8/30 LT AMPS 220 +3 91 +4 71 +5 91 +6.5 109 +10 163; NO PMPS +1 189 +2 149 +5.5 377

Failed reduction? I don't like the high fastings. I will be checking at +6 and +7 today. I've only been giving him 2 meals, because I'm saving for a timed feeder. If I freeze 1/4 meal for him to eat during the day and at night, how do I adjust him to the smaller meals at fasting. I'm worried if I don't give him a full meal at fasting and then his usual insulin, he'll go too low and also still be crazy hungry. I just can't decide about this. @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
This is the 5th cycle, am I correct? Let’s see what happens tonight as it can take about 6 cycles for the depot to fill. You may want to do more spot checks at night just to see how the dose is working.
 
This is the 5th cycle, am I correct? Let’s see what happens tonight as it can take about 6 cycles for the depot to fill. You may want to do more spot checks at night just to see how the dose is working.
That's right, it's the 5th cycle. I'll try to get a night time one in when I get up to take care of my business. The problem, is I'm trying to get caught back up on sleep and have had trouble napping during the day. I'm planning on a +3 today along with a +6 and a +8 to try and see where the nadir is.
 
What’s your schedule right now?

I do 6/6 and I sleep at around 11-12 pm and giving his shot at 6, lets me test up to +5-6 without hindering too much on my sleep when Ming was on lantus. In the mornings, I give his shot then go back to sleep for an hour or two.

Of course, 6/6 doesn’t work for everyone!
 
Think of the spreadsheet as a puzzle. The more you gradually fill in the boxes, the more information you have to know what the insulin is doing at different times.
A lot of kitties have the lowest BG during the night. If you don't test at various time you won't know if LT's BG is dropping lowest at night.

Looks like LT is doing great! I've seen some kitties go into remission just by eliminating all dry food. He came down to a low dose fast that's why I'm wondering if he ate dry food before?

What do you mean by fasting? If he's not overweight he should eat as much as he wants. When they have diabetes it makes them hungry. "In diabetes glucose from the blood cannot enter the cells so the body can't convert the food into energy. This lack of energy causes an increase in hunger."

images
 
I tried to get him on 7:30/7:30 schedule, but between the diabetic dog throwing a lower number this a.m. and waiting on the dog to come up at his fastings, and LT's low PSs a few days ago which required some stalls, I haven't been able to push him to earlier. I'm thinking of moving the dog to 7:30 and trying to get LT worked back to 7. It's a juggling act with the 2 diabetics in the house. With LT running higher, I will try to back him up 15 min. tonight.
 
I don't give dosing advice but am throwing this out for you to think about and for more experienced members to respond to.

It may be time to think about micro-dosing, there exists the possibility of fattening the dose or giving a skinny dose. For example, a fat 0.25 is just a tidge over 0.25. A skinny 0.5 is just under the 0.5 mark on your half-unit syringe.

The 0.25 might not be enough (a lot of cats take the threat of an increase seriously and do something about it just when you've decided to increase the next cycle).
The 0.5 is a good dose that takes LT right down to the 68 cut-off but you never know LT's plans. Cats are like that.

Let's see what the experts have to say.
 
.
I don't give dosing advice but am throwing this out for you to think about and for more experienced members to respond to.

It may be time to think about micro-dosing, there exists the possibility of fattening the dose or giving a skinny dose. For example, a fat 0.25 is just a tidge over 0.25. A skinny 0.5 is just under the 0.5 mark on your half-unit syringe.

The 0.25 might not be enough (a lot of cats take the threat of an increase seriously and do something about it just when you've decided to increase the next cycle).
The 0.5 is a good dose that takes LT right down to the 68 cut-off but you never know LT's plans. Cats are like that.

Let's see what the experts have to say.

Like dogs, no 2 cycles are the same. Here he goes and throws a 91 at +3. Guess I'll check again at +4. Just the mention of a dose change and LT decides to play around with his number. He has been "playing" with the drooler today, but I don't think it's more than usual. I like the idea of a skinny .5 if that's what it comes to. I have the calipers, but they require some eyeballing to line up with the "0" line because my syringes don't have a ridge at the hub to hang it on. Thanks @Red & Rover (GA) .
 
I just wonder if LT might go down a little again from the 91. I had almost the same thing happen, back down to 72 from a previous 90, after already boosting the numbers from an almost low. If you have to leave real soon, maybe one more LC snack at nadir???
 
I just wonder if LT might go down a little again from the 91. I had almost the same thing happen, back down to 72 from a previous 90, after already boosting the numbers from an almost low. If you have to leave real soon, maybe one more LC snack at nadir???
I'll definitely test him before we leave. I'm pretty excited to see these numbers today. I guess he really doesn't show his true colors on a new dose until at least day 3.
 
I need to get more rest. Cat ate over 1/2 of dogs high carb meal. I'm thinking I won't feed LT his food tonight, but can I give him his insulin at 7:30? I'm such an idiot
 
If he ate high carb food he needs insulin to counter that. Don't beat yourself up about it. Stuff happens and cats are sneaky about food. :bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry I misunderstood what you were asking. I would not increase the dose since you just saw those greens today. You're not sure how much the dog's food will raise his BG. You should see what his number is at the time you want to give insulin before you decide to shoot early. It should be okay because we make those kind of changes for DST, but an early shot acts like an increase so you want to be safe.
 
If he's jumped up a lot by the time you get your pre-shot test, you should be fine. If he's flat you'll want to get a +2 test just to be safe. You should still be able to shoot 30 min. early.
 
Sorry I misunderstood what you were asking. I would not increase the dose since you just saw those greens today. You're not sure how much the dog's food will raise his BG. You should see what his number is at the time you want to give insulin before you decide to shoot early. It should be okay because we make those kind of changes for DST, but an early shot acts like an increase so you want to be safe.
Ok, I just gave him his regular dose of 0.25U. Because the dog's food is > 40% carbs and he ate a lot of it, about 50 grams at least, and he was going up and 162 at +10, I didn't check his BG again. I wanted to get the insulin in to him. I'll check @+1 hour.
 
Back
Top