8/30 Sebastian AMPS 228 +3 269 +6 269 +9 299 1.5R +10 288 +11 260 PMPS 240 +1 209 +2 231 +4.5 204

Justin & Sebastian

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

AMPS 228, B-0HB 0.9, 12lbs 4.5oz. Doing much better this morning. No vomit and he ate about 1/2 cup of the freeze-dried morsels over night. And he licked up 20ml of slurry for breakfast instead of me having to force him. And the numbers look a lot better. Still pretty low energy but he was jumping up into the bed last night to get cuddles.

Hoping we don't see a bounce today and he comes down out of the yellows
 
So glad to hear he's eating on his own! Excellent news! Hope he continues to improve.

Have a great day Justin! I see you're in Florida - all prepared for Dorian?
 
I think we have a couple things to take care of but for the most part we're as prepared as we're gonna be. I'm a bit of an end of the world prepper so I always have 5 gallon bottles of water and canned food on hand just as a matter of course.

I was wondering why everyone has to run out at the last minute and buy all that stuff - especially plywood. What happened to the plywood they bought for Irma? You and I think alike - plenty of stuff on hand for the 'end of the world' scenario. :)
 
269@+6. Looks like a bounce. Really wish I could have caught the start of it given some R. Oh well. He licked up 60ml of slurry. I mixed a little cerenia and odanstetron in it so hopefully get rid of any nausea he's feeling so he'll start eating real food again soon.
 
Little Sebastian, feel better today please! There’s already improvement. I don’t know if I can compare, and I’m glad my husband is not on this forum lol, but when he had teeth extractions under anesthesia, he felt crappy after and in pain for a week. Had to feed him soup. It’s gonna be okay!
 
288@+10. Down a little bit but I bet that's about to jump up since he just went and ate a bulk of the food I put out for the day about 10 minutes ago. Probably not the best timing since I'm sure he won't be very hungry for dinner but at this point I'm more worried about making sure he gets enough food in him than when he eats. So hopefully that R is enough to do the trick and smooth him out a bit.
 
PMPS 240, 12lbs 1oz, B-0HB 1.5. Licked up 40ml of slurry. And he came back looking for more food 15 minutes later and I put out some of the raw lamb and he's eating that. Win.

Decided to go ahead and increase since it's been 6 cycles. Was going to hold off since 7u is already higher than we've ever been but I decided to heed my own advice that I've been giving @Penelope and Mačka and stick to the TR. They need what they need. I monitor heavily and have all the tools and experience to handle if he dips low.

Blood ketones are a bit higher than I'd like but I'm going to hold off on fluids and let him get back to drinking on his own. If they're still up in the morning I'll give him a little bump.
 
Gave him 1.5u R
Whoa, way too much.:eek: You need to be methodical when using R. Start with a low dose, give it a few cycles, then slowly increase by 0.25 units if you need more. Don't just pick a random number to dose. Eventually you will build an R scale, where you decide what to give based on the R preshot and the point in the cycle you are.

Never give R when you increase the L dose. The cycle with the increase can see downward momentum and you have have already started that downward motion with the R. You may need to monitor closely tonight. Sorry I haven't been around much to help you, parental issues to deal with.

Glad you heard from the vet about the fluids, you were overdoing it quite a bit!
 
209@+1

Don't just pick a random number to dose.
I didn't. I looked at the previous usage and determined based on that.

Never give R when you increase the L dose.
That doesn't make any sense to me. All I've ever heard is that you won't see the effects of the L increase in the first cycle because it's a slow-acting deposit insulin. I don't see how the two would have any relation, especially with me giving the R so late in the cycle.
 
Sometimes you do see the effects of an L increase on the first cycle. But not consistently, hence the caution.
I looked at the previous usage and determined based on that.
It wasn’t clear to me. You did just one cycle at a drop, one cycle at 0.1, one cycle at 0.25 units, one at 0.5, one at 0.75, then jumped up to 2 units of R for a few cycles, then lept up to 3 units. I suggested trying an R dose for a couple cycles, avoiding the cycles you shouldn’t shoot R, then methodically and slowly increase, like you do the L insulin. Data is your friend. What impact is the R having on the numbers vs the L? Learn what the R is doing on it’s own. It takes more than a one cycle R test at a given R dose, because of the variability of data from the L, and possibly lots of other factors that only Sebastian knows. It is more important to know when not to shoot R than when to shoot it.
 
I get it, and I appreciate the input. Just wanted to say that I didn't go in completely blind. I haven't had much luck getting any support and the only tips I get are when I do something wrong, so I'm pretty much just trying to figure it out as a I go. I'm actually a little surprised there's not a guide somewhere with all this written up, since there seems to be some pretty standard guidelines that people are mentioning.

All that said, it seems to have worked out pretty well. Kept him out of 300 and didn't get more than a 100 point drop. I actually think that 209 was probably on the low end of meter variance, given the 240-231 over two hours is about what I was expecting, given the earlier decrease rate, point in the R cycle, and addition of food. So I'd maybe pull back to 1u to get some data but I don't think it was too off the mark.
 
Back
Top