8/31 SINVER. AMPS. 229 +2,268 +6, 347+10,334 PMPS. 307 +3,254:(

xelo y sinver

Member Since 2023
Good morning, today you woke up yellow, yesterday was very calm. I'm trying to see if I can catch it with the ketone strip. Let's see how the day goes..
 
Es normal, no bebe mucho y tampoco orina mucho. No es muy activo. El es tranquilo. Comió bien y ahora está descansado. Ahora al +2 lo mediré para ver si baja.
 
Si no bebe mucho, le puedes añadir un cucharita de agua con la comida para asegurarte que este hidratado, la hidratacion es importante para prevenir problemas con cetonas. Prueba ver si lo acepta.
If he doesn't drink much you can add some water to his food to help with hydration, it's important to try and avoid problems with ketones. Try and see if he will accept it.

Es normal, no bebe mucho y tampoco orina mucho. No es muy activo. El es tranquilo. Comió bien y ahora está descansado. Ahora al +2 lo mediré para ver si baja.


Entonces lo ves normal. ? do you find he is his usual self?
Me alegro de que esté más bajo hoy. Good he was a little lower this morning
 
Last edited:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KB3KpSoBY5La5tRIGvelh0_vS9ow7dPn/view?usp=drivesdk


Above is a link to the test Xelo got, looks like trace to me. But photo wasn't taken immediately

The more insulin I give him, the more high numbers he has and I don't understand why? :(

It's not that more insulin is making his numbers go up, he's not at a good dose yet and we are probably chasing some glucose toxicity, this Sounds bad, but its only a temporary resistance to insulin, usually we would just follow TR until the dose catches up and we break through the resistence.

However I am concerned about ketones, and in these cases we may take him up more quickly.

Are you able to give fluids subcutaneously? This can help flush out ketones, if you haven't got fluids, maybe speak to a vet, I know that's problematic, after your problem with swapping to Lantus. Is there another one you could speak to?

http://felinecrf.org/subcutaneous_fluids_tips.htm this link discusses types of fluid therapy, read it before speaking to vet.

How does he seem? Is he eating ok?
Try and grab another urine test.
 
Hi Xel9 I have been consulting with some other members with experience with FD cats with dka,
For now keep 1.25u, continue to follow TR, no need to panic just yet
  • Keep adding water to his food
  • Monitor ketones
  • Monitor his behaviour
  • Make sure he is eating
If he gets lethargic or stops eating, we may need to reevaluate.

If all signs remain good and as long as ketones do not increase hold the 1.25u dose for at least 6 cycles.
 
Back
Top