8/4 Chinookie AMPS 274 +5 267 +9 321 PMPS 327 +2 271

Status
Not open for further replies.

ErinElizabeth

Member Since 2013
8/3 Chinookie AMPS 305 +3 274 PMPS 273 +3 155 +6 211

So we had our first blue last night and I got up and tested at 1am.

This morning I gave 1.25 units. It seems more like a fat 1 unit to me, but I'm trying. At least I got the air bubbles out.
 
Re: 8/4 AMPS 274

YAY BLUE!!
I hope there's some more beautiful blue today!
We try our best and then it's up to the kitty! Yahoo on getting out the air bubbles. Sometimes i feel like i'm chasing a goofy air bubble all over the darn place.
Have a nice Sunday
hugs and scritches from us
 
Re: 8/4 AMPS 274

Very nice and good going with the dose increase. Now, if you could just put Chinookie's name in the subject line it would be a perfect start to the day.
 
Re: 8/4 Chinookie AMPS 274 +5 267

Ok well at +5 it hasn't come down too much!
Question - since kitty has no teeth he does tend to eat slower, but she gobbles his food with no problems.
I've been giving him some finely shredded pieces of plain cooked chicken for a snack when I have some left over.
Tis is good for him right? I just worry because he's not chewing it... He loves it, and I'm going to adjust the amount of pâté I give accordingly I think. He's always hungry.
He gets approx, 3 oz in the morning at insulin and 3 oz at pm insulin. Over the course of the day I put down another 6-7 oz of food. He can't free feed cause of the nosey doggies, but I think that's a good amount for a nine pound cat. Right?
 
Re: 8/4 Chinookie AMPS 274 +5 267

I would think in terms of calories vs. ounces of food. For example, 3 oz of Wellness Chicken is 132 calories vs. 3 oz of Weruva chicken is 78 calories. On Dr. Lisa's site, she gives a formula for calculating a the number of calories a cat needs per day:
Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70​
You'll need to know what is Chinookie's good weight and then do the calculation. Since cat foods vary in calories, I think this is more helpful than thinking about ounces. If you find that Chinookie gains weight on the formula then reduce the amount of calories. (Just a note on Dr. Lisa's list, the calories are based on a 5.5oz can of food unless otherwise noted.)

I'm glad you increased the dose.
 
Re: 8/4 Chinookie AMPS 274 +5 267

Ok so even if I said I wanted him to gain weight, about optimal would be 10lbs - then the calories value would be 206, which isn't even two full cans of friskies.... Need to do more research....
 
Re: 8/4 Chinookie AMPS 274 +5 267

The other thing to keep in mind is that an unregulated diabetic cat isn't absorbing food the way a cat normally would. Until numbers are lower, Chinookie may need more food.
 
Re: 8/4 Chinookie AMPS 274 +5 267 +9 321

Thank you! I knew he needed more food, just wasnt sure for how long this cat will be eating me out of house and home.
The bits of cooked chicken are good though? Even though he's not chewing, just throwing 'em back?

And now 321?! Gah... Patience pants, where are you??
 
Here they are, patience pants from the vast lending closet.
 

Attachments

  • fuchsia patience pants 2 small.jpg
    fuchsia patience pants 2 small.jpg
    9.6 KB · Views: 113
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top