8/4 Karamelle AMPS 80 +1 103 +2 49 +3 90 +4 30 +5 65 +6 72 +7 20 +7.75 63 +8.5 191 +10 61 +10.5 50 +11 36 11.5 90 PMBG 105 No Shot

JoM

Member Since 2023
8/3 Karamelle AMPS 305 +3 387 +7 282 +9 218 PMPS 193 +3 203 +9 46 +10 118 +11 108

Not quite thru with her shenanigans it seems. I fed her a little 5.2% this morning after her am shot and either it worked to bring it up or it was headed up anyway. Who knows. I'll check at +2.
Did a cursory check at +9 this morning and shed dropped to 46! That woke me up!! Gave her some 9.7% but she wouldnt eat it, so I finger fed it to her and gave her some honey. All which brought it up to 118 an hour later at +10, but back down to 108 at +11 and down again to 80 at AMPS. I guess shes still working on that depot. She didnt bounce much, but its still early. I fully expected a longer bounce than this.
 
Last edited:
You would think that depot would be drained when you skipped her shot! Goodness!! Her pancreas might be waking up a bit and reporting to work 🫡 She's definitely keeping mama on her toes, for sure!! Safe surfing, Karamelle--we want to see the greens, not the limes.
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
You would think that depot would be drained when you skipped her shot! Goodness!! Her pancreas might be waking up a bit and reporting to work 🫡 She's definitely keeping mama on her toes, for sure!! Safe surfing, Karamelle--we want to see the greens, not the limes.
Yeah, shes just determined to make my life difficult, haha. Good thing I dont have much to do today.
 
You would think that depot would be drained when you skipped her shot! Goodness!! Her pancreas might be waking up a bit and reporting to work 🫡 She's definitely keeping mama on her toes, for sure!! Safe surfing, Karamelle--we want to see the greens, not the limes.
A depot can take up to six cycles to drain depending on the dose. I have seen cats on really high doses take longer. For Karamelle, I don’t think one skipped shot will drain it. That’s why I suggested Jo test last night.

I’m glad you kept the 1.5u dose, Jo. We will just have to wait out her plans a bit. Sometimes a higher dose (i.e. the 1.75u) can give a little nudge so the next dose down works better. 🤞🏻🤞🏻🤞🏻
 
A depot can take up to six cycles to drain depending on the dose. I have seen cats on really high doses take longer. For Karamelle, I don’t think one skipped shot will drain it. That’s why I suggested Jo test last night.

I’m glad you kept the 1.5u dose, Jo. We will just have to wait out her plans a bit. Sometimes a higher dose (i.e. the 1.75u) can give a little nudge so the next dose down works better. 🤞🏻🤞🏻🤞🏻
Yeah, I probably should have tested more last night, but I was tired. And I slept really well. +9 wasnt too bad even tho it was under 50. Im here most the day, so I can see where this takes us. Testing every hour for now.
 
Up Up Karamelle!! Holy moly, Jo! She's determined, isn't she??
Be safe pretty girl and eat your carbs for your mama :bighug::bighug::bighug: 🍀 🍀 🍀 🍀 🍀 🌊🏄‍♀️
This is the main problem is I cant find a HC or even MC food she will eat on a consistent basis. I just never know if she'll eat it. That small amount of Grandmas chicken soup she ate yesterday didnt bring up the BG at all. I got her to eat a fair amount of a 5.2% this morning but thats still low carbs and it didnt really help. I gave her Honey along with it. She ate the Lamb Burgini once, and that was it Its also only 7% tho. Ive tried several others. I apparently bought a whole case of the wrong FF Gravy Lovers as the Pates are all LC. The Beef seemed to bring it up at one point tho and she seemed to like it, so thats maybe an option. She wouldnt touch the Wellness. Basically she likes Weruva chicken hydrating pate. the can and the pouch. Both 4%. I can get her to eat that anytime. But of course it doesnt really do anything to bring up her BG. Ive tried a lot of other pates. She ate a 9.7% a few times, then said NOPE, no more of that. So Im back to resorting to honey, which got me in trouble with @Marje and Gracie . But I know now not to give it close to shot time to bring up the number. So maybe I learned something.
 
