8/4 Do Lou start lev tonight+1 370+3 279 +5 253+6.5 181

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21435

SIGH..... pink start again but all P's in place and he is a purring away this morning just wish his numbers would get better he had a 182 @+8 last night so Mama Bean was hopeful for a nice amps not a pink one about the same thing he did during the day yesterday
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323

Its always been a case of back and forth with the dose for us. Hope Do Lou gets some lower numbers today.
I just wanted to say he must have been the cutest kitten. I love his "little" pic.
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324switching to Lev dose????

talked to my vet today about trying Do Lou on Lev. D and I have been discussing it as well what starting dose should one begin with? Vet is calling it in for me today so I hope to have it by tonight
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324switching to Lev dose????

Ohh...how nice!! Another Lev kitty!
We have been on it since our switch from Vetsulin...but Shadow isn't really a good poster child for it. :lol:
What made you decide to switch?
Miriam & Putty switched recently too... :lol: I wish you and Do Lou the very best with it! yay!!
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324switching to Lev dose????

Keep coming down Do Lou.

Where are you getting the Lev? When I got Tess's Lantus the Costco here put in a note that said Lev was on their "formulary" and would be discounted compared to Lantus.
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324switching to Lev dose????

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Ohh...how nice!! Another Lev kitty!
We have been on it since our switch from Vetsulin...but Shadow isn't really a good poster child for it. :lol:
What made you decide to switch?
Miriam & Putty switched recently too... :lol: I wish you and Do Lou the very best with it! yay!!

Switching just to see if he responds to it better I have been researching it for a month now reading about it and to me even though both lantus and Levemir are similar they have their differences too as to how the cat metabolizes the insulin so this is why we are making the switch he may or may not respond to it better have to see :?: my vet was funny when I asked him and he said you know Lisa I have zero experience with this Levemir :shock: and I am thinking he has zero experience with lantus too but did not say that he has become very supportive of how I am taking care of Do Lou and him just being on the sidelines now
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324switching to Lev dose????

Ann & Tess said:
Keep coming down Do Lou.

Where are you getting the Lev? When I got Tess's Lantus the Costco here put in a note that said Lev was on their "formulary" and would be discounted compared to Lantus.

Well he is calling it into Walgreens HMMM I do wonder if its cheaper somewhere else I do not have costco here though
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324switching to Lev dose????

Vet called it in and recommended 1U to start with so someone with experience can give me their dose opinion??
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324switch to Lev dose help?

I think alot of times people have switched and gone with a bit lower dose of Lev.
Others can say what would be best but often it turns out you could switch one for one in dose.
I think for safety, just to be sure, you could go with a wee bit less than what you are giving of Lantus.
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324switch to Lev dose help?

Gayle and Shadoe said:
I think alot of times people have switched and gone with a bit lower dose of Lev.
Others can say what would be best but often it turns out you could switch one for one in dose.
I think for safety, just to be sure, you could go with a wee bit less than what you are giving of Lantus.
thanks Gayle
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324switch to Lev dose help?

jan and sara said:
Good luck with the Levemir Lisa. Wishing Do Lou lower #'s on this. Love the astronaut picture.

Well I was messing with pics on photobucket and saw that and since he is a "cat on a mission" I thought it fit :lol:
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324switch to Lev dose help?

Lisa, yes go with a slightly lower dose. Ours didn't hold and we had to head up, but part of that was my fault (I'm sure she bounced and I missed the lower numbers).

Good luck and yay another Lev kitty :smile:
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324switch to Lev dose help?

HI Lisa, I hope the Lev will be the answer to Do Lou's numbers! It will probably take a few days to work in. Apparently you get more days out of a cartridge, so it might be more cost effective. But the important thing will be if it works!!! Good luck!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324pmps 309 start lev tonight

Best of luck on the Lev. Let's hope it's the insulin that Do Lou likes.
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324pmps 309 start lev tonight

Best of luck here too with your chande over Lots of healing green light coming your way Kath
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324pmps 309 start lev tonight

good luck with the Lev! I agree, change is a good thing so why not try it?
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324pmps 309 start lev tonight

I read that link " At night especially, hypoglycemia can occur if low glucose from exercise or alcohol consumption coincides with the NPH peak." :o
I guess Do Lou and Shadow will have to stop their drinking at night now...I didn't realize that about Lev!!! :lol:
Watch for changing nadirs too....Lev is different in its action:

Here is what Monique relayed to me from something she read from Steve & Jock

But note: Levemir's action is sensitive to two things:
1)Dosage. If you're giving a bit less than optimal, peak time will be shortened. Too much, and peak time will be later.
2)Previous dose. Levemir leaves a "storage shed" of previous doses which keep blood sugar lower, so if previous doses were inadequate, current dose will be less effective.

The tendency for the nadir to be later and the largest drop occurring between +7 and the nadir at approx +10 (even more so than with lantus) and following the nadir a slow rise and frequently I have noticed a "dip" again at Preshot. So the +10 is nadir then a slight rise and a little drop to just above of almost the same as nadir (double nadir?) then a rise continuing about +3 to +4 into the next cycle.
This is of course when the dose is just right. When it's too low, then the nadir comes sooner and is not as low and the rise begins earlier and is higher, leading to a much higher following preshot.

When the dose is too high the peak will come later often after +12 (which would be +1 to +3 in the next cycle)

Woo-Woo Do Lou!!!
I get mine from Canadrugsonline.com Your vet can fax the script in for your next pen...we use the flex pens. I toss mine at about 6 weeks cause I never wanted to push it too much bt you do get more mileage than Lantus I think. Some people have used it longer I think...
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324pmps 309 start lev tonight

Good luck with the switch I pray it works for you and Do Lou.
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324pmps 309 start lev tonight

Here's to hoping DL and Lev are a good match.
((((((((((((you guys))))))))))))))))
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lou amps323+3 324pmps 309 start lev tonight

Lots of good wishes from me and Checkers too, Lisa. I hope the Lev does the trick for Do Lou. :smile:
 
Re: 8/4 Do Lo pmps 309 start lev tonight+1 370+3 279 +5 253

Good luck with the Lev! Thanks for visiting our condo today. Hoping to see that Lev is perfect for Do Lou!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top