8/30. Elmo +11 340. AMPS 519 +2 544. +9 385 PMPS . + 338. + 2 234. + 4. 247

Beth 73

Member Since 2016
Good Morning :bighug: Stormy here . Sending love , hugs and prayers to all in need . Increasing to 1.5 today
 
Last edited:
Hi Beth! Which protocol are you following? You may want to start thinking about an increase. Elmo looks like he needs a little more juice to get him into some lower numbers - especially with a history of DKA.

Hope you have a wonderful day and those storms move out soon :)
 
Per advice , we will be increasing to 1.25 this AM ... will be following SLGS as we watch what is best for Elmo. He continues to fight mouth infection and is on ABs. How much food does he need to get his shot ? Due to sore gums I am assist feeding to supplement his own eating . 2 t enough ? @carfurby Ketones negative.
 
Last edited:
I think with his numbers as high as they are, as long as you get some food in him he'll be okay if you give insulin. You should add SLGS to your signature line or people will keep asking what you are following.
 
I think with his numbers as high as they are, as long as you get some food in him he'll be okay if you give insulin. You should add SLGS to your signature line or people will keep asking what you are following.
Will do , Carla :bighug: Happy Friday/Weekend to you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Great for the increase! Hope Elmo's mouth infection clears up soon !

If you feel like "linking" your previous condo to the current one every day, let me know and I'll show you how!

Have a beautiful Friday, Beth and you too Elmo ! :bighug:
 
Best of luck with Elmo's increase Beth, poor little guy, I hope the AB's clear his infection soon. :bighug:
Hope you both have a great day!
 
QUESTION : when should I be taking BGs today ?? Leave him be ? Dislike waking him up to stuck his ears if not necessary :bighug: Cos we all know sleep is life giving :)
 
Last edited:
I think you can both take a break from testing today. Maybe one around +9 to fill in bare spot on his SS?

Forgive me if I missed info along the way, but is Elmo getting any meds for pain? If that is what is driving these high numbers and pain definitely will do it, I'd talk to your vet about a pain med to help get him eating on his own more and keep him comfortable.
 
I think you can both take a break from testing today. Maybe one around +9 to fill in bare spot on his SS?

Forgive me if I missed info along the way, but is Elmo getting any meds for pain? If that is what is driving these high numbers and pain definitely will do it, I'd talk to your vet about a pain med to help get him eating on his own more and keep him comfortable.
Linda, what is your preference for kitty pain ?
 
I have used Codeine and Bupenorphine. The codeine was a transdermal I applied to ear flap and I personally found it didn't seem to knock Menace out as much as the Bupe. The Bupe I had was oral liquid applied in the cheek pouch. I think some folks have used Gabapentin too. I've only used them short term post dentals. Someone with more long term usage might be able to direct you better than I can. I'd add a "? Pain meds" on your title to get more input on this question.
 
I have used Codeine and Bupenorphine. The codeine was a transdermal I applied to ear flap and I personally found it didn't seem to knock Menace out as much as the Bupe. The Bupe I had was oral liquid applied in the cheek pouch. I think some folks have used Gabapentin too. I've only used them short term post dentals. Someone with more long term usage might be able to direct you better than I can. I'd add a "? Pain meds" on your title to get more input on this question.
Have contacted vet ...hope to get response before weekend .
 
I had to be a dosing method nag, but with some blues in there on 1.0 units, you should have only increased by 0.25 units.

Get a preshot and either a +2 or +3. If you see a drop at +2, then another test later.
 
I had to be a dosing method nag, but with some blues in there on 1.0 units, you should have only increased by 0.25 units.

Get a preshot and either a +2 or +3. If you see a drop at +2, then another test later.
Oh not nagging at all . :) I mistyped ...it is increase by .25 ...thot I had corrected . I appreciate all your knowledge and input , Wendy :bighug: Thanks for keeping an eye on us !!!
 
Since Elmo is coming down from such high numbers this morning you may want to get a +2 test tonight to see if he's going to keep going down. If it is about 100 points lower or more, you'll want to get some extra tests in tonight to keep an eye on him.
 
Since Elmo is coming down from such high numbers this morning you may want to get a +2 test tonight to see if he's going to keep going down. If it is about 100 points lower or more, you'll want to get some extra tests in tonight to keep an eye on him.
Carla , you are our guardian angel :bighug: When do u start intervening with a little food ? I will get a + 2 for sure snd probably a +4 as that's bedtime usually . I'd have never imagined being in remission for 2 years would leave me so close to clueless . Grateful for all the help ❤️
 
If he's dropped about 100 points, you may want to feed him a little LC to slow him down. He's in such high numbers right now, it's not as critical as it would be in lower numbers, but you still don't want him to zoom down from the bounce clearing. You can also feed a little LC at +4 if you need to in order to keep him surfing. I'm getting ready to get some sleep. Just keep your subject line updated if you need any help. Don't forget you can add the ? icon to your subject line when you have questions. You're doing a good job learning about Lantus and taking care of Elmo.
 
Back
Top