8/4 FCC AMPS 83, +2 63, +3 49, +4 65, +7 77, PMPS 88, +2 74

Acadaca

Member Since 2021
Hope all is well in the land of our feline friends. FCC clocks in at 83 this morning.

I am not sure if the fact he dropped a bit last night means that I need to check his +2 again?

Also, today or tonight I was wondering if I could vacation dose advice? I'm here until the AMPS of the 7th. I don't know if getting my partner to drop it down to .1 while I am gone makes sense and then stop for the 8 cycles between then and our return? And then start him back at .25? I want to do whatever is best for him. I worry a little about his eating on schedule while I'm not there, but think he should be mostly okay with my partner. I will use an autofeeder, but I'm not convinced he'll do what he should and eat at +1 and +2.

Thank you (sorry, long post).

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-3-fcc-amps-83-4-65-pmps-88-2-65-4-68.250818/
 
I am not sure if the fact he dropped a bit last night means that I need to check his +2 again?
You could - if he lets you!

Also, today or tonight I was wondering if I could vacation dose advice? I'm here until the AMPS of the 7th. I don't know if getting my partner to drop it down to .1 while I am gone makes sense and then stop for the 8 cycles between then and our return? And then start him back at .25? I want to do whatever is best for him. I worry a little about his eating on schedule while I'm not there, but think he should be mostly okay with my partner. I will use an autofeeder, but I'm not convinced he'll do what he should and eat at +1 and +2.
Remind us of the dates again? I rememebr that you leave on the 7th and your partner joins you a few days later. When does he leave and when are you back?

If FCC continues his all green cycles, he earns a reduction to 0.10U after 7 days on this dose which is on 8/9. Assuming he doesn't earn it earlier by dropping below 50.
 
Last edited:
I will be leaving on the 7th (after morning testing) and he would be leaving on the 11th. We would both come back on the 15th before evening testing. I do not think FCC will let anyone but me test him. Also, since my partner is the insulin administrator I am confident of him being able to shoot whatever number works. If once he leaves it is a really low number like 0.1 I am worried that the person who would inject won't be able to get a semi-accurate dose that low. I know I couldn't, but I would happily spend an hour making sure I got it right. I don't trust anyone else to do that. FCC is not liking his insulin shots, but he is very easily distracted with chicken so we always get the best of him.
 
I am looking into the option of me coming back when my partner goes so that one of us would always be home.
 
He’s never had ketones, right? No DKA? I would be inclined to skip while you are away. Without testing even a drop dose could be a problem. He’s looking so good he will get back on track.
 
There are a couple of options and I am tagging @tiffmaxee for advice:
  1. Go down to the vacation dose of 0.10U tomorrow morning (8/5) - so you will get 4 cycles of testing before you leave on 8/7 AM to see how he does on that dose and your partner can shoot that till he leaves on 8/11 (4 days)
  2. Hold the dose of 0.25U till 8/7 when you leave and then your partner either shoots 0.10U for the 4 days that he is there alone or he just skips.
I am looking into the option of me coming back when my partner goes so that one of us would always be home.
I think you can stay the full 8 days and enjoy the reunion.
 
He’s never had ketones, right? No DKA? I would be inclined to skip while you are away. Without testing even a drop dose could be a problem. He’s looking so good he will get back on track.

  • Go down to the vacation dose of 0.10U tomorrow morning (8/5) - so you will get 4 cycles of testing before you leave on 8/7 AM to see how he does on that dose and your partner can shoot that till he leaves on 8/11 (4 days)
  • Hold the dose of 0.25U till 8/7 when you leave and then your partner either shoots 0.10U for the 4 days that he is there alone or he just skips.


He's never had any ketones or DKA. So skip even while my partner is there since he can administer, but not test? It would be okay for him to go right back to 0.25 when I return? Would I hold that dose for a week to see if he needs to go up or down?
It won't cause him any harm to go from .25 to 0 for a week?

If even a drop can cause trouble I don't want to put him in a risky situation as long as I'm not causing him harm. My partner is committed to attempting testing if that is best, but I really don't think it will work.


I think you can stay the full 8 days and enjoy the reunion

Thank you. That is only the case because of you two wonderful, helpful, and supportive ladies.
 
I will be leaving on the 7th (after morning testing) and he would be leaving on the 11th. We would both come back on the 15th before evening testing. I do not think FCC will let anyone but me test him. Also, since my partner is the insulin administrator I am confident of him being able to shoot whatever number works. If once he leaves it is a really low number like 0.1 I am worried that the person who would inject won't be able to get a semi-accurate dose that low. I know I couldn't, but I would happily spend an hour making sure I got it right. I don't trust anyone else to do that. FCC is not liking his insulin shots, but he is very easily distracted with chicken so we always get the best of him.
How about a drop dose? That’s easy for anyone to do and consistent. All they have to do is push the plunger in, insert it into the pen, let the pressure off. It will draw up one drop.

It would be best if your partner could try and test him so you get an idea of how he’s doing on 1 drop before you go away and no one will be testing.
 
How about a drop dose? That’s easy for anyone to do and consistent. All they have to do is push the plunger in, insert it into the pen, let the pressure off. It will draw up one drop.

It would be best if your partner could try and test him so you get an idea of how he’s doing on 1 drop before you go away and no one will be testing.

Thank you for your advice. He is going to try, but FCC has become very anti-testing of late and somewhat grumpy of his shot. For awhile I was unable to test him. Now I think he would bite (not breaking skin) and run if it was anyone but me and then just hide. He'll still try unless after a couple attempts he thinks it will interfere with his ability to administer the insulin.
 
With dips below 50, we ask people to test in 20-30 mins, but I suggested feeding HC keeping in mind the possibility that he may not let you test so soon. If you can, test at +4.

