Merlin’sMama
Member Since 2022
Good morning
@Bandit's Mom
I had a situation last night where MC and HC stopped working to control Merlin. Nothing, or very little would happen when I fed him 15, 30 or 28. He was in green and stayed pretty much the same, if not dropping, even 45 minutes after feeding. I cant shoot the full dose, if any, if I cant control him with carbs. I noticed this yesterday morning as will as I fed him 9.8 at +4 and +4.5. Here is a photo of my notes from last night.
He is not eating. I cant give the shot. I dont think he will eat any snacks with the shot either.Doesn't look like he will stay on this dose long! Great numbers after a skip. Is he eating okay?
Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-3-merlin-pmps-221-214-1-202-2-155-3-126-4-94-5.266637/
Hoping decides he likes what's on the menu for dinner tonight.
Not true. Even cats that cannot eat because they are undergoing anaesthesia can get a half shot. Just putting that out there cause I don't want people to think no food = no shot. Insulin does more than counter the carbs in his food. It helps feed his body.
Hope they can get bloodwork sometime, but it won’t be today since they have that weird policy about drawing blood. He wasn’t even fed much last night. I’m sorry he’s not eating.Merlin is not eating again. We are not shooting. Going to the vet this evening.
I read that, it's a crazy policy leaving a cat all day at the vets for a two minute procedure.Hope they can get bloodwork sometime, but it won’t be today since they have that weird policy about drawing blood. He wasn’t even fed much last night. I’m sorry he’s not eating.
I hope you are right- that there was just some confusion about this.I read that, it's a crazy policy leaving a cat all day at the vets for a two minute procedure.
Think of the stress the poor cats will go through.
I'm wondering/hoping that Jill's vets are getting mixed up thinking he would be going in for the day to do a curve rather than a two minute blood draw.




The more I think about this, the more I am with @Teetee (UK) on the eating thing. He got food even at 4 am last night and he’s probably just not very hungry. I hope that’s all it is. You will find out later if he gets hungry as the day goes on.
He has eaten not quite two small spoons of lcIt was just a thought and i could be well off the mark but it just seems strange that he's eaten well on the last two PM cycles and very little on the AM cycles.
Has he eaten anything today Jill?
I hope he’s okay. Now I am worriedHe has eaten not quite two small spoons of lc
Still August 4th here.I am not a Lantus user so forgive me for my ignorance but i am trying to learn.
On the 8th August PM cycle Jill gave Merlin the full dose of 0.75u and he dropped down to 3.7 mmol/l (67 mg/dl) at PM+2.5
ooops, sorry Wendy, i meant the 2nd August PM cycle.Still August 4th here.Which day were you referring to? Want to make sure I have the background story right.

@Teetee (UK) August 2nd was the first day of the new dose after a reduction earned the PM of the 1st. The 1.0 unit depot was still heavily influencing the action seen on the 2nd. The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. So the lower numbers she was seeing that day were more likely due to the 1.0 units shot the previous days than the 0.75 shot that day. We don't take what are called "back to back" reductions, as they often fail.
Paws crossed for a good vet visit Jill.![]()
We left Merlin in the hospital tonight for tests. He is dehydrated, constipated, and still not eating. They will give him fluids, do blood work, test urine, and not give insulin. They suspect pancreatitis, but it may be other things. They are really nice and understanding. The vet took him out of his carrier and kissed him on the cheek. It’s an all-cat practice. He is in good hands. Fingers and paws all crossed for him.
We don’t know how long he will be in. We might be picking him up tomorrow.Poor Merlin.
Fingers and toes crossed for you all Jill. Duke and George have their paws crossed for him as well.
Let's hope they get a diagnosis very soon and get him well again.
Will you be able to visit him in the morning?
Keep us updated on him please Jill.We don’t know how long he will be in. We might be picking him up tomorrow.
The vet sent us a video of Merlin having his head scratched before he gets his fluids in. He looks pretty relaxed. They said he didn’t need any sedation for any tests. He’s a really good boy.




Hopefully he'll get better soon. In the mean time, please try to get some sleep tonight Jill.



Any news Jill?The vet sent us a video of Merlin having his head scratched before he gets his fluids in. He looks pretty relaxed. They said he didn’t need any sedation for any tests. He’s a really good boy.
Hi Tee. The video wouldn’t upload hereAny news Jill?
I'd love to see the video.
Shame as i would have loved to have seen it.Hi Tee. The video wouldn’t upload here![]()
That's great news Jill that he's feeling better, eating a little and pooped plus the IV fluids will help him feel a lot better once he's rehydrated.Just got a call from the vet. Merlin is looking brighter, has eaten a little, and has pooped! They have just run some blood tests on him and are waiting for the results. No insulin dose, and I’m happy about that. His bg is 252. Not too bad, considering stress and no insulin for over 24 hours! I will update here when I have the test results. Meanwhile, Ivy and I relished our 10 HOURS OF SLEEP!!!!

Yes, in-house lab. Ivy is going busking down the town! No napping for that girl!Shame as i would have loved to have seen it.
That's great news Jill that he's feeling better, eating a little and pooped plus the IV fluids will help him feel a lot better once he's rehydrated.
Are they are doing the bloods in house or sending them to the lab?
10 hours sleep and i'll bet by 3pm your both ready for a nap, lol. but you earned it.![]()
Just got a call from the vet. Merlin is looking brighter, has eaten a little, and has pooped! They have just run some blood tests on him and are waiting for the results. No insulin dose, and I’m happy about that. His bg is 252. Not too bad, considering stress and no insulin for over 24 hours! I will update here when I have the test results. Meanwhile, Ivy and I relished our 10 HOURS OF SLEEP!!!!
Hi KyleHi Jill how are things going?
Hi Kyle
We are in limbo right now, waiting for an appointment at the vets on Thursday for an ultrasound and for a consultant to get back to us about Merlin’s sensitivity to lantus. He has pancreatitis and we are treating with cerenia, antibiotic, and sometimes bup. I am not shooting again until I can figure out what’s going on with him. Personally, I am trying to recover from stress and exhaustion. It’s been a long terrible journey with not enough sleep. Thanks for asking, Kyle.
