almo Nature salmon yesterday?
I'm hoping he's just not hungry after eating lots last night, he ate 120g including his supper up to PM+7, (4:00 am your time) and with his breakfast time at 9:00 am 5 hours later he just might not be hungry.
Hopefully @Bandit's Mom @Suzanne & Darcy can advise on Merlins shot.
As you know i can't advise on dosing Jill but @Wendy&Neko did post this yesterday on your other thread.
Hoping decides he likes what's on the menu for dinner tonight.

Not true. Even cats that cannot eat because they are undergoing anaesthesia can get a half shot. Just putting that out there cause I don't want people to think no food = no shot. Insulin does more than counter the carbs in his food. It helps feed his body.
 
Tee, I did not give him any insulin as I don’t know how much he will drop on any dose at this point, even a token dose. If he did drop, which he is bound to, on no breakfast, I don’t know that he would eat any food to bring him back up. And on top of that, after the experience you quoted above, it may not make a difference , even if he did eat. The 9.8 we fed him last night twice didn’t bump him up at all. This is a situation that all depends on Merlin eating, and I need to get that sorted before carrying on with insulin.
 
Merlin is not eating again. We are not shooting. Going to the vet this evening.
Hope they can get bloodwork sometime, but it won’t be today since they have that weird policy about drawing blood. He wasn’t even fed much last night. I’m sorry he’s not eating.

ETA: I take it back — He actually was fed a lot - and in the latter part of the cycle too - I was thinking of the early part of the cycle where he usually gets a lot of food - but it wasn’t necessary last night.
 
Last edited:
Hope they can get bloodwork sometime, but it won’t be today since they have that weird policy about drawing blood. He wasn’t even fed much last night. I’m sorry he’s not eating.
I read that, it's a crazy policy leaving a cat all day at the vets for a two minute procedure.
Think of the stress the poor cats will go through.
I'm wondering/hoping that Jill's vets are getting mixed up thinking he would be going in for the day to do a curve rather than a two minute blood draw.
 
I would not waste my time going to the vet if I could not get bloodwork. You will end up taking him back anyway most likely. Remember my caution about showing the vet your spreadsheet. You will most likely need this vet for prescription refills.
 
I read that, it's a crazy policy leaving a cat all day at the vets for a two minute procedure.
Think of the stress the poor cats will go through.
I'm wondering/hoping that Jill's vets are getting mixed up thinking he would be going in for the day to do a curve rather than a two minute blood draw.
I hope you are right- that there was just some confusion about this.
 
The more I think about this, the more I am with @Teetee (UK) on the eating thing. He got food even at 4 am last night and he’s probably just not very hungry. I hope that’s all it is. You will find out later if he gets hungry as the day goes on.
 
The more I think about this, the more I am with @Teetee (UK) on the eating thing. He got food even at 4 am last night and he’s probably just not very hungry. I hope that’s all it is. You will find out later if he gets hungry as the day goes on.

It was just a thought and i could be well off the mark but it just seems strange that he's eaten well on the last two PM cycles and very little on the AM cycles.
Has he eaten anything today Jill?
 
I am not a Lantus user so forgive me for my ignorance but i am trying to learn.
On the 8th August PM cycle Jill gave Merlin the full dose of 0.75u and he dropped down to 3.7 mmol/l (67 mg/dl) at PM+2.5
Still August 4th here. ;) Which day were you referring to? Want to make sure I have the background story right.
 
Still August 4th here. ;) Which day were you referring to? Want to make sure I have the background story right.
ooops, sorry Wendy, i meant the 2nd August PM cycle.
Where on Earth did i get the 8th from.
Edited original post to correct date.
 
@Teetee (UK) August 2nd was the first day of the new dose after a reduction earned the PM of the 1st. The 1.0 unit depot was still heavily influencing the action seen on the 2nd. The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. So the lower numbers she was seeing that day were more likely due to the 1.0 units shot the previous days than the 0.75 shot that day. We don't take what are called "back to back" reductions, as they often fail.

Paws crossed for a good vet visit Jill. :bighug:
 
@Teetee (UK) August 2nd was the first day of the new dose after a reduction earned the PM of the 1st. The 1.0 unit depot was still heavily influencing the action seen on the 2nd. The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. So the lower numbers she was seeing that day were more likely due to the 1.0 units shot the previous days than the 0.75 shot that day. We don't take what are called "back to back" reductions, as they often fail.

Paws crossed for a good vet visit Jill. :bighug:

Thanks for that Wendy, that's explains everything perfectly.
 
