8/30/20 Dolly AMPS 84

Our Dolly Girl (GA)

Member Since 2019
Today is day 6 of Dolly being back on insulin after 7 month remission. Her Pre shot this morning was 84 on my ReliOn. She has been in the 200’s most of the time. With little sleep for days I couldn’t remember what to do. I gave her food but she ate very little. No insulin. Checked her again @ +1.5, she was at 144. What should I have done? I never shot numbers below 150 (Used a pet meter back then) her first time with Diabetes. Her appetite is poor, do I give her Mirtazapine, last dose 8/24. She goes for bloodwork tomorrow morning. She has terrible sinus issues which affects her willingness to eat. She is on Cerenia for her congestion but hasn’t been on it long enough for any positive results. Need advice going forward. I will check her numbers throughout the day. Thanks for any help.
 
Last edited:
Good morning. Next time you need to stall, DON’T feed, and recheck in 20 minutes. You want to see the bg going up on its own. I can’t see your ss. I need to see it to give input.
 
Next time, until you have more practice with lower numbers, do not feed when you see that lower number, stall for 15-20 minutes, then retest again to see if she's going up. There is also a sticky note on shooting lower numbers to guide you.

Have you decided which dosing method you'd like to follow? That decision will also impact your approach to lower numbers.
 
Dolly, could you update your title and remove the 'help'? It looks like you're doing ok now...

Just look to the right hand side of your title - and you'll see a link that says 'Edit'...click there and edit ...

:)
 
Back
Top