8/3 Sammy PMPS+9=46 +9.5=53 skipping AM dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

TokyoKitty

Member Since 2013
8/2 condo

Good morning everyone ~O) ~O) ~O)

Sammy surprised me this morning with a 46 at PMPS+9 :o Gave 1 tsp HC, and she's coming back up. (good thing I decided to get up early again instead of sleeping in - but I'm getting sleep deprived!)

This is her 5th cycle on the reduced dose of 0.10. The protocol calls for a reduction if BG < 50. So, what should I do? Reduce to a smaller drop, or stop completely?

8/2 recap:
PMPS 72
+1 87
+2 76
+9 46 fed 1tsp HC & gravy
+9.5 53 fed 1tsp LC
+10 66
 
Re: 8/3 Sammy PMPS+9=46 +9.5=53 dose decrease? please advise

You might be ready for a trial without insulin.

Go, Sammy!
 
Re: 8/3 Sammy PMPS+9=46 +9.5=53 dose decrease? please advise

Yup, Sammy seems determined! She's always been such a stubborn girl :-D

Well, it will be +12 soon, so I need to make a decision. Really wanted to keep her on this dose for at least 6 cycles. But maybe I should just trust in Sammy and skip the dose?
 
Re: 8/3 Sammy PMPS+9=46 +9.5=53 dose decrease? please advise

Go with your gut. The worst that can happen is you'll have to shoot in 12 hours.
 
Re: 8/3 Sammy PMPS+9=46 +9.5=53 dose decrease? please advise

Ok, we'll go with the gut! Skipping the AM shot. Paws crossed!
 
Re: 8/3 Sammy PMPS+9=46 +9.5=53 dose decrease? please advise

That food change to the EVO has made such a difference with Sammy. She's trying hard to tell you she is ready for the next step.
 
OK Sammy, mum's listening! We'll give it a try with no shot.

Yes, the LC food is amazing. I will never ever feed HC again. I'm also looking to transition my Mom's cat and our outdoor feral cat to LC, just as a preventive measure.
 
Congratulations Susan!! Looks like Sammy is ready for an OTJ Trial! Here are the instructions:

  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

  • If she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If she is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then her pancreas is working!

  • If all goes well, after 14 days, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give her the support she needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!! We are all rooting for you two.

PS....I think this solves that syringe issue :-D :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top