We left Merlin in the hospital tonight for tests. He is dehydrated, constipated, and still not eating. They will give him fluids, do blood work, test urine, and not give insulin. They suspect pancreatitis, but it may be other things. They are really nice and understanding. The vet took him out of his carrier and kissed him on the cheek. It’s an all-cat practice. He is in good hands. Fingers and paws all crossed for him.
 
We left Merlin in the hospital tonight for tests. He is dehydrated, constipated, and still not eating. They will give him fluids, do blood work, test urine, and not give insulin. They suspect pancreatitis, but it may be other things. They are really nice and understanding. The vet took him out of his carrier and kissed him on the cheek. It’s an all-cat practice. He is in good hands. Fingers and paws all crossed for him.

Poor Merlin. :(
Fingers and toes crossed for you all Jill. Duke and George have their paws crossed for him as well.
Let's hope they get a diagnosis very soon and get him well again.
Will you be able to visit him in the morning?
 
Poor Merlin. :(
Fingers and toes crossed for you all Jill. Duke and George have their paws crossed for him as well.
Let's hope they get a diagnosis very soon and get him well again.
Will you be able to visit him in the morning?
We don’t know how long he will be in. We might be picking him up tomorrow.
 
Sorry to hear Marvin's getting a "spa day" at the vet. :bighug: Hopefully he'll get better soon. In the mean time, please try to get some sleep tonight Jill.
 
Sounds like Merlin is in very good hands, Aww the vet kissed him on the cheek. I'm glad he's not stressed ,what a good boy. I hope they can give you a diagnosis so he will feel better. Sending positive vibes :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Hope you wake up to good news from the vet and hope you were able to get some sleep. The tiniest of silver linings of these vet visits is getting some sleep.
 
Just got a call from the vet. Merlin is looking brighter, has eaten a little, and has pooped! They have just run some blood tests on him and are waiting for the results. No insulin dose, and I’m happy about that. His bg is 252. Not too bad, considering stress and no insulin for over 24 hours! I will update here when I have the test results. Meanwhile, Ivy and I relished our 10 HOURS OF SLEEP!!!!
 
Hi Tee. The video wouldn’t upload here:confused:
Shame as i would have loved to have seen it.

Just got a call from the vet. Merlin is looking brighter, has eaten a little, and has pooped! They have just run some blood tests on him and are waiting for the results. No insulin dose, and I’m happy about that. His bg is 252. Not too bad, considering stress and no insulin for over 24 hours! I will update here when I have the test results. Meanwhile, Ivy and I relished our 10 HOURS OF SLEEP!!!!
That's great news Jill that he's feeling better, eating a little and pooped plus the IV fluids will help him feel a lot better once he's rehydrated.
Are they are doing the bloods in house or sending them to the lab?
10 hours sleep and i'll bet by 3pm your both ready for a nap, lol. but you earned it.:bighug:
 
Shame as i would have loved to have seen it.


That's great news Jill that he's feeling better, eating a little and pooped plus the IV fluids will help him feel a lot better once he's rehydrated.
Are they are doing the bloods in house or sending them to the lab?
10 hours sleep and i'll bet by 3pm your both ready for a nap, lol. but you earned it.:bighug:
Yes, in-house lab. Ivy is going busking down the town! No napping for that girl!
 
Just got a call from the vet. Merlin is looking brighter, has eaten a little, and has pooped! They have just run some blood tests on him and are waiting for the results. No insulin dose, and I’m happy about that. His bg is 252. Not too bad, considering stress and no insulin for over 24 hours! I will update here when I have the test results. Meanwhile, Ivy and I relished our 10 HOURS OF SLEEP!!!!

finally some good news! I needed to hear this today.
 
Hi Jill how are things going?
Hi Kyle
We are in limbo right now, waiting for an appointment at the vets on Thursday for an ultrasound and for a consultant to get back to us about Merlin’s sensitivity to lantus. He has pancreatitis and we are treating with cerenia, antibiotic, and sometimes bup. I am not shooting again until I can figure out what’s going on with him. Personally, I am trying to recover from stress and exhaustion. It’s been a long terrible journey with not enough sleep. Thanks for asking, Kyle.
 
Hi Kyle
We are in limbo right now, waiting for an appointment at the vets on Thursday for an ultrasound and for a consultant to get back to us about Merlin’s sensitivity to lantus. He has pancreatitis and we are treating with cerenia, antibiotic, and sometimes bup. I am not shooting again until I can figure out what’s going on with him. Personally, I am trying to recover from stress and exhaustion. It’s been a long terrible journey with not enough sleep. Thanks for asking, Kyle.


:bighug:


Well I was wondering and thinking of you, Merlin and Ivy. Hang in there.
 
Back
Top