8/30 Leo AMPS 325 +7.5 50 +7.75 62 +8.5 82 10.5 94 Shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Well, Leo bopped back up into the pinks, but may be in a little surf. Can't tell with only few numbers, but the nadirs aren't too out of line. Mommy's coming home tonight so we'll fill out the curves a little more.
 
Re: 8/30 Leo AMPS 325

Jane asked and I'm delivering! In the last Caterday Condo she posted a pic of His Majesty surveying is domain in front of the monitor. I said that Leo's sister Molly prefers to be BETWEEN me and the keyboard. And here she is, helping Mommy with her work!

2011-08-00%252520Yank%25252090_800_011%252520Molly%252520Mommy%252520computer-cr.jpg
 
Re: 8/30 Leo AMPS 325

:lol: I just ADORE that photo, Lisa! Thank for posting it :mrgreen:

Remember to link your previous condo in your new condo each day, ok? Here are the past few links:

Leo's 27th August Condo
Leo's 28th August Condo
Leo's 29th August Condo

I see you have a petsitter coming for a few days next week, and you mentioned it yesterday also. Have you had any luck with the vet techs, to see if someone will be able to test Leo? Would your petsitter be able at least to get pre-shots? Because you know how we feel about shooting blind... *Not* a good idea :shock:

Looking over your SS, I wonder whether the 2.0u is doing enough work for Leo at the moment - but we'd want to see a few days on a new dose if there is going to be an increase, so that your petsitter isn't caught off-guard. Of course meaning, they would need to test Leo... Are there any LL members in your area that may be able to help? You could put the word out on Health and/or Community, too, asking if someone can assist, if you'd be comfortable with that. Otherwise, what was your plan for those days when you (and DH, I take it) cannot be home to treat/test Leo?

It's unlikely IMHO that the skipped shot on the 25th would still be keeping Leo hanging out mostly in the pinks and reds, so I'm leaning towards trying an increase back to 2.25u. Let's see what the others think. Meanwhile, what do YOU reckon?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/30 Leo AMPS 325 +7 59

Hi Jane

Sorry - didn't realize I was supposed to post links to previous Condo's - I will do that from now on.

I just got home. Left work early due to an evacuation so I was able to get on the road early. Leo's BG at +7 is 59. *59*! I will retest shortly. DH did not come home from work to get the nadir, and thus does not know Leo's current state.

I'll call the vet now about techs. This is so frustrating.

Thanks about Molly - she is such a loving sweet girl!
 
Re: 8/30 Leo AMPS 325 +7 59 +7.5 50

What he heck? Was this just a long time to clear a bounce? Before +7, I still had planned on keeping Leo at 2 units for more than a week since we have a sitter coming and I didn't know about being able to test. And since we didn't have enough information before we increased the dose last time, I wanted to be safer than sorrier. Well, THIS sure made up my mind!

Summary
AMPS 325 3/4 can FF (no meatsicle - DH misunderstood and didn't give one)
+7 59 1tsp lc
+7.5 50 1 tsp hc
+7.75 62 1tsp mc
+8.5 82 1 tsp lc

I spoke with the vet again, and one of the vet techs is interested in trying it out. The timing may affect her commute to the vet's office, but she's coming over tomorrow night to get the initiation. We actually saw her at the vet's a couple weeks ago so I know who she is. She would come 3 times a day - the two preshoots and around the nadir in the afternoon (her lunchtime). That would make me feel a LOT better! His AM dose will have to be advanced probably 20 minutes so we'll have to advance the previous night so we have some more flexibility.

Does anyone know what I should pay her? It seems like it would be more than $10 each visit - that seems a little low. $15? Or perhaps $40 for the day? Thoughts?
 
Re: 8/30 Leo AMPS 325 +7 59 +7.5 50 +7.75 62 +8.5 82 ??

Wow, what a day for Leo. It's nice to see green. :mrgreen: Hope everything works out with the vet tech.
 
Re: 8/30 Leo AMPS 325 +7 59 +7.5 50 +7.75 62 +8.5 82 9.5 85?

Such great numbers today!!

I don't know now about with shots and extras, but I pay $10 a visit here for just having someone come over every day
and feed. ( my cats were already on canned food /combo dry)
So IF I could find anyone here now that we have diabetes, I know I'd be paying for 3x a day and our techs don't do this on the side so I would have to hire a professional bonded petsitter and maybe even teach them. :YMSIGH:
I'm sure these service people charge a lot. :shock:
I know the insurance to be bonded is very very high because I had looked into this before to just be a petsitter and I couldn't afford
the insurance. I would have had to have clients every day of the year practically.

I'm thinking of putting up my own little sign at the vets/shelter so I can offer just regular petsitting /shots to others in my community.
 
Re: 8/30 Leo AMPS 325 +7 59 +7.5 50 +7.75 62 +8.5 82 9.5 85?

Wow - $10 here (NJ) won't cut it. I pay $20 for a visit for food/litterbox/mail for 2 cats.

It stinks that you have to do so much to be a sitter. Everyone is sue-happy. If there is a community like this with people who know and understand, that's different than a stranger. But there aren't enough of us!
 
Re: 8/30 Leo AMPS 325 +7.5 50 +7.75 62 +8.5 82 10.5 94 Shoot

Hmmm, was it Sienne who said next time she'd yell SHOOT! ?

I'm about at the same point, but this time I will shoot. But I'd like advice before I do so. He may come up a little more, but probably not much. He didn't eat quite as much as he should have today. I read one some thread somewhere the notion of giving a little HC food at +10 if there was the concern about a hypo...should I give him a little HC, or just shoot and monitor like mad? He's not interested in a little LC. I suspect I should shoot and monitor like mad.

Poor Leo. Mommy comes home from being away for 3 days and starts poking the daylights out of his ears. Bad mommy!
 
Re: 8/30 Leo AMPS 325 +7.5 50 +7.75 62 +8.5 82 10.5 94 Shoot

Okay, his PMPS was 134, thankfully, so I shot. He ate half of his first dinner, so I'll test at +1, +2 and see how he goes.
 
Re: 8/30 Leo AMPS 325 +7.5 50 +7.75 62 +8.5 82 10.5 94 Shoot

woo-hoo!!!! Check out those numbers!!!! dancing_cat dancing_cat Keep up the great work!

~Deborah & Shasta
 
Re: 8/30 Leo AMPS 325 +7.5 50 +7.75 62 +8.5 82 10.5 94 Shoot

What a great day for Leo! Love the pic! They are such good helpers, especially if paper is invOlved. Great news on the vet tech. Have a wonderful night!
 
Re: 8/30 Leo AMPS 325 +7.5 50 +7.75 62 +8.5 82 10.5 94 Shoot

Good going! I just saw your question. You did great!!

FWIW, my petsitter, who's a vet tech, charges $25/visit for my 2 cats. Her rates are a little higher because she has to give Gabby a shot. She stops by x2/day. Gabby won't let anyone except me test her. My pet sitter shoots blind but I do lower Gabby's dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top