8/30 Tigger AMPS 390 PMPS 337 +2=293

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

Thanks Melissa!

Curious to see what the PMPS is tonight. If its above 350 I will use .25R on him.
If this 12 units brings him down around 300 or lower, not sure i want to use the R, at least not unti I have a good feel for how Tigger reacts to it. Still in the investigation stage. :-D
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

Way to go on using R. I have never done it and understand it takes a lot of diligence. I have been absent more than not and haven't heard if you ever got the Acro test back. Any news?
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

Yup, he's Acro. Came in at 377. :-|

But, just going to continue on, nothing I can do about that. From what i'm told it explains things and changes things a little, but not alot.
Not shooting for 100's, shooting for 200's now since his Pancreas does work.

So, I stocked up on Food, test strips and Syringes with a new vial of Lantus. I'm good for a week or so!
:lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

:lol: :lol: :lol: You have the right attitude Brent! At least you have answers now. Sorry to hear about the diagnosis but the not knowing is worse. Have a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

Blues??
:lol:
We've never seen blue! :-D

I think i'd freak out the first time I see blue! But thanks Angela!
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

Hi guys .. I hope the extra bit of juice does the trick for tigger .. maybe 12u is the magical dose! I know you are dealing with a lot but I also know tigger is in great care with you .. Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

hnkstr said:
I think i'd freak out the first time I see blue

Tigger would freak too! My experience with high dosers (admittedly limited) is that they become used to a number and like it there. I have tried to bring the numbers down slowly to give him a chance to get used to them. From Tigger's high pinks, sliding slowly through yellows to just kissing the blues would be good - over probably a week. Not that we like them high, but the 'drop and bounce' scene is worse imho.
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

so brent, just fyi, it's likely that tigger has gotten really used to being high. i think i've only seen him in the 300's since you came here. when a cat is accustomed to a particular level of sugar in their system and then has an episode where they touch a lower number, the liver will usually release counter-regulatory hormones and stored glucose. think of it as a survival mechanism to prevent a cat from going hypoglycemic. even though the numbers won't be hypo numbers (less than 50) the cat's body perceives danger and lets loose a flood.

when that happens the cat's BG will go high for up to 72 hours before that clears out and settles. that's called a bounce - and don't be surprised if that happens. this is what just-as-appy is talking about. if it does, then you want to wait for the bounce to clear before you adjust the dose again. a bounce of high numbers is always preceded by a lower-than-accustomed-to number. high numbers without that initial low number aren't a bounce.

most people learn about this early on in the diabetes dance, but you've never had lower numbers so i don't think that tigger's ever had it happen.
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

Yeah, Tigger doesn't like that low number dance!

I'd love to see low 200's to be honest, and constant.
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

your ultimate goal is 100's, brent. organ damage begins around 200-225. you want to be below that as much as you can.

my vet scared the you know what out of me when he told me that punkin could go blind overnight from cataracts and those beautiful green eyes could turn into white saucers from the quantities of sugar in his system. and as well-regulated as punkin is, he does have some cataracts already from it. fortunately he's not gone blind.
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

cataracts usually develop over a long period of time.

Tiggy has cataracts - he has been diabetic for about 7 years now (we adopted him in 2009). He can still see, but not really well. When Rusty was here, Tiggy could not see that he was winding up for a pounce across the room -- so he'd get bowled over with no warning and come up scratching and freaking out. Luckily, Rusty found a great home with Ella and Edward.
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

I should elaborate, right now my goal is to get into the 200's and constant. Then we can work on the 100's. :-D
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

Ok, getting ready for .25 R
Prelim readings a half hour ago was 342, close enough for me to do the R at .25

Dosing in 10 minutes

Then making some pork chops and scallped potatoes. Mmmm, except the work involved when you start from scratch, mushrooms and garlic. lol
Can't use Cream of Mushroom soup, so i have to make that. If anyone here has natural recipes to share, let me know. Always looking to expand options on this restrictive diet!
:lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

hnkstr said:
I should elaborate, right now my goal is to get into the 200's and constant.
Good goal.

Brent, I've got 40 (4 10 packs) of BD Ultra-Fine 3/10cc 1/2" 30 gauge syringes (1 unit markings) that someone gave to us, which we didn't use.
If you could use them I'd be happy to send them to you, just PM me your address.
 
Re: 8/30 Tigger AMPS 390

Ok, Tigger once again threw me a screwball. Either he did or the meter did.
+11.5 was 342 and the PMPS came in at 261. I took another immediate reading at 337.
Not doing the R, don't trust the readings or what is happening.

Which number do I trust and put on my spreadsheet? I'm guessing 337
 
with a large difference between the numbers, i'd probably test a third time to see. but in the big picture if you just picked one to go with, it's not going to matter.

so that 293 came without the use of R?

eta: his first yellow in a while! wahoo! just to remind you - every time you increase the dose some of it has to add to the shed. as the shed fills up then you see the change in numbers.
 
Nope, didn't trust the R with numers jumping, so the 293 is an actual yellow!!

We'll see how long that lasts
lol
 
I haven't been around much the last few weeks, so I missed that Tigger had been diagnosed with acro and IAA. Sorry about the news, but you're right, you just give him what he needs. You'll find a numbers range that is comfortable for you and for Tigger. For Jazzy, I aim for 100s because that's where she seems happiest. Also over 200 she pees a LOT so I try to keep her under that. Whatever works for you.

If you're interested in doing some reading, here is a list I put together with some interesting acro posts from the past.

And here are some of the acro spreadsheets that I have studied and have chosen to follow. Primarily I follow their methods with Jazzy, because this is what I want her spreadsheet to look like. :smile:

Porscha
Buckwheat
Chika
Boo
Milo

(Boo and Milo both had Stereotactic Radiosurgery and went OTJ, but the early parts of their spreadsheets are very applicable and impressive).

I hope this helps! And good luck with the dosecrease.
 
I don't know where Tigger is happy, he sure doesn't seem to like Yellow much! Anytime he touches yellow he jumps out of it.

:lol: :lol:

Just going with the flow and gonna see where he takes me I guess. Crazy hunger and being more aggressive with the insulin to see if I can't cut it off at the pass.
It definately is a marathon!
 
Ok, +4 of 325
Right back outta the yellow
lol

Ok, heading to bed, tomorrow is the start of a couple crazy days again.
Won't be around much tomorrow night and most of Thursday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top