JoM
Member Since 2023
8/29 Karamelle AMPS 404 +4 432 +9 382 PMPS 382 +5 296 +9 300
Having terrible trouble with these syringes (UltiCare VetRX). Im thinking maybe I need to try some different ones. I used these before switching briefly to the ones that were donated. I like the shorter needle on these, but they are so inconsistent and get bubbles I cant get out. The syringe this morning, the plunger didnt even push all the way up to the top. I added a bit more insulin for make up for it, but I dont imagine Im getting the same doses every time and Im not sure if that was even the right dose. Plus its just hard with such a small dose. The caliper was useless. I had it calibrated for 0.25, but when I pushed the plunger to the setting, it just pushed all the insulin out. So Ive stopped using it for now. Plus, I dont know if shes still bouncing or if this dose is just too low. She was green just two days ago, so i dont think Im supposed to raise the dose yet. I guess, its a good thing shes higher and I dont have to test as much and can get extra sleep, although now, Im never sure if she will drop so Im still getting up for a couple tests during the night. Sometimes, I just wish it would even out and be normal for a while so i could think about something else.
On another note, I rescued a young opossum in my yard a couple nights ago. He was emaciated and severely dehydrated. I found a rehabber and drove him to her yesterday. She seemed to think he might be blind. Poor guy. I hope he does ok and they can find him a place to be.
Having terrible trouble with these syringes (UltiCare VetRX). Im thinking maybe I need to try some different ones. I used these before switching briefly to the ones that were donated. I like the shorter needle on these, but they are so inconsistent and get bubbles I cant get out. The syringe this morning, the plunger didnt even push all the way up to the top. I added a bit more insulin for make up for it, but I dont imagine Im getting the same doses every time and Im not sure if that was even the right dose. Plus its just hard with such a small dose. The caliper was useless. I had it calibrated for 0.25, but when I pushed the plunger to the setting, it just pushed all the insulin out. So Ive stopped using it for now. Plus, I dont know if shes still bouncing or if this dose is just too low. She was green just two days ago, so i dont think Im supposed to raise the dose yet. I guess, its a good thing shes higher and I dont have to test as much and can get extra sleep, although now, Im never sure if she will drop so Im still getting up for a couple tests during the night. Sometimes, I just wish it would even out and be normal for a while so i could think about something else.
On another note, I rescued a young opossum in my yard a couple nights ago. He was emaciated and severely dehydrated. I found a rehabber and drove him to her yesterday. She seemed to think he might be blind. Poor guy. I hope he does ok and they can find him a place to be.
Last edited: