? 8/4 Copernicus AMPS=611 after skipped dose (was 10 enough?)

Krista & Copernicus

Member Since 2026
PP

I think I messed up. I should have shot his insulin when I saw he was 325 at 2am. But I waited until 8am and now he's back up to 611. It would have been better on him to have gotten it earlier.

I would also like to review how often I am feeding him. When he was first diagnosed and had ketones, I started feeding every 3 hours and I have continued to do that. The hospital did every 6 hours because that was recommended by IM. Should I space meals out more or not feed at certain times if that will help regulate him? He seems hungry ever my 2 hours. Thank you.
 
Last edited:
He saw some really nice numbers yesterday, but those unusual (for him) greens and that lime has him bouncing, eh?

I'm not sure about the feeding (I think the more frequent small meals is what is often recommended on the forum), so I'm going to bump up your post in hopes it will get some attention to your question.

It's okay to come back down, Copernicus!
 
He saw some really nice numbers yesterday, but those unusual (for him) greens and that lime has him bouncing, eh?

I'm not sure about the feeding (I think the more frequent small meals is what is often recommended on the forum), so I'm going to bump up your post in hopes it will get some attention to your question.

It's okay to come back down, Copernicus!
Thanks! I still need dosing advice for tonight and going forward please!
 
I would stick with the 10 units for now, wait to see what happens after you have 6 cycles of this dose. He may need more, but I'd rather you establish how 10 units is working than bounce around with doses. Worst case, let's review how he's doing after 4 cycles at 10 units. Today's AMPS is not surprising given the combination of bounce from low numbers and the skip. Nice to see he's starting to come down now.

How is Copernicus feeling this morning?

I agree that more frequent meals are better. If nothing else, the +3 and +6. With my acro I also had to feed a small no carb meal at +9 or she would have been really hangry by PS time. Fortunately I didn't tend to have to feed at +9 at night.
 
Yep, I check his spreadsheet multiple times a day to keep tabs so am glad you’ve been able to keep it updated. Was curious how he’s eating and acting because numbers aren’t everything. And I’m glad he’s home now. We’re pulling for your little guy.
 
Looks like Copernicus is bouncing hard. Not surprising after that 45! Tonight is the 4th cycle after the low and it can take up to six cycles to both resolve the bounce and fill the depot. I'd keep testing ketones and as long as they are still low, be patient on the dose.
 
Looks like Copernicus is bouncing hard. Not surprising after that 45! Tonight is the 4th cycle after the low and it can take up to six cycles to both resolve the bounce and fill the depot. I'd keep testing ketones and as long as they are still low, be patient on the dose.
Ok thank you. Yeah I'm bummed. Was expecting 300s and 200s with my dose reduction and how low he was at the 13/14. I suspect he was lower in hospital too while on continuous IV and they were only feeding every 6 hours. I wanted to consider that schedule but he acts likes he's absolutely starving and yells for food. I also noticed he is always higher at night, so that is why the vet school did one unit higher in the evening then the morning.
 
Looks like Copernicus is bouncing hard. Not surprising after that 45! Tonight is the 4th cycle after the low and it can take up to six cycles to both resolve the bounce and fill the depot. I'd keep testing ketones and as long as they are still low, be patient on the dose.
Ketones are low at .1. Should I hold 5-7 days just because of the bouncing or increase by (?)? Thank you
 
Back
Top