8/4 Charlie AMPS 434 +4 389 +6 382 PMPS 457 +3.5 259

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday's condo

Still waiting for the bounces to clear. While Charlie was so much in the red zone yesterday, we decided to give her a little break from all the poking. Tested at +4 and she's still relatively high.

She's up and around so behavior-wise, she seems good.

Afternoon: Seems again like she doesn't feel well (hiding, etc).
 
Re: 8/4 Charlie AMPS 434 +4 389

Good morning, Jill!

Here's your Bounce-Question condo as well. Normally we try not to open more than one condo per dat per cat because that way info can get lost and some important things can fall through the cracks, ok? (If you're happy to do so, you can always still delete that condo, especially if no one has yet replied in it. I have reposted you questions from it here. You can add "Need Bounce Info" to your subject line and add a question mark icon, to make sure it gets noticed. Otherwise, just keep the 1 condo/cat/day basis in mind for the future, k?)

Jill's Question regarding BOUNCES:
What's the rule of thumb for deciding if a cat is continually bouncing? Or if they just need more insulin?
My kitty is still on antibiotics through tomorrow, but she has had a day with green numbers just 2 days ago. Still, lots of red over the past week.
Guess we need to wait it out a bit, but is there any general rule for this?


You're asking about "continual bouncing". I wonder whether you might mean a phenomenon called 'Somogyi Rebound' (chronic/continual rebound)? There are mentions of and discussions about it around FDMB and beyond. It's a controversial issue because, as Sienne pointed out in a previous thread I cam across, since the original research into this 'phenomenon' (which was done in the 1930s) there has not been any scientific data to replicate those early findings or prove that it exists. A couple of links are the one on Wikipedia about Chronic Somogyi Rebound and the one on Pet Diabetes on Wikia about Somogyi Rebound that you can read for starters if you like.

Remember that Charlie was only diagnosed at the end of June, a little over a month ago, and has only been on Lantus since late July. This is early days. Seeing high numbers and seeing bounces is frustrating and worrying for the bean, especially one that's new to the sugardance, we all know and understand that. And it's good that you're venting and letting people know you're frustrated. But try, try, try to be patient. The ABs (antibiotics) Charlie is still on may well be affecting how her SS is looking - meds can and often do affect BGs. It's good she'll be done with them so soon, so that ABs will fall away as a factor.You yourself have put your finger on one thing that jumps out from your SS: the day in green numbers she had just a few cycles ago. It's the lowest she'd gone on Lantus since the 27th of July, and it makes sense for a kitty with a liver that's still a bit "panicky" (not used to healthy green BGs) to bounce and take a little while to clear the bounce-related glucagon and hormones out of her system.

Just as it is with dose reductions, there are certain SS-trends and situations that will (normally) dictate a dose increase. Still, things here work along guidelines rather than hard-and-fast rules, because ECID - every cay *and* every caregiver is different. Even within one and the same cat, the "rules" and needed reactions/decisions can change depending on specific circumstances! That's why it's important to be patient and take the time to assess a cat's progress carefully and critically, and keep on and keep on collecting data and poring over spreadsheets to make decisions. In the TR Protocol Sticky, you'll remember, the guidelines advise:

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles). Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...). Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


Now, I'd encourage you to go back to your SS, with these guidelines fresh in your mind. Think about them when you look at the numbers you see. Look at some other newbie-spreadsheets, even, if you feel up to it. Starting dose (with the exceptiojn of very first shot of Lantus) for Charlie was 0.5u. After only three days (once the shed had begun to build the way it ought to), you saw green! Even green close to a drop-below-50... So, after the guideline-given "Hold initial dose for 5-7 days", Charlie's numbers showed, yes, a readiness to bounce, but ALSO, and this is just as important, repeated ventures into healthy numbers. Even now, to me, her SS does not show stagnation (when progress halts and a dosecrease becomes a likely option). As you say, just 2 days ago, you saw green.

To me, her SS says that Charlie needs some liver-training to help her not to panic and bounce off healthy numbers. But she IS getting those healthy numbers. Look at your SS, Please. Do you see what I mean? Does it make sense? Look at other newbie-SS, to get a sense of the way (dosing) decisions are made and in what kinds of situations.

This is my take on it. I know others will come and weigh in. Overall, remember: You're doing very well. You're a wonderful bean. You're doing the right things by reaching out, asking for feedback, expressing rather than bottling up frustration. You will keep seeing progress, I'm sure, if Charlie continues as she is and even improves. We're here for you.

I hope this helps.
Hugs!

smiley_hug.gif


Jane
 
Re: 8/4 Charlie AMPS 434 +4 389 Need Bounce Info

Jane, thank you for that very sweet and thorough response. My partner was crying this morning with worry, and though we know rationally that we need to take this as a "marathon rather than a sprint" it's awful to see a kitty that you love acting so abnormally. Right after I posted this morning that Charlie seemed normal, she went to her usual "I don't feel good" places (hiding behind the couch / hiding behind the tv / etc.)