Thank you. I will do a +4 because I think that if I try before that I might ruin testing for the day. I think he'll be okay in 45 minutes. What do I do with the numbers then in terms of figuring out what to feed him?
 
Thank you for your advice. He is going to try, but FCC has become very anti-testing of late and somewhat grumpy of his shot. For awhile I was unable to test him. Now I think he would bite (not breaking skin) and run if it was anyone but me and then just hide. He'll still try unless after a couple attempts he thinks it will interfere with his ability to administer the insulin.
You’re welcome. How would he take to being burritoed?
 
Thank you. I will do a +4 because I think that if I try before that I might ruin testing for the day. I think he'll be okay in 45 minutes. What do I do with the numbers then in terms of figuring out what to feed him?
If he's below 50 - HC, in low 50s - MC, otherwise LC. I think the HC now should give him a comfortable bump. We've only been giving him a little MC to keep him surfing in the past

Now I'm really going to bed. Good night! :-)
 
If he's below 50 - HC, in low 50s - MC, otherwise LC. I think the HC now should give him a comfortable bump. We've only been giving him a little MC to keep him surfing in the past

Now I'm really going to bed. Good night! :)

Great. I really appreciate the guidelines. I don't feel nearly as stressed out as I thought I would have and definitely would have been a week or two ago.

Goodnight. Thanks again
 
Seems like a pretty big food bump. Maybe I gave him too much. I am going to feed some LC and leave him be for awhile, assuming this is safe? I am hoping to be able to sneak another test in.
 
Seems like a pretty big food bump. Maybe I gave him too much. I am going to feed some LC and leave him be for awhile, assuming this is safe? I am hoping to be able to sneak another test in.
Yes. Feed LC and I think he should be okay for the rest of the cycle. Let's not put the PMPS and PM cycle tests in danger! :-)
 
I’m just seeing this. Better he dropped while you are home than after you leave. I kind of was expecting it was possible. That’s a nice bump but not huge.
 
I’m just seeing this. Better he dropped while you are home than after you leave. I kind of was expecting it was possible. That’s a nice bump but not huge.

Yes. If it was going to happen I am much happier to be here and for it also not to have happened immediately before I left.

I remember how terrified I was during his first couple of green cycles and I can't believe how you all have made it so that I can feel relatively calm and almost in control.

Thank you.
 
I would start the drop dose tonight if you shoot at all. He still might drop again this afternoon. :rolleyes:

I think because I am home and because I can monitor all night if needed I will do the drop dose tonight. If it weren't for really needing to make sure his PM cycle is also safe I would try and test him a couple of times during this cycle. I am keeping a pretty close eye on him.
 
He’s already earned a reduction to .10. That’s why I wonder what he will do and if you will need to skip and shoot the drop in the morning. I hope you can get a pmps.
 
He’s already earned a reduction to .10. That’s why I wonder what he will do and if you will need to skip and shoot the drop in the morning. I hope you can get a pmps.

I am determined to get a PMPS. I was thinking about ways to ensure this happens. Is it okay to get it as early as half an hour before his shot or is that too early? I figured if I tried at 11.5 it gives FCC and me a good amount of time to do the testing dance if needed.
 
I wasn't going to test him and I am still confident I can get a PMPS. He is 77 @ +7. I am now for sure leaving him alone until tonight.

Obviously he was just being a cat and napping, but I went down a rabbit hole in my mind. Turns out that I should have let him be, but at least I have more data!
 
His PMPS is 88. He's doing a double bookend. He started both today and yesterday off at 83 and ended at 88. With his lower dose is their a particular time I should be testing him or since the depot is at play does it not really matter?
 
I'll keep my eye on him. If he seems like he will be okay with a +2 I'll lovingly jab him then.

I am hoping for flat too. Thank you.
 
He decided to be nice to me and let me get him. He is at 74 so he avoided the dive of yesterday. Is it okay to leave him until AMPS?
 
Post before your next shot. I’m wondering if you should stick with .10 until you leave unless a reduction is earned and then no insulin while away. You might need to resume insulin upon your return fur a little longer but it is probably the safest. Thoughts?
 
Post before your next shot. I’m wondering if you should stick with .10 until you leave unless a reduction is earned and then no insulin while away. You might need to resume insulin upon your return fur a little longer but it is probably the safest. Thoughts?

I am not shooting for another hour and a half so I don't have any numbers, but I think I would feel most comfortable doing that. This cat seems determined to do his own thing and I have no idea what that will be. In some ways I would prefer to shoot for a bit when I get back jut to give him his best chance for a strong OTJ trial. I've not depended on an auto feeder yet because I've let them bully me into an interrupted sleep schedule and I don't know how FCC will respond. They'll use it from tonight until my partner leaves just to get them used to it while someone is here to look over them, but I just don't trust him to eat when he needs to after insulin to keep from dropping.

Would I go back to 0.1 as long as he doesn't earn a reduction before then?

Thank you.
 
Yes. You would go back to the last dose before vacation unless he’s green when you come home. It is very possible that will happen. BIG ANTI JINX.
 
Yes. You would go back to the last dose before vacation unless he’s green when you come home. It is very possible that will happen. BIG ANTI JINX.

Okay. That is the plan. Just so I have an idea, if he does happen to (anti jinx) be green on his PMPS upon my return I skip?

Bandit's Mom, post: 2830704, member: 28500"]Btw, did you give 0.10U last night or a drop dose

My partner's best attempt at 0.1. Sorry, I do get a little confused about the lower numbers and wrongly conflated the two despite reading about these things repeatedly. My bad, I apologize. It should be drop dose this morning?
 
Back
Top