8/31 Shakes - question to put out there-any ideas

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
I have been thinking about fur shots.... :?
I started thinking because I gave shakes a fur shot a couple of days ago.
he was high for at least 6 hours but when I woke up he was lower and It always bothered me
many months ago my (stupid) sitter gave Shakes a fur shot ...he was in the high 300's all nigh(at least through 12pm) :evil:
when I took his blood in the moring he was 250. :shock:

NOW..a few days ago I know I gave him a fur shot, and about one half an hour later he was on his blanket
licking himself where I had given him his shot....AND THAT IS WHAT MADE ME THINK!! confused_cat
so even if we do miss...they still have to chance to get some insulin in them, because like all cats
they dont like to be wet or dirty so they will clean themselves,,hence licking the insulin and absorbing
some...SO my thinking is even if we do get a fur shot, they could still injest some insulin but it would take a lot longer
for the insulin to work because they swallowed it....

any thoughts on this?
and yet just possibly another reason to never give a token dose mid cycle because you never know!

enjoy your day!
Denise and Shakes
 
Good question.
Of course, you can google anything, so I googled "can insulin be taken orally?". I found this, which basically says that current insulin won't work that way because digestion in the stomach "denatures in and makes it ineffective".
Challenges
Oral insulin medication presents a holy grail for diabetes treatment. The challenges with developing a formulation are inherent in the structure of the hormone. Insulin, as a hormone, is a protein, which becomes denatured during digestion, rendering it ineffective when it is absorbed. Insulin has been shown to be effective when it is absorbed or injected into the blood stream through transdermal, inhaled and injected modes. Insulin has also been shown to be effectively absorbed in the intestine. A successful oral formulation would protect insulin from being broken down in the stomach and release the hormone, intact, for absorption in the intestinal tract


Couple things though. This is talking about "human" insulins and human stomachs. Not sure if the digestion in a kitty belly would differ, or if PZI would be different since it is "bovine" in nature and I think it was specifically designed for use in pets rather than people?

Your theory sure would explain Shakes' numbers on the occasions you've had a fur-shot though....
Carl
 
Denise, I don't know but I don't think its a good idea either to give a token dose between regular shots, because you never know for sure if its a total fur shot or some insulin went in.
I have noticed that same pattern with Henry too, I have given him a total fur shot either AM or PM and he stays high and flat during cycle but then the next morning at AMPS he would be in the mid 250's to 270's, when I expected him to be higher than usual because of the missed shot.
I think its strange and have no explanation for it.
 
Well, that's why I LOVE this dance so much. :roll: There are no explainations for Thumper....and there are 2 right answers for everything! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top