8/31 PMBG 53 ~ dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

skippy and birten

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23675

Ok now that Skippy is supposed to keep a record of over a 100 and tonight he shows 53 with one monitor and 75 in another does this mean he is off from having dental work...he surely is trying not to get it :lol:

Gave him some HC mixed with LC and he is +15 59 +30 63,
I am behind half hour any suggestions on the dose and when is a safer number? I was thinking over 80 because he drops so much lately...

Regarding why the vet did not do his dental because his ambg was 80, I believe the answer is on the link below
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Blood ... _normal.3F

This is an average non-diabetic cat's level[3][4], but leaves little margin of safety for a diabetic on insulin. Don't aim for this range, but don't panic if you see it, either. If the number is not falling, it's healthy.
 
Yes he ate half a teaspoon and a half of HC mixed with LC. He is now +1 at 95. I was thinking of giving him a reduction of dose to 2.00 now. I will be off an hour but will make it up. Any thoughts reducing his dose...
 
Yes his SS is updated. I gave him his shot this morning. I have not this evening. His PMBG was 53 than 15 min later 59 than another 15 min 63 and now one hour 95.
 
Birten & Skippy said:
Gave him some HC mixed with LC and he is +15 59 +30 63,
I am behind half hour any suggestions on the dose and when is a safer number? I was thinking over 80 because he drops so much lately...

I'm really confused. It looks like you shot last night but skipped a shot this morning? (There's no dose on your SS.) If you skipped this morning, how can you have a +30 BG? Wouldn't your PMPS be at +24?

Did you feed HC + LC after getting the 53?
 
Ok I went into SS and added the 2.50 dose done this morning.
Tonight an hour ago I checked his PMBG which was 53 without food. No shot. I gave him a mixture of HC and LC and checked 15 minutes later (+15 not sure how to shoe 15 minutes) went up to 59 than 15 minutes later (+30 not sure how to show half hour) went to 63 and at +1 which is one hour when I checked his BG he went up to 95. Sorry for the confusion.

I would like to give him 2.00 (reduce from 2.50) and will be shooting one hour late.
 
it would probably be best to get something in there, so not to empty the shed...and you are home to monitor too


thank you for updating the SS!
 
let me get this straight...

+12/53
+12.15/59
+12.5/63
+13/95

if you need to stall, its best not to feed until you have a safe rising number that you are comfortable shooting


so your PMPS would be 95, the latest number you got...
unless you want to re-test once more, whenever you shoot - that is your PMPS number
 
Re: 8/31 PMPS 111

That is percise Ronnie. Thanks for clarifying that. I always get the 15 minutes confused. I checked and he is now 111 and I gave him 2.25 where I feel comfortable and will continue with this dose and see where he goes. I am just surprised he dropped this low with no dose on Monday in the morning...

I hope the dentist does not see this as a problem...or else she will make me go to an internist...
 
Re: 8/31 PMPS 111 +13.5~105

He is licking himself and looking me into the face and said look what I can do with my numbers so I don't have to have a cleaning :mrgreen:

I have decided if for any reason the vet decides that his numbers are not stabel for her to put under I will be ok and postpone a couple months later...
 
Re: 8/31 PMPS 111 +13.5~105

skippy and birten said:
He is licking himself and looking me into the face and said look what I can do with my numbers so I don't have to have a cleaning :mrgreen:

In case we ever needed a reminder about who is in charge, cat or bean! :lol:

h
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top