8/31/2019-Blaze AMPS 342, +3 356, +6 229, +9.5 303, PMPS 310, +3 373, +4 399

Sarah and Blaze

Member Since 2019
@MrWorfMen's Mom
@Nan & Amber
@Idjit's mom



Good morning!

Today is Blaze's first day on Lantus, he has been on Novolin for 2 weeks. His AMPS was 342 this morning and I am going to give him 1U. Is it best to test at +3, +6, +9 today? And should I put any snacks in the timed feeder for mid-cycle times? On Novolin, he was getting snacks at +1.5 and +3.5.
 
Last edited:
Here we go!

Not too bad a bounce from last night considering that fast drop.

That's a good plan on testing. As for snacks, you'll probably eventually be shifting them to later to account for the later onset and longer duration of Lantus, but there's no harm doing them at those times. You may find that Blaze isn't as interested in the +1.5 just after breakfast if he doesn't have the Novolin getting revved up in his system.
 
This is so exciting. :joyful:

BTW You don't need that hour wait time between feeding and shots anymore. (a little sleep in time for Mom perhaps!?). You just need to know that Blaze is eating. A lot of folks shoot while kitty has their head stuck in their bowl. :D

As Nan says, you will find with the different onset/duration of Lantus that new feeding times will likely need to be established based on how Blaze metabolizes the Lantus.
 
Congrats and welcome!!

I sometimes even shoot Ming before he starts eating but that’s either because he’s high already and I know he’ll eat. But common practice is testing, feeding, and shooting all within 15 minutes.

Excited to see Blaze’s journey with Lantus :)
 
it's a new environment, a few new procedures, a few time constraints, different from what you've been used to, and one thing maybe not mentioned, the first three days can look odd as the "depot" fills up -- you won't be getting the instant reactions you've had before, it WILL smooth out and you will be much happier, less worry about going too low and verging on hypo .. so if you get high values right away, it's normal, keep going .. if you don't you may be one of the lucky ones with a smooth transition

welcome to Lantus Land :bighug::bighug::bighug: :cat::):cat:
 
If you have two available slots in the feeder, +4 and either +6 or +8 are good times to use, bracketing the expected nadir.
Yes I have the PetSafe 5 so it has 5 compartments for food. I figured we would start a different snack schedule once on Lantus, but wasn't sure what times were good for snacks. I will adjust those snack times to be a little later now!
 
This is so exciting. :joyful:

BTW You don't need that hour wait time between feeding and shots anymore. (a little sleep in time for Mom perhaps!?). You just need to know that Blaze is eating. A lot of folks shoot while kitty has their head stuck in their bowl. :D

As Nan says, you will find with the different onset/duration of Lantus that new feeding times will likely need to be established based on how Blaze metabolizes the Lantus.
Yes! This morning, I got up, tested, fed him and gave the shot while he was eating and went back to bed! That makes it easier on the weekends!
 
it's a new environment, a few new procedures, a few time constraints, different from what you've been used to, and one thing maybe not mentioned, the first three days can look odd as the "depot" fills up -- you won't be getting the instant reactions you've had before, it WILL smooth out and you will be much happier, less worry about going too low and verging on hypo .. so if you get high values right away, it's normal, keep going .. if you don't you may be one of the lucky ones with a smooth transition

welcome to Lantus Land :bighug::bighug::bighug: :cat::):cat:
Thank you Candy! I'm glad I started Lantus on a three day weekend so I can be home more to monitor, even though the next three days might be slow while the depot fills up, like you said. I'm sure Blaze will be on the higher side while he is transitioning to Lantus but it's okay, just gotta keep going.:cat::bighug:
 
Yay DH, and yay Blaze! Sneaking into those yellows to make a statement! That's a fine number-- as others have pointed out, usually you don't expect too much movement on cycle 1 of a depot insulin, but it's nice to see him showing that he knows the way.
 
Whoops! It is 229, mistyped in the post but the 229 is the correct number for +6.
Did you get another test after the +6? I usually test again soon - after a 100 point drop - time to keep an eye on what's going on there...

Blaze and Luci look like they could be related :rolleyes: Tuxedo babies....:joyful:
 
Did you get another test after the +6? I usually test again soon - after a 100 point drop - time to keep an eye on what's going on there...