This is the main problem is I cant find a HC or even MC food she will eat on a consistent basis. I just never know if she'll eat it. That small amount of Grandmas chicken soup she ate yesterday didnt bring up the BG at all. I got her to eat a fair amount of a 5.2% this morning but thats still low carbs and it didnt really help. I gave her Honey along with it. She ate the Lamb Burgini once, and that was it Its also only 7% tho. Ive tried several others. I apparently bought a whole case of the wrong FF Gravy Lovers as the Pates are all LC. The Beef seemed to bring it up at one point tho and she seemed to like it, so thats maybe an option. She wouldnt touch the Wellness. Basically she likes Weruva chicken hydrating pate. the can and the pouch. Both 4%. I can get her to eat that anytime. But of course it doesnt really do anything to bring up her BG. Ive tried a lot of other pates. She ate a 9.7% a few times, then said NOPE, no more of that. So Im back to resorting to honey, which got me in trouble with @Marje and Gracie . But I know now not to give it close to shot time to bring up the number. So maybe I learned something.
Jo, have you ever tried a topper? Mine like Stella & Chewy's Marie's Magical Dinner Dust. I save it for emergencies because they all love it. We also use Forti Flora as a topper (not as a probiotic).
 
So Im back to resorting to honey, which got me in trouble with @Marje and Gracie
Well it wasn’t that you were using honey. It was when you were using it 😉

Normally, for another drop in the 40s this close to a reduction you just took, we wouldn’t reduce again so soon because it’s just depot.

While I feel 100% that this 30 is depot, it’s safer to reduce to 1.25u. We can easily go back up if need be so safety first.
 
Jo, have you ever tried a topper? Mine like Stella & Chewy's Marie's Magical Dinner Dust. I save it for emergencies because they all love it. We also use Forti Flora as a topper (not as a probiotic).
Is it a creamy consistency, like pate? No chunks or shreds or grilled? How many carbs is it?
 
Well it wasn’t that you were using honey. It was when you were using it 😉

Normally, for another drop in the 40s this close to a reduction you just took, we wouldn’t reduce again so soon because it’s just depot.

While I feel 100% that this 30 is depot, it’s safer to reduce to 1.25u. We can easily go back up if need be so safety first.
Ok, I feel more comfortable reducing. This has been quite stressful. I cant get anything else done and I dont want to be up all night.
 
I broke down and gave her some old HC dry food. She ate 8G. The Honey brought her up to 65. We'll see what the dry does.
 
Oh wow that was a scary drop! Great job catching it Jo. If any occasion calls for HC dry food, it’s probably this one if she won’t eat.

Let’s keep your blood glucose up for your mom, Karamelle!
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
Oh wow that was a scary drop! Great job catching it Jo. If any occasion calls for HC dry food, it’s probably this one if she won’t eat.

Let’s keep your blood glucose up for your mom, Karamelle!
Regional Red dry for the win!!! It brought it up to 191. It says its 17%. Its what she used to eat before she became diabetic over 2 1/2 years ago. And its that old. I probably better invest in a new bag. Not much left in this old one anyway.
 
Regional Red dry for the win!!! It brought it up to 191. It says its 17%. Its what she used to eat before she became diabetic over 2 1/2 years ago. And its that old. I probably better invest in a new bag. Not much left in this old one anyway.
Karamelle was probably thrilled to get her old junky food back! Hopefully she doesn’t manifest these limes to get a taste again.

In all seriousness though, great job staying calm and testing often enough to catch all of the curveballs Karamelle threw you today. I’m so incredibly impressed and I hope the rest of the night goes more smoothly now that she has some dry food in her system.
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
@Marje and Gracie Im wondering if I should skip her dose tonight again. I know the dry brought the BG back up, but what if the depot isnt empty yet? How will I know? Im going to test next at 6:30pm (+10) but dont plan to give her any more dry or wet, or honey, unless she falls below 50 again. Then I guess skipping would make sense. But Ive read the dry takes longer to digest so it could keep the BG elevated for a few hours and wouldnt really give me a good reading at PMPS. Am I right about any of this?
 
Karamelle was probably thrilled to get her old junky food back! Hopefully she doesn’t manifest these limes to get a taste again.

In all seriousness though, great job staying calm and testing often enough to catch all of the curveballs Karamelle threw you today. I’m so incredibly impressed and I hope the rest of the night goes more smoothly now that she has some dry food in her system.
Thanks Connie. I am by nature, quite calm, except when Im dealing with my husband who I dont live with. He makes me crazy!! lol. This has been a bit stressful tho, especially since, although calm, Im not the best with decisions under these conditions. I tend to swing towards whats easiest and the least stressful. Many years ago I developed migraines when working as a manager for a restaurant. It was a terrible job for me as I just couldnt get the staff to do things the way I would. I can be a bit ocd and a perfectionist at times. When I finally left that job, my migraines disappeared, never to return again. I just make sure I dont put myself in situations that cause stress and if I see that happening, I step away and do something else for a bit. Usually I go out in my garden, my happy place.
 
