8/31 KT AMPS 243 +4-238 +8-303 PMPS 315 NOT Good day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo

Hopefully we'll at least ride the yellow ALL DAY today. Last night, he had a terrible coughing fit - never heard that before. Anyone have any suggestions as to what might have caused that?

AMPS 243
2.0u at 8:30am
 
Re: 8/31 KT AMPS 243

Hi guys .. hope the yellow numbers stay around today! Did you put down anything new in the house he may have gotten into or on? Air freshners? Carpet cleaner, floor cleaner? Those would be my ideas .. have a great day!
 
Re: 8/31 KT AMPS 243 +4-238

Alright! +4 = 238!

Nothing new Peter - can't do most of that stuff because of Shu's asthma. I don't like his looks today - looks 'gaunt' if a 17 lb kitty can look 'gaunt'. My vet's on vacation and the others don't know KT.

THANKS GUYS!
 
actually, looking at KTs ss, today brought the lowest nadir since going on lantus. that's a good thing. lantus effects are a little slower and the nadir is important for dosing decisions. if you want to adjust the dose, you could ask for dosing advice in your subject line - but i wonder if the skipped shot 2 mornings ago would have affected things. if there weren't any skipped doses, you could look at this part of the protocol and it would say to increase the dose by .25. i'm just not sure how the skipped shot changes things.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
i might be wrong on what i just gave you - because you're starting new on lantus, but not new on insulin, you probably want to ask for someone with more expertise. just edit your subject line and ask for "dosing advice."

here's the guidelines for newly going on lantus:

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
 
Thanks Julie and Pretty Pretty Punkin baby. I wasn't sure whether to go up or down. I think I'll ask when I start tomorrow's thread - I'm just dead on my aching feet tonight and am contemplating the bed very seriously.
 
not sure how much you know about how lantus works - at the beginning you're building a "shed" that then becomes a slow release of the insulin. so it takes a while to see how it works. same thing when you increase a dose. sometimes there's a little lag while the shed is building and then you see how the dose is really going to work.

you might still be in the "be patient while it settles in" phase - and someone with more experience could let you know if you just need to be patient, or if you need to increase the dose.

i don't think you're at the "decrease the dose" phase yet. for that to happen you would need to see numbers below 50.

sleep well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top