Blaze and Luci look like they could be related :rolleyes: Tuxedo babies....:joyful:
I just tested at +9.5 and he's at 303. He dropped 157 points between +3 and +6 but I didn't know if I needed another test in between +6 and +9? Should I have tested at +7? Today is his first day on Lantus.

Blaze and Luci definitely look like they could be related!:cat:
 
I just tested at +9.5 and he's at 303. He dropped 157 points between +3 and +6 but I didn't know if I needed another test in between +6 and +9? Should I have tested at +7? Today is his first day on Lantus.

Blaze and Luci definitely look like they could be related!:cat:

I try to keep a close eye on Luci when she's dropping - she lets me know when she drops 100 or more points that she's on a mission:facepalm:...sometimes she poops out and doesn't do another thing...sometimes she goes into a dive...she's famous for her dives...used to scare the bejeezus out of me when she'd do that...I wanted her to go to the lagoon...but sheesh, she'd have on her diving outfit and wouldn't say a thing to me about it..next thing I'd know she was chasing sharks:eek: - (below 50 or 40)...take a look at her SS - not since we started Lev has she pulled that on me...but when we first started she would take off and I could barely get her to slow down...put on her water wings, or even grab a life-ring..she was just tearing along as if in a big hurry to get 'there'...:rolleyes:

It's early for you...so just saying...you could have a diver, or not...you'll know with testing... :cool:
 

An hour to two when he drops from 300's to 200's - you're still in safe territory...see how fast he's dropping...if he's still falling by 50-80 points, get another test in 40-60 minutes...after he hits the low 100's, set a timer to get a test 30-40 minutes...you may also want to read the stickies about feeding the curve - if I can find that one, I'll post. We struggled with that a lot! I always feed Luci a little something after a test...it gets trickier as you get closer to the 50 line...might want to add a drop or two of MC gravy style food to the LC...but not overfeed...if all that makes sense...kinda like walking a tightrope...hopefully he'll surf along in the lagoon and not scare you to death like Luci did to me...:cat:
 
Blaze likes to wait to drop lower on nights that I'm really tired and need to get some sleep, or on work nights. It's like he knows!
 
What was your PMPS number? It looked like he was heading back up at 9.5+ - that's a typical curve - they drop down sometime mid-late cycle and then start climbing again near the end of the 12 hour cycle.

Watch over a few days and you'll see what I mean - of course every cat is different and he may be reluctant to drop at all for a day or three ...then one day he'll be flat yellow - that's when you've got to be watchful - the next cycle can be an active one - notice I said 'can be' - there are no guarantees that Blaze will behave by the book...these are just trends that folks here have observed over time...Luci doesn't like anyone predicting her moves - but I have a better handle on what to expect - well, most of the time. I used to say, Luci is in charge around here ... I'm just the servant...doing her bidding... as it is, as it shall be...long live the Queen:rolleyes:

When you get a 2+ after the PMPS and it's green - put on your coffee - and plan for a long night of quick naps - get out the medium or high carb and get ready to test, test, test. Hopefully Blaze will surf safely - but those cats have our numbers - they seem to know 1) When we have plans to go somewhere and:eek: 2) when you're really tired:eek: (they read your mind ya know)...you have to visual being up all night partying...not the comfy bed where you're just aching to get to...they see that and want to thwart your plans... Luci has done that to us a zillion times:banghead:...DH is nice enough to stay up with her most nights - sometimes he's too exhausted...she gets some higher carb food and he goes to bed...I'll get a test toward morning as I'm an early riser...so far we've been fortunate and Luci responds very well to food...hopefully Blaze will be the same...

The fun is just starting :joyful:
 
I'll grab his PMPS in about 30 minutes and I will post it.

I'm up at 5:00 am every Monday through Thursday for work so I'm not going to be able to stay up all night on work nights. I will definitely do all that I can to keep him safe, but there may be nights where he gets HC food and I go to bed if I'm not able to test and feed and retest and feed over and over. I hope that doesn't make me a bad cat mom, but I have to take care of myself as well.

Blaze seemed to respond to food while he was on the Novolin, I hope he stays that way now that we are on Lantus:confused:
 
I'll grab his PMPS in about 30 minutes and I will post it.

I'm up at 5:00 am every Monday through Thursday for work so I'm not going to be able to stay up all night on work nights. I will definitely do all that I can to keep him safe, but there may be nights where he gets HC food and I go to bed if I'm not able to test and feed and retest and feed over and over. I hope that doesn't make me a bad cat mom, but I have to take care of myself as well.

