8/30 Help Worried Trey's numbers falling AMPS 85 PMPS 117 & going down

Trey's Mom

Member Since 2019
08/30/2019 AMPS 85 .5 at +1 +1= 182 +2 = 128 +6 = 99 +10.5 = 92 & ate, ate
PMPS 117 0.25 +2 =83 , ate +3 =78, eating now
What should I do? When should I test again?
 
What have you fed Trey?
Because it is only early in the cycle, I would give Trey some higher carb food now, because he will probably drop more before nadir.
Do you have some higher carb food?
I would give a teaspoon of it now and test again 1/2 hour after your last test and post result.
 
What have you fed Trey?
Because it is only early in the cycle, I would give Trey some higher carb food now, because he will probably drop more before nadir.
Do you have some higher carb food?
I would give a teaspoon of it now and test again 1/2 hour after your last test and post result.
I have fancy feast gourmet naturals in gravy. Don't know if it is hi carb Bought it by mistake. Thought it was pate.
 
Do you have higher carb food to give Trey if he goes lower?
I know it's very frightening the first times they go into lower BG but his numbers right now are not dangerous. They are actually what we are all trying to get our kitties into. When they are dropping it's a good idea to keep testing every 20 mins till they start coming back up.
To keep him safe you need to test a few times during the night to make sure he doesn't go back down again.

The chicken is most likely low carb. Do you have high carb food in the house in case the BG goes too low. Fancy Feast has a food called "Gravy Lovers" 15% carbs,if kitty drops too low,we give a spoon of it & test again in 20 mins to see if it brings the BG up.
My Ravan has gone down into the 40's & a bit of High food brings him back up.

Please keep his Spreadsheet filled in . Anyone that comes on to help you will want to know his latest test.
 
Last edited:
I think the FF gourmet naturals in gravy is low carb...but I could be wrong.
Do you have any honey you could add to some normal low carb food. Just a drop to start with will do. Feed that..
Can you test again now please so we know where he is up to..thanks
 
Just tested & it's 80. I tried to fed him more gourmet natural with gravy & a bit of honey but he didn't want to eat
anymore.
Can I wait an hour & test again? If it goes lower can I give him dry food, assuming he will eat it or just some honey on his gums. I realize these numbers aren't super low but I'm nervous & really haven't gotten a handle on what his bg does .
 
Just tested & it's 80. I tried to fed him more gourmet natural with gravy & a bit of honey but he didn't want to eat
anymore.
Can I wait an hour & test again? If it goes lower can I give him dry food, assuming he will eat it or just some honey on his gums. I realize these numbers aren't super low but I'm nervous & really haven't gotten a handle on what his bg does .
Just checking that was +4 80. Is that correct?
I would retest in 30 minutes. When you are early in the cycle and the numbers are lower than normal it is a good idea to keep testing until the numbers start to go back up again. If you leave it an hour, it can drop quite a bit, whereas if you test in 30 minutes you can intervene with food or honey to stop it dropping further.

If you find a dropping numbers always test again to check it has not dropped further.

Because you have DKA in the picture, you want to keep him on insulin at the moment. He has dropped below 90 again today but because you took a reduction yesterday we don't recommend back to back reductions. But it might mean you might have to feed some higher carb food. So I would go out in the morning and buy some FF 'gravy lovers' cans.
We always recommend you have some higher carb food available at all times for low numbers.
It's good to see you are testing frequently for ketones.
 
Just checking that was +4 80. Is that correct?
I would retest in 30 minutes. When you are early in the cycle and the numbers are lower than normal it is a good idea to keep testing until the numbers start to go back up again. If you leave it an hour, it can drop quite a bit, whereas if you test in 30 minutes you can intervene with food or honey to stop it dropping further.

If you find a dropping numbers always test again to check it has not dropped further.

Because you have DKA in the picture, you want to keep him on insulin at the moment. He has dropped below 90 again today but because you took a reduction yesterday we don't recommend back to back reductions. But it might mean you might have to feed some higher carb food. So I would go out in the morning and buy some FF 'gravy lovers' cans.
We always recommend you have some higher carb food available at all times for low numbers.
It's good to see you are testing frequently for ketones.
Yes +4 = 80. The DKA was when he had pancreatitis.
So I don't have to look it up how much honey & I rub it on his gums? How low before I do the honey?
 
Yes +4 = 80. The DKA was when he had pancreatitis.
So I don't have to look it up how much honey & I rub it on his gums? How low before I do the honey?
Yes +4 = 80. The DKA was when he had pancreatitis.
So I don't have to look it up how much honey & I rub it on his gums? How low before I do the honey?
I'm not sure he will be hungry but can I give him dry food that my other cat eats if bg goes low?
 
I'm not sure he will be hungry but can I give him dry food that my other cat eats if bg goes low?

Because you are doing SLGS, you really want the number up over 90.
Is he normally a good eater?
We usually recommend higher carb wet food rather than dry because it is absorbed a bit quicker and it doesn't stay in the system As long as dry.
As you have no high carb wet food at the moment try him again with the wet mixed with a drop of honey.. if he won't eat that, than rub a drop on his gums and test again in 30 mins.
Honey only lasts about an hour so you would need to keep testing..
He should be due for another test in about 10 minutes I think
 
87 at +4.5

How long since he ate?
87 is going in the right direction! And he's quite safe.
Will he eat a bit more for you do you think? I know how hard it is sometimes to get IBD kitties to eat.
Can you test again in 30 mins?


I've just read Treys history. What a lucky kitty he is to have found you.
He certainly has his fair share of ailments, poor fellow.
If he has CRD I would not feed FF canned food as it is high in phosphorus.
You will need to find another high carb food.
Do you get Weruva there.?
The 'cats in the kitchen' pouches are higher in carbs and are lower in phosphorus..check out their website. They have all the values listed..
 
Actually his phosphorous isn't a problem at least so far.
He just ate a bit more. At some point I want to get him back on his homemade cooked chicken with e z complete diet. He's turned off to it right now.
 
Actually his phosphorous isn't a problem at least so far.
He just ate a bit more. At some point I want to get him back on his homemade cooked chicken with e z complete diet. He's turned off to it right now.
Even if his phosphorus is ok, I would not feed FF as it is high in phosphorus.. there is a good choice of other higher carb lower
Phosphorus foods available.
Have you tried other meats to add to the e z complete diet? I know IBD cats can be very picky eaters.

I'm glad he ate a bit more..well done both of you!!
 
Even if his phosphorus is ok, I would not feed FF as it is high in phosphorus.. there is a good choice of other higher carb lower
Phosphorus foods available.
Have you tried other meats to add to the e z complete diet? I know IBD cats can be very picky eaters.

I'm glad he ate a bit more..well done both of you!!
I will check out Weruva. He has been on homemade for almost 2 years. Tried pork but he wasn't all that interested. Haven't tried beef yet. He turned off homemade when he got pancreatitis. I will be testing him again shortly. I see you are in Australia. I was afraid I was keeping someone up late at night. I need to sleep but doubt I will. worrying. Trey has given me more grey hair over the last 2 years from worry. Of course my husband is sound asleep.
 
I will check out Weruva. He has been on homemade for almost 2 years. Tried pork but he wasn't all that interested. Haven't tried beef yet. He turned off homemade when he got pancreatitis. I will be testing him again shortly. I see you are in Australia. I was afraid I was keeping someone up late at night. I need to sleep but doubt I will. worrying. Trey has given me more grey hair over the last 2 years from worry. Of course my husband is sound asleep.
Not keeping me awake. It's only 3 pm here.
Haha you husband sound asleep! I get that!
When Sheba had pancreatitis, she often went off her home made food. But she would mostly eat canned for a few days then go back to the homemade.
I feed my current cats a raw diet of a variety of meats. Other meats you could try are lamb, beef, kangaroo, chicken heart (not more than 7 a day though) rabbit, turkey, chicken giblets....I think you call them gizzards.
 
I will check out Weruva. He has been on homemade for almost 2 years. Tried pork but he wasn't all that interested. Haven't tried beef yet. He turned off homemade when he got pancreatitis. I will be testing him again shortly. I see you are in Australia. I was afraid I was keeping someone up late at night. I need to sleep but doubt I will. worrying. Trey has given me more grey hair over the last 2 years from worry. Of course my husband is sound asleep.
86 at +5
 
I'll set the alarm & test at + 6. Because I have no numbers on previous days for after +4 in the evening I don't know how low it will go. I'll keep testing periodically during the night. If it starts going low I will put honey on his gums.
Tomorrow shopping for hi carb food & more test strips & spare battery for meter.
 
what are the chances of Trey's bg going lower than 50 during the night? Can I check bg in an hour?
Yes check in an hour.
Every cat is different (ECID) so it's impossible to say what Trey will do until you get lots of data and get to know his ways.. But he's at +5 now and you are testing plenty to keep him safe.
He's doing amazingly well for a newly diagnosed and down to 0.25 unit already!
 
Yes check in an hour.
Every cat is different (ECID) so it's impossible to say what Trey will do until you get lots of data and get to know his ways.. But he's at +5 now and you are testing plenty to keep him safe.
He's doing amazingly well for a newly diagnosed and down to 0.25 unit already!
That’s the scary part. His numbers have improved for the most part in a very short time. I attribute it to weaning him off prednisolone that he’s been on for 2 years.
 
That’s the scary part. His numbers have improved for the most part in a very short time. I attribute it to weaning him off prednisolone that he’s been on for 2 years.
Has his IBD been OK since you have weaned him of prednisolone?
He's such a sweet looking fellow..
He looks like he's heading in the direction of a remission. But only time will tell and if he is, you will need to take it slowly so the remission is strong.
 
Has his IBD been OK since you have weaned him of prednisolone?
He's such a sweet looking fellow..
He looks like he's heading in the direction of a remission. But only time will tell and if he is, you will need to take it slowly so the remission is strong.
So far so good. But he is still on budesonide & once a week he gets chlorambucil.
 
I can't thank you enough for keeping me sane thru this. :bighug:
Now I will try to sleep. I'm going bicycling in 5 hours.
 
Back
Top