8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56+0.5 43 +1.25 68 +2 130 +3 155 +5 68 +6 63

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/31 Tiggy AMPS 272

I know yellows are way better than a lot of people are getting on here. I have never seen a red or a black thank goodness and just the occasional pink, but I am getting so sick of yellow yellow yellow!!

And I am getting dangerously close to 6 .. Tiggy hasnt been to the vet for a while so if he goes to 6 then I decided its time to goto the vet for tests. My vet is going to give me sxxx for sure as he has said before he likes consistent dosing. Hes going to take one look at the doses tell me its Somogyi and half Tiggys insulin and mess everything up.
So keep your fingers crossed that we start to see some good movement before we hit that mark!!!! COME ON TIGGY!!!

Happy Friday and a nice Labor Day weekend for everyone in North America.
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy AMPS 272 + 2 194

Hi guys .. well theres some blue for you! :-D I know it's hard seeing the same color over and over and over again .. yes, it is better then other colors out there, but not quite as nice as it could be right? Just hang in there .. and if you do have to go to the vets, stand your ground .. Tiggy is your kitty and you know you are doing everything you can to help him!! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy AMPS 272 + 2 194 +4 94 +6 65 +7 56 +8 59

Tiggy heard you Wendy, that was fast drop that seems to have leveled off, whew! I guess he likes this dose already or he does not want to go to the vet. Will be interesting to see how he does from here, and time to check your supplies in case he has more excitement planned for the blue moon.
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy AMPS 272 + 2 194 +4 94 +6 65 +7 56 +8 59 +10

I assumed after +6 he would start to rise but he he still dropped a bit. Be interesting to see where he is at pmps 2 hours from now. Got the food and syrup at the ready although I suspect he will shoot real high after his PM shot.
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 yikes thats low!

Ok he is still holding low and green. I gave him the 5IU and am VERY NERVOUS!!!! eeekk. Am watching him closely.
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 yikes thats low! Worried about hypo?

Get either a +0.5 or a +1. Post the number. We're here to back you up.

And yes, Tiggy heard you.

And, you really don't need to bring your SS to the vet! My favorite lines with my vet were:
  • We'll have to agree to disagree (usually over the amount that I test).
  • Can you tell me where to look for the research on what you're recommending?
  • Please explain to me why you think that's a bad decision on my part.
And then I would unload everything that I read and send her the articles or citations. She would also love it when I'd call the U of IL vet school and talk with a specialist. She grew to realize that I take nothing at face value and will do my own research.
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43. Worried about hypo.

HC time. This is early in the cycle. Tiggy just got his dose reduction (congrats!). Give that kitty at least 2 tsp of HC and re-test in 30 min.
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43. Worried about hypo.

He just threw up his dinner( he gets fed at 8pm) I gave him a few (3) kibbles.
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43. Worried about hypo.

No. Not kibble. It takes too long to be metabolized! It may kick in an hour or so from now.

If you don't have HC canned food (when we say HC we always mean canned!), you can add honey, Karo/corn syrup, maple syrup, etc. to LC food.
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43 +1.25 68

I probably should have clarified!! You give 2 tsp of HC "gravy." If you're using syrup, it's measured in drops. I use Karo or honey with Gabby since the gluten in HC gravy upsets her stomach. She gets 3 drops if her numbers are really low. In general, I use 2 drops. Tiggy must figure he hit the mother lode.

I would give him a teaspoon or two of LC with a drop of Karo. Re-test in 30 min.

Sorry about the miscommunication. You might want to take a look at the post on handling low numbers.
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43 +1.25 68

Yep just tested a sec ago, Up to 130. Don't know how much is all the syrup I gave him, or whether he would have done this anyway. Next test in an hour or 30mins?
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43 +1.25 68 +2 130

I am torn, I kinda want it to be the syrup so that he goes back to a nice green but at the same time I don't want a hypo. Anyway we will see. Thanks for helping me through this.
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43 +1.25 68 +2 130

No chance of a hypo. If you are testing, have HC, and monitor carefully, you can steer the numbers and you minimize the chance of the numbers seriously tanking. We've dealt with people inadvertently overdosing their cats and prevented a symptomatic hypo. Also, just so you understand, we differentiate between low numbers and a symptomatic hypoglycemic episode.

You're doing fine!!
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43 +1.25 68 +2 130

Ok cool. I just remember the last time Tiggy went into remission. We were always over 50 and it was all fine and we were just about to start reducing the insulin ( see the other tab of the SS, we were working with a vet who wanted to wait and do avblood test before we reduced) and then one day he stopped eating.

We had to stop the insulin and force feed and give sub cu fluids for a few days. And we kept measuring, he never went back on the insulin and was OTJ for 4 months. We don't know why he stopped eating ..l wonder if you have any ideas? Something we need to watch for.
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43 +1.25 68 +2 130 +3 155

Up to 155. It's been 2.5hours since his sugar dose and his rate of increase seems to have slowed and we are now at Pmps+3. And it's my bedtime. Am I safe to get maybe three hours sleep and measure at +6 or should I stay up and keep testing every hour?
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43 +1.25 68 +2 130 +3 155

I think you're probably OK to get some sleep.

FWIW, I'd get rid of the dry.

I hadn't realized that Tiggy had been OTJ. We typically make it a bit harder for a cat that's been OTJ to get a dose reduction. Instead of dropping below 50, we have them either drop below 50 three times or once below 40 in order to reduce the dose.
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43 +1.25 68 +2 130 +3 155

Yeah he was diagnosed October 2011 and went OTJ within a few months after we stopped the dry food and gave him insulin.

And all was great until march when we got a new cat who is allergic to chicken. So we started feeding natural balance venison and green pea and within two weeks his blood climbed high and he was back on insulin.

We thought it was stress from the new cat until on this forum about a month ago someone brought to my attention that the venison was high carb and so we stopped it. (the vet had recommended it as low carb referring us to Janet and binky but he meant a different brand!! He meant royal canon but told us natural balance which I later found is 40% carbs!!!)

So long story short, does this mean I don't drop his dose tomorrow then?
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43 +1.25 68 +2 130 +3 155 +5 68

1am, PMPS +5 and he's back in the green 68. Looks like the syrup caused the spike. This is all very interesting. He's holding these low numbers a long time today!
 
Re: 8/31 Tiggy PMPS 56 +0.5 43 +1.25 68 +2 130 +3 155

I think it's your call regarding whether to lower the dose. Tiggy is still within the first year of being diagnosed. It's not a "rule" that you have to use tougher rules. You can always see whether the reduction holds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top