Blaze seemed to respond to food while he was on the Novolin, I hope he stays that way now that we are on Lantus:confused:

That is very typical of people who have to go to work - there's a Stickie about that - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/

If you're exhausted and can't go to work, then kitty doesn't get food or insulin or other good stuff...
 
That is very typical of people who have to go to work - there's a Stickie about that - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/

If you're exhausted and can't go to work, then kitty doesn't get food or insulin or other good stuff...
I'm starting with SLGS though, I'm not doing tight regulation just yet. I want to ease into this insulin change first.

It's hard for me stay home from work if I'm too tired, I'm a dental hygienist so if I don't go to work, all those patients get rescheduled and I could possibly lose my job if that happens too much:(
 
PMPS is 310

He's needing his juice mama :)

One comment - I notice on your SS that you're shooting at different times...if there is any way you can shoot consistently the same time every day it's good for Lantus - one thing about Lantus - it loves consistency...every day 12 hours apart...

I apologize if I've missed something in previous threads explaining your schedule perhaps...but different times can cause the numbers to be wonky...hope that is something you can strive for - it'll help :)
 
It's hard for me stay home from work if I'm too tired,

Oh I hear you! I cannot function the next day if I've been up too late! I'm a programmer and when I can't think - I can't think my way through those programming challenges/problems...which is what my days are made up of...it takes a lot of brainpower to get it done...sleep deprivation can have a devastating affect on my ability to get my job done...have to find balance in all things..especially in your ability to rest so you can be your best cat-loving mama bean :)
 
Gave 1U at 6pm:)

Yes I am going to be consistent with shot times now that we are on Lantus. I was a little off with Novolin because it was so different, but today (his first day of Lantus) he got shots at 6 am and 6pm, I am going to work in 15 minute increments over the next few days to get him to 5 am and 5 pm, which is the schedule I will be on for the work week.

Now that I have DH testing and shooting, we can stay on the 5 am and 5pm schedule easier. Some days I don’t get off work until 5pm, but DH will be in charge of testing and shooting on those days.
 
Go ahead and give Blaze the 1u dose.

A little housework....looks like you manually coloured the 303 at +(9.5 this afternoon) and it should be pink not yellow.;)
 
Gave 1U at 6pm:)

Yes I am going to be consistent with shot times now that we are on Lantus. I was a little off with Novolin because it was so different, but today (his first day of Lantus) he got shots at 6 am and 6pm, I am going to work in 15 minute increments over the next few days to get him to 5 am and 5 pm, which is the schedule I will be on for the work week.

Now that I have DH testing and shooting, we can stay on the 5 am and 5pm schedule easier. Some days I don’t get off work until 5pm, but DH will be in charge of testing and shooting on those days.

Excellent!!
 
Sarah, those numbers are totally normal. The first few days of Lantus when building the depot often don't show much movement in BG.

When Blaze gives you a higher BG at +3 than at PMPS, especially when BG is still running high, you can be pretty sure it's going to be a quiet cycle and you don't need to keep testing. If +3 is same or lower than PMPS, then it's more likely to be an active cycle and another check should be done.
 
Sarah, those numbers are totally normal. The first few days of Lantus when building the depot often don't show much movement in BG.

When Blaze gives you a higher BG at +3 than at PMPS, especially when BG is still running high, you can be pretty sure it's going to be a quiet cycle and you don't need to keep testing. If +3 is same or lower than PMPS, then it's more likely to be an active cycle and another check should be done.
This freaks me out a little bit because as you know, this coming Wednesday evening and Thursday morning , I will be out of town and DH will only be able to do AMPS/PMPS with no additional testing :nailbiting:
 
Sarah, chances are you won't be seeing a lot of action before your trip so just take it a day at a time. You can always lower the dose for your time away and then resume when you get back. Safety first and Blaze will be just fine. Besides, couldn't DH do a before bed test at night?
 
Sarah, chances are you won't be seeing a lot of action before your trip so just take it a day at a time. You can always lower the dose for your time away and then resume when you get back. Safety first and Blaze will be just fine. Besides, couldn't DH do a before bed test at night?
Yes he could do a before bed test while I'm gone, but he won't be able to stay up testing after that due to work:(
 
Back
Top