I really don't think this is because of the blood testing. I mean, she doesn't enjoy it, that's for sure, but she tolerates it and even deals with it for the most part when she can get a tiny bit of tuna as a treat after each test. Still, I guess we are impatient as tomorrow is the day Charlie comes off the antibiotics, and we were hoping that real soon we would start to see her looking and feeling better.

I have to say that since the beginning crises on caninsulin, she is not having such extreme health issues (vomiting, extreme diarrhea, extreme lethargy, etc). However, we do still wonder if she's in pain as our previous vet did tell us at the beginning about pancreatitis, and her 2 last urine tests have also indicated leukocytes (so we naturally worry that there's something else going on). We also wonder what the ethical "right thing to do" is if on Monday the vet comes back to us and tells us Charlie has something even worse that is causing her pain and trouble. So I think all these things in the back of our minds are making us sad and worried.

I have read many of the other cats' stories on the board and it does help to know there's a community of people all struggling through the same challenges in many ways. It's also concerning though when your mind starts moving and you realize that it could get better (OTJ parties!) or it could get worse (surgeries, bigger illnesses, etc).

I think it's all the ambiguity that causes the challenge to our patience. If a human being that I loved was going through health issues before it was clear what was causing the problems, I'd also have a hard time stepping back and not being concerned. I'm learning to let go and to realize that "not everything is in my control". However, at the same time, I want to do whatever I can to help things improve.

Maybe it's a little something like this:

"Act always as if the future of the universe depended on what you did, while laughing at yourself for thinking that whatever you do makes any difference."
- Buddha

We will test again once this afternoon, then take a break until the PMPS and this evening's test. Antibiotics finish on Sunday, another urine test at the vet on Monday, and more data under normal circumstances next week. In the meantime, we will try to stay positive. Thanks again for your encouragement and positivity.
 
Re: 8/4 Charlie AMPS 434 +4 389 +6 382 Need Bounce Info

Hi Jill,

It looks like you are battling a nasty infection. Besides the AB's distorting the BG, so too does an infection. Sometimes it drives the BG's up...way up. This happens due to the inflammation response in the body.
 
Re: 8/4 Charlie AMPS 434 +4 389 +6 382 Need Bounce Info

First, bounces are normal. At the very least, they tell you that your cat's liver is working. Sometimes, at the beginning of this process, in an effort to see our cats in better numbers, we tend to forget that they have become used to the higher numbers. You have no idea how long Charlie was diabetic before she was diagnosed. Her body has become accustomed to sitting in higher numbers and that's what "feels" right. She may actually not feel the same when her BG is closer to normal range. So, not only may a bounce occur because Charlie's not used to lower numbers, she may not feel great when her numbers are lower. That's not to say you shouldn't help her to get her numbers down. Rather, the more time she spends in lower numbers, the more normally she'll respond and the better she'll feel being in that range.

Infection/inflammation can raise BG levels, as Beth pointed out. Some ABs do have sugar in them -- especially if they are liquids. If Charlie has pancreatitis, it is painful and your vet should give you pain meds (e.g., buprenorphine).
 
Re: 8/4 Charlie AMPS 434 +4 389 +6 382 PMPS 457

Hi guys,

Thank you for all the input.

Sienne: The pain killer that the ER vet prescribed for us a few weeks ago was, I think, the same kind as you describe. Trouble is, that particular pain killer had a very seriously strong effect on Charlie (making her act even worse than we've ever seen her before). We found out later that the particular pain killer prescribed was a sort of morphine, which was extremely strong on cats and made them seem almost drunk. Our new vet's opinion is that we should lay off that for awhile and see how things progress. For the time being, I guess we just don't know if Charlie is in pain or not. We have another type of pain killer on hand at home just in case (meloxidyl). For the moment, we don't know if we should give it (just to see the effect it would have, and if it would influence Charlie's behavior positively), or not give it (and keep her system clean with just 1 drug at a time) since she's on antibiotics still until tomorrow night.

We blood tested again just now and she's still running high. I hope that tonight her numbers will start to normalize again.

If not, we'll get through tomorrow and be back at the vet on Monday. Current plan is to do a urine test (via strip) on Monday. If leukocytes appear, ask the vet about next steps to figure out what else might be going on. Urine culture & sensitivity test? xray? etc?

If leukocytes don't show up in the urine, ask why things still don't feel normal (charlie acting weird, numbers still high, etc) and get advice on what to do with the dosage.

Taking it step by step but still not satisfied with how Charlie is acting (after her PMPS, went hiding behind the couch again).
Jill
 
Re: 8/4 Charlie AMPS 434 +4 389 +6 382 PMPS 457

One more small point in case it has relavence:

I have the impression that charlie's breathing is more rapid than normal. I can't see this with her nose or mouth or any sounds, but when I watch her belly, the movements up and down are fast (even when at rest).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top