8/4 Lucy PMPS=70;+1=103;+2=124

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning!

Yesterday's condo

8/3 AMPS=130; +3=103; +4=94
8/3 PMPS=92; +2=95; +4=92; +6=94

8/4 AMPS=103; +2=88; +4=106; +6=115
8/4 PMPS=70; +1=103; +2=124

Lucy vomited pink liquid (not mucusy, color of diluted watermelon juice) this morning before breakfast. :sad:
She still wanted to eat, even right after the vomiting, so I didn't give her any Pepcid today.
I really do not like how often she's been vomiting.... I'm going to talk to the vet about it today.
I think I'm going to try to find slippery elm bark powder as soon as possible, and start giving it to her to see it it makes any difference.
I'm glad she was still willing to eat, though.
She ate half of her 1st breakfast by herself and rest & 2nd breakfast by finger-feeding.

As I mentioned yesterday, we have a vet appointment this evening for both Lucy and Ginger.
The main things I am concerned about are her vomiting and if her CKD is progressing.
Given the vomiting, the vet may suggest ultra-sound.
Maybe it's a good idea anyway because we haven't done that for 2 years.
I'm also going to ask her to take a really good at her teeth & gum.

I don't have much concern about Ginger's health, but she'll get regular blood panel and urinalysis too.
She may be due for another dental. Ginger is more prone to plaque and gingivitis.

I have a knot in my stomach, and the appointment is not for another 8 hours.
Please send Lucy and Ginger continuing vetty vines.
 
Re: 8/4 Lucy AMPS=103 // VOMITED

Sometimes, when a cat (or even us) vomits, a capillary breaks and it tints the fluid pink. I hope that's the case.

It sounds like Lucy is having some issues with an acid stomach. I'm wondering if you spread out her food so she's not going for a really long time between her last meal and her shot, if that would help.
 
Re: 8/4 Lucy AMPS=103 // VOMITED

Sending a ton of good vetty vines for Lucy and Ginger, and calming vines for you, Mariko. I know that "knot in the stomach" feeling all to well. I'm glad Lucy's appy is doing well - that's great news!!!
 
Re: 8/4 Lucy AMPS=103 // VOMITED

Thank you, Sienne.
I really hope that the pink vomit is caused by what you explained....

I feed her close to 1/2 portion of her meal at AM&PMPS.
Then half of what's left at +1, and the last portion at +2.
I started doing this to slow her down since she tends to drop big at +2.

She usually vomits in the morning, before breakfast, but not before dinner.
Do you think It would be a good idea to feed her a small meal before bed?
 
Re: 8/4 Lucy AMPS=103 // VOMITED

Sending lots of good Vetty vines and prayers for Lucy and Ginger. I'm glad Lucy is still interested in eating. Will check back letter for an update. (((Hugs)))
 
Re: 8/4 Lucy AMPS=103 // VOMITED

I'm sorry about the vomit this morning. I hope you can get some answers from the vet. Sending prayers for a good vet visit for Lucy and Ginger.
 
Re: 8/4 Lucy AMPS=103;+2=88;+4=106;+6=115

Piling on some more good vetty visit vines today for Lucy and Ginger. I hope the fireworks didn't distress them too much last night.

I've always fed Neko a small meal before bedtime, in hopes that she won't bug me too early for breakfast. And so that she has less time in between food.
 
Re: 8/4 Lucy PMPS=70 Huh??

Thank you very much for the vines!!!

We are back!!!!
Well the vet appointment went so-so, but the important thing is the cats survived and they've got their blood and urine samples.

Ginger's check up and sample collection went perfect.
She was so scared she just froze the whole time.
Per physical exams, the doctor said her coat looked good, her body felt perfect, her heart sounded good, eyes, ears all good.
The only thing is that she does need a dental cleaning, but I expected that.
Her blood & urine collection went smooth.

Now Lucy.
She was very grumpy and growly.
Her physical exams was good, the doctor didn't find anything abnormal by feeling her abdomen, her heart sounded normal.
Lucy could also use a dental cleaning too, but the vet wants to wait until the blood results come before making decision whether it is safe to put her under anesthesia.
For the blood tests, we decided to do the regular blood panel with only spec fPL added.
I asked her what she thought about adding a test that will tell how her adrenal glands are doing since we reduced her steroid dose 2 weeks ago.
The vet said we could do it if I wanted, but the information would not be useful at this point, it would be just for my satisfaction.
She can guess, without testing, that the hormone she is producing will be low at this point, but her body is now in a process of leaning to produce more hormones by herself.
So, I've decided not to add this test today, but do it if she shows symptoms in future (extremely lethargic, not eating, diarrhea, vomiting).
Her urine collection went good, but her blood collection was bit of a drama.
She has tiny veins, and is always very slow to bleed.
She got poked 2 times, so it wasn't too bad, but she was very angry by the time they got enough blood.
I wanted help with her mats/knots, but she didn't have much patient left by this time, so we were only able to shave the worst part, which is belly.
Not as much as I wanted, but I am still very grateful.
So, Lucy wasn't as clam as I'd hoped, she seemed more upset and stressed about the whole thing today than usual.
(She even bit me a couple of times - very unusual.)

When we got home, It was close to the preshot test & dinner time. Lucy was already happy and wanted her dinner.
I just gave her a little treat and patted her well done to kill some time before it's time, and she purred.
I tested her PMPS 30 minutes after we got home, and her number was 70!!!! :o :o :o I was so surprised.
I did give her sub-q fluids today before the appointment because she vomited in the morning, and it always brings her number down a bit.
But I expected her PMPS to be high, even yellow, after being soooo stressed at the appointment.
I didn't even think about testing her at the vet because I assumed she'd be high from the stress, but who knows what number she was at......

I will probably not get the lab results until Tuesday or Wednesday since tomorrow is holiday here.
I'll let you know once I hear the results.
Paws crossed for good news.
 
Re: 8/4 Lucy PMPS=70 Huh???

I would give Lucy some food at bedtime and see if it helps. It certainly can't hurt!

As for the lower numbers, some cats' numbers drop with stress.
 
Re: 8/4 Lucy PMPS=70 Huh???

Thanks, Sienne.
I've already marked in her SS to give Lucy a before bedtime mini-meal starting today!
I didn't know stress could cause low BG too!

And Wendy too, Thank you.
Lucy will be getting night time snack from today like Neko.
This means Ginger will be getting it too.
It's hard to give food to one cat and not to the other.
I'd have to watch Ginger's weight.
She's already getting more food these days, because she's finally discovered that Lucy is getting meals 3 times, and if she hang around with us, she'd get some too.
I'm surprised it took her this long to figure this out, but her favorite after-dinner place is in the bedroom.
She has a cat tower by the window, and there is a tree outside just the right height, and this tree always have some birds or squirrel activities.

Yesterday's firework scared Ginger more than Lucy.
Lucy seemed to have gotten used to it by the 3rd one yesterday.
But today's sounds from the parade were making Lucy a little nervous.
I'm glad it's all over now.
 
Hi Mariko! Glad to hear that all went well at the vets...2 cats entered...2 cats exited...and all humans lived!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: Lucy's looking lovely tonight. Hope all the vetty reports come back favorable and Shasta and I are sending good tummy vines to Lucy. Sleep well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top