8/31/22 New Member (Just Introduction)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caneel & Cher

Member Since 2022
Hi, all--I'm here because one of my two cats (Cher) was diagnosed recently (8/26/22). At the time of diagnosis her BG was 423, she had lost her appetite and was noticeably lethargic. We started insulin on 8/27/22 (1U Lantus at 7 am and 7 pm), and as of Monday, she's finishing (or close to finishing) her meals and has greeted me at the door with her "where is my dinner" shouts as she always had before her diagnosis! I started BG testing at home today, just took one reading to start to get used to the whole process of it (94 mg/dL), and am happy to report it's def less scary than I thought it'd be! The whole process has been incredibly emotionally draining as I went from the fear of not knowing, to the sadness and anxiety of the diagnosis, to the cautious happiness at watching her improve--it really has been a lot, but finding FDMB has really helped start to take the edge off.

I don't really have a question--we're still pretty early in the diagnosis and as of right now, things seem to be stabilizing well (fingers crossed it stays that way!)--but I just wanted to introduce us. I've already found SO much useful info on here (a lot of really really helpful stuff that convinced me home BG testing was possible/not so scary and "worth it")...and I'm really glad this space exists!
 
Welcome Caneel and Cher
Your ahead of the game glad you started to home test
I know you don't have any questions yet but if you would like to set up what we call our signature and our spreadsheet in case you do need help that would be great
Glad Cher is on lantus . If you want to set up our spreadsheet and have trouble just ask we have a member who would be happy to do it for you.
We track our cats BG numbers on the spreadsheet to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping , that's how we determine the dose , not by the Pre Shots
We can follow along on the spreadsheet in case you need any help
I see you put some information in your signature already can you add what meter you are using
This is the information we like to have


If you can set up your signature that would be greatTo set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.


Our spreadsheet link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
You would link this to your signature

We are here if you need any thing :cat:
Feel free to ask any questions you have
 
Hi Caneel and Cher and welcome to the forum. I’m so glad you have found useful information here. It’s a very supportive and knowledgeable forum with lots of lovely people to help you.
well done home testing the BGs. If you could set up the spreadsheet that would be great.
just as few questions:
  • What type of food are you feeding?
  • Are you feeding before all insulin doses and then giving some snacks during the cycles?
  • Was time in the cycle was the BG 94?
    What type of glucose meter are you using? Could you put that into your sign please?
  • Are you testing for ketones in the urine? Would recommend you buy some Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy and test a couple of times a week until Cher is regulated it’s a good insurance policy
It is a bit overwhelming in the beginning but you sound as if you are proactive in finding out information which is great.
Keep asking questions. We are happy to answer them
Bron
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top