8/31 Mia AMPS 174;+3.25 105; +6 113; +9 99; PMPS 147;+2 122; +3.75 81; +5.25 94

I just read (Main Forum) diabetic cat should have 3-4 small meals per day, or a snack. I feed every 12 hours (9:30/9:30) at dosing time. If I feed her more frequently, I imagine her numbers will change, right? I can give small LC (regular wet food) snack at 6 pm, when I feed the other cats, if necessary. Advice, please? Thanks.
 
It's easier on what we hope is a healing pancreas to have multiple small meals a day. Human diabetics do the same. Some people get automated feeders to do this when they are away, or at night when asleep. Some people have grazers, so it's not as much of an issue with them. But if kitty is a hoover, or another kitty in the house eats all food right away, that doesn't leave any food for the diabetic cat.

The best times to feed those meals is in the first half of the cycle or before nadir, when the insulin effect is the strongest. After that, carbs can cause the insulin to lose duration, meaning not last as long, and result in higher preshots. A little snack just before nadir time might help if you are away and she is going low.
 
It's easier on what we hope is a healing pancreas to have multiple small meals a day. Human diabetics do the same. Some people get automated feeders to do this when they are away, or at night when asleep. Some people have grazers, so it's not as much of an issue with them. But if kitty is a hoover, or another kitty in the house eats all food right away, that doesn't leave any food for the diabetic cat.

The best times to feed those meals is in the first half of the cycle or before nadir, when the insulin effect is the strongest. After that, carbs can cause the insulin to lose duration, meaning not last as long, and result in higher preshots. A little snack just before nadir time might help if you are away and she is going low.
I guess I need a better understanding of going low. I thought, as long as not super low (hypoglycemic) ranges, it was a good thing to show low numbers during the day. Could you, please explain the concept behind low and feeding at that time. Is it more important to try to keep a relatively flat line (at higher values) than hit the low numbers intermittently? Is that even a sensical question?!
 
What you want to do is provide food when she is in low ranges, especially in hypo ranges or in danger of going there, especially if you are not around during the day or asleep at night. Food is what keeps kitty safe. So you don't want to necessarily keep flat higher numbers, but you can allow her to get lower, but not dangerously low.

I took a look at your spreadsheet, and I see she got down to 79 and 82 a couple days ago on this 0.5 units dose. When following SLGS, you reduce immediately by 0.25 units whenever they go under 90. So you should have reduced to 0.25 units that night.
 
What you want to do is provide food when she is in low ranges, especially in hypo ranges or in danger of going there, especially if you are not around during the day or asleep at night. Food is what keeps kitty safe. So you don't want to necessarily keep flat higher numbers, but you can allow her to get lower, but not dangerously low.

I took a look at your spreadsheet, and I see she got down to 79 and 82 a couple days ago on this 0.5 units dose. When following SLGS, you reduce immediately by 0.25 units whenever they go under 90. So you should have reduced to 0.25 units that night.
Do I reduce now? Or wait for the next under 90? So, giving her a midday snack is not necessary every day? Only if she’s running low?
 
It's best if you feed the same each cycle.

If you are not able to get a second test every cycle, this includes the night time, it's best if you reduce now.
 
Do I reduce now? Or wait for the next under 90?

It's best if you feed the same each cycle.

If you are not able to get a second test every cycle, this includes the night time, it's best if you reduce now.
I can do +2 AM & PM. I did +3 throughout the day today upon suggestion. Perhaps I misunderstood. But how would I know from the PM +2 whether she might drop super low in the night? Currently, she seems to go a lot higher by the AMPS (normal?). Are you saying I should drop to .25 tonight, though she hasn’t gone back down to under 90? Sorry to ask so many questions. Thanks so much for your knowledge. If I begin giving her a snack midday, it will be erratic, as I am not always here to do so. I can give her a 6-6:30 pm snack, but that is past the nadir. Better to just leave every 12 hours in that scenario?
 
If the +2 test is quite a bit lower than the preshot, that is an active cycle needing more monitoring. Note, this is a rule of thumb that works for most cats.

Higher by AMPS can be a product of dawn phenomenon. Not uncommon.

Have you thought about getting her an automated feeder to give food a preselected times? The Petsafe and Catmate are two options. There are other fancier ones that are microchip coded if you have multiple cats, that only open for the one cat.
 
If the +2 test is quite a bit lower than the preshot, that is an active cycle needing more monitoring. Note, this is a rule of thumb that works for most cats.

Higher by AMPS can be a product of dawn phenomenon. Not uncommon.

Have you thought about getting her an automated feeder to give food a preselected times? The Petsafe and Catmate are two options. There are other fancier ones that are microchip coded if you have multiple cats, that only open for the one cat.
Thanks. Just gave her .5, as I was a bit confused on dosing advice. I have thought about feeders, but with multiple cats who have to be separated and no good option to sequester her (she shares space with one who would eat the food out from under her) that would not work very well. Still confused on feeding: is the idea to regularly give her a mid day meal no matter her number? Treat super low as an entirely different event. I’m assuming I hold at .5 until she drops again?
 
Back
Top