8/4 Julia AMPS 365!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday

Good Morning LL!

We have had some playing this morning, some purring, some preening, and a lot of eating but I can't quite figure out what is up with her numbers. This is our first ever pink AMPS and she's not dropping that low at all. I'm not used to her being this high in the morning. Are we still bouncing or do I need to raise the dose back to 1.00? Any recommendations are welcomed and I can test whenever need be today. I reread the protocol and our recent nadirs have been pretty low in the morning up until today so I have no idea what to do. Also, is it unusual for a cat to still be in "liver training school" this long on insulin? She's had some beautiful mornings but her nights are the complete opposite.

+11.5/344
AMPS 365 0.75
+1/292
+2.5/210

Thank you in advance!

ETA: Oh, I'm wondering if maybe last night was a fur shot and I didn't realize it?! She's been so consistent (to me anyway) that may be why she never dropped at all last night. Maybe another cycle at the 0.75 to see if it get's her back on track? I'm really working to read the numbers and understand what this all means. As much as we can understand our cats anyway. :lol:
 
She may be bouncing due to the 1u that was given to her 4 cycles ago, but that's just my guess. Hopefully her #s will start to sort themselves out very soon. Try not to get too frustrated over them, though (I know, easier said than done, right?) Hope you have a good day.
 
Lol!! Some cats love to bounce and do so for quite some time. Bouncing for 6 weeks is not unusual in the least! There are some days when I think Gabby has never even taken classes at Liver Training School.

There's no way to know if this is a bounce or a combination of a bounce and fur shot. It can take a bounce up to 72 hours to clear.
 
Elizabeth&Julia&Margaret(GA) said:
Also, is it unusual for a cat to still be in "liver training school" this long on insulin?

Oh my, take a peek at Papaya's spreadsheet . . . she has been on Lantus for nearly 10 months now and still pulls some green to black bounces :roll: I have often had a rather perplexed vet squinting at all the colours on her spreadsheet! After she hits green, I'm actually pleasantly surprised if her next PS is "only" pink. I think there are lots of other bouncy cats out there, and people are always saying that bouncy cats just "bounce until they don't". Don't worry, since Julia's liver has only had 6 weeks so far to figure this out, you can consider it still in training!
 
Liver training school can take a long time. Zener is now working on his third, or is twenty third, round of Liver Training School 101, I lose count. :roll: We try to appreciate that his liver will keep him safe if he dives too low. ;-)
 

Attachments

  • Ninja liver.jpg
    Ninja liver.jpg
    39.5 KB · Views: 184
If she doesn't clear this big bounce by morning should I bring her back to 1.00 in the morning or hold at 0.75 for another day? Since Sienne said bounces can take 72 hours to clear and this could all be from the vet Friday but she was nice and low on Saturday morning so who knows. Not me!! I'm game either way. Ketones were negative on Sunday and we got some Greek yogurt to try and give her with the antibiotic.
 
Hold at 0.75 U for another day. Julia has only been at this dose for 4 cycles. We're looking for two more consecutive cycles at that same dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top