Thanks Connie. I am by nature, quite calm, except when Im dealing with my husband who I dont live with. He makes me crazy!! lol. This has been a bit stressful tho, especially since, although calm, Im not the best with decisions under these conditions. I tend to swing towards whats easiest and the least stressful. Many years ago I developed migraines when working as a manager for a restaurant. It was a terrible job for me as I just couldnt get the staff to do things the way I would. I can be a bit ocd and a perfectionist at times. When I finally left that job, my migraines disappeared, never to return again. I just make sure I dont put myself in situations that cause stress and if I see that happening, I step away and do something else for a bit. Usually I go out in my garden, my happy place.
Life is too short to stay in situations that cause stress. I had to learn the hard way that it’s never worth it. Kitties are the only exception to that rule unfortunately 🤣. They just love to test us! You handle the challenges that Karamelle throws at you with such grace and composure though :)
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
Well the dry didnt last as long as Id hoped. Its back down to 61. I gave her some of the FF Gravy Lovers Pate Beef, because it did seem to work before even tho its probably LC. I'll test at +10.5 and see where shes at.
 
Its looking like there will be no shot tonight again. And to top it off, since Ive spent so much time handling Karamelle today, I felt something on her side. Id sort of been feeling it but been so preoccupied with her testing I didnt really think much about it, till tonight. I felt it and its a lump under her skin, rather large, but soft. Maybe the size of an avocado pit. I made an appt for tomorrow. I know soft usually means its not anything scary, but I dont know what it could be. Its right in the area I give the shot at night. In the morning I give it on the other side.
The FF pate didnt work this time, since it had just been about 20 mins since she ate it and her BG went down, not up. So I really do need to give her something. Honey, some more dry food. Its too close to shot time, but I fear it will just fall too low again if I dont give something. I dont have a lot of choices as you know. I could always finger feed, but shes been thru a lot the last couple days and I dont feel she deserves to have food stuffed in her mouth at the moment. I'll put a ? in the title if anyone would care to comment on this.
 
Its looking like there will be no shot tonight again. And to top it off, since Ive spent so much time handling Karamelle today, I felt something on her side. Id sort of been feeling it but been so preoccupied with her testing I didnt really think much about it, till tonight. I felt it and its a lump under her skin, rather large, but soft. Maybe the size of an avocado pit. I made an appt for tomorrow. I know soft usually means its not anything scary, but I dont know what it could be. Its right in the area I give the shot at night. In the morning I give it on the other side.
The FF pate didnt work this time, since it had just been about 20 mins since she ate it and her BG went down, not up. So I really do need to give her something. Honey, some more dry food. Its too close to shot time, but I fear it will just fall too low again if I dont give something. I dont have a lot of choices as you know. I could always finger feed, but shes been thru a lot the last couple days and I dont feel she deserves to have food stuffed in her mouth at the moment. I'll put a ? in the title if anyone would care to comment on this.
I’m sorry I wasn’t around this afternoon, Jo. Let me look at her SS. BRB.
 
If she’s not up well over 100, I’d skip and drain her depot a little more.

I am glad you got her in tomorrow to have that lump looked at. Please keep us updated.

I’m up tonight until 9 your time.
 
If she’s not up well over 100, I’d skip and drain her depot a little more.

I am glad you got her in tomorrow to have that lump looked at. Please keep us updated.

I’m up tonight until 9 your time.
I doubt she will be anywhere near 100, even with the honey I just gave her. She was back down to 36 at +11. Im going to skip the shot. And if its still under 100 in the morning, Im skipping that one too.
 
I’m so sorry Jo that tonight has been such an eventful one. I hope that her depot drains enough to be safe for her and sustainable for you. And good luck with the vet visit tomorrow and please keep us posted on what they say about the lump.

Sending you lots of hugs :bighug: :bighug::bighug:
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
Well she made it over 100 but just barely and Id given her some honey at +11, so I skipped the shot. I really hope shes on the rise now.
I’m glad you skipped but you know to test her a bit until she’s staying up. I won’t be around in the morning but use your best judgment and remember if she’s around 100, she might very well come down when she onsets depending on how active her depot still is.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top