8/30 Bobby AMPS 109 +2.50 90 + 5.25 74 +8 95 PMPS 91 +2 111

Status
Not open for further replies.

jucova30

Member Since 2014
Hi y'all,

We haven't been testing too much during week days, with ours schedules is almost impossible. I am hoping that this long weekend I will be able to have an idea what's going on with Bobby's BG.

This is our last condo from last week
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124056&p=1286796#p1286796

Our # for today are:
AMPS 109
+2.50 90
+5.25 74

Good Day! :-D
 
Re: 8/30 Bobby AMPS 109 +2.50 90 + 5.25 74

Wow Bobby is looking good Judy! :-D You mentioned in your last condo his ear looks sore and painful? Are you using Neosporin with Pain Relief? I use a cotton ball to staunch Tiger's ear after poking it, to stop the bleeding; then I use a bit of Neosporin afterward.

Have you seen this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zE12-4fVn8
 
Re: 8/30 Bobby AMPS 109 +2.50 90 + 5.25 74

if a cat needs less insulin than they are getting, the insulin itself can actually cause bouncing. I'm just wondering if that might be what's going on with Bobby. If you can't get tests during the workday, getting at least 2 in the evening can tell a lot of what's going on.

If you are able to monitor, have test strips and high carbs, you could have shot that 101 on pmbg 8/28. i know it seems weird to shoot a normal number, but that is the path to going off of insulin and becoming diet controlled. you can't do it and not monitor, but . . . it's amazing what can happen if you shoot lower numbers. Here on TR, as long as people are testing and able to monitor, experienced people will shoot most everything over 50. Next time you get a low preshot, consider if you can shoot it. The "Shooting and Handling Low Numbers" yellow starred sticky has a good section on what to do if you get a normal-number preshot, and a good section on becoming data ready. Here is a post i recently wrote to Darin/Charlie about shooting normal numbers.
 
Re: 8/30 Bobby AMPS 109 +2.50 90 + 5.25 74

Tiger and Ruth said:
Wow Bobby is looking good Judy! :-D You mentioned in your last condo his ear looks sore and painful? Are you using Neosporin with Pain Relief? I use a cotton ball to staunch Tiger's ear after poking it, to stop the bleeding; then I use a bit of Neosporin afterward.

Have you seen this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zE12-4fVn8
Thanks, Ruth!
Yes I had watch this video over and over, I wish my Bobby was so easy going like this cat, Bobby will get so agitated and mad. This week his ear looks much better than last week, and he is not biting me,

Hope Tiger gets better!

Judy @ Bobby
 
Re: 8/30 Bobby AMPS 109 +2.50 90 + 5.25 74

julie & punkin (ga) said:
if a cat needs less insulin than they are getting, the insulin itself can actually cause bouncing. I'm just wondering if that might be what's going on with Bobby. If you can't get tests during the workday, getting at least 2 in the evening can tell a lot of what's going on.

If you are able to monitor, have test strips and high carbs, you could have shot that 101 on pmbg 8/28. i know it seems weird to shoot a normal number, but that is the path to going off of insulin and becoming diet controlled. you can't do it and not monitor, but . . . it's amazing what can happen if you shoot lower numbers. Here on TR, as long as people are testing and able to monitor, experienced people will shoot most everything over 50. Next time you get a low preshot, consider if you can shoot it. The "Shooting and Handling Low Numbers" yellow starred sticky has a good section on what to do if you get a normal-number preshot, and a good section on becoming data ready. Here is a post i recently wrote to Darin/Charlie about shooting normal numbers.
Wow Julie ! I will never figure out too much insulin will cause bouncing. For the 8/28 the plan was to shoot at +1 I was holding for an hour, but I fell sleep and DH didn't want to wake me up, I was so exhausted that night and I ended up waking up at might night with a hungry kitty.
This weekend I am armed (I have HC food, enough strips) I want to find up what's going on with Bobby's BG, and of course with the help of you here in this forum. Any, any advice is very well welcome!
 
Re: 8/30 Bobby AMPS 109 +2.50 90 + 5.25 74 +8 95 11.75 91

Almost time for next shot + 11.75 = 91
number is lower than + 8
What to do next? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 8/30 Bobby AMPS 109 +2.50 90 + 5.25 74 +8 95 11.75 91

Hello again. Some Lantus and Levemir kitties will get a double dip, where their PS or end of cycle does a second dip down, but not as low as the nadir. Bobby's nadir was around 74, so this looks like just a double dip. You should be good to shoot if you are home to monitor, have plenty of HC and strips. If you do shoot, I'd get a +1 and a +2 to see what the cycles going to look like.

Go Bobby! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/30 Bobby AMPS 109 +2.50 90 + 5.25 74 +8 95 11.75 91

lantus often has a "double-dip" at the end of a normal cycle. as long as it's over the nadir (74) it's fine to shoot the regular dose on time. provided you'll be home to monitor and have supplies.

anytime you've got a preshot lower than you've shot before, always get a +1 AND +2 so if he heads down you are there to catch him. I suspect he'll just go flat, but we can't assume.

if he were mine, that's what i'd do.
 
Re: 8/30 Bobby AMPS 109 +2.50 90 + 5.25 74 +8 95 11.75 91

heehee i love it when Wendy and I post at the same time and say the same thing! :lol: it seems to happen a lot! :-D
 
Re: 8/30 Bobby AMPS 109 +2.50 90 + 5.25 74 +8 95 11.75 91

julie & punkin (ga) said:
lantus often has a "double-dip" at the end of a normal cycle. as long as it's over the nadir (74) it's fine to shoot the regular dose on time. provided you'll be home to monitor and have supplies.

anytime you've got a preshot lower than you've shot before, always get a +1 AND +2 so if he heads down you are there to catch him. I suspect he'll just go flat, but we can't assume.

if he were mine, that's what i'd do.
Ok we will do, this is our first shot in 2 digits # and I will be home to monitor him,
Thanks
 
Re: 8/30 Bobby AMPS 109 +2.50 90 + 5.25 74 +8 95 11.75 91

julie & punkin (ga) said:
hoping to see a +1 . . . how's it going?
I wasn't able to get a +1.... Bobby gave me a big of a fight, I let it go, and let him relax (for now), but I am getting that +2 no matter what, which will be in 30'
Thanks Julie, your help means a lot!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top