Roxy & Deb
Member Since 2021
previous: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-2-roxy-amps-274-5-112-pmps-103.250740/#post-2828828
Lowest AMPS reading in a week
Lowest AMPS reading in a week
Congrats on another reduction!2.7 +3 after PMPS this evening. Gave her regular pate snack plus a little gravy from a FF GL can. Will retest shortly
Dosing with pens is not as accurate as syringes. Even if you did use them for 1U (which we do not recommend), you would have to go back to syringes should Roxy earn a reduction below 1U.Does this mean we can go back to the pen and quit the syringes?
Not true. From the Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info:Dosing with pens is not as accurate as syringes.,
However, should Roxy's dose change again, you would have to go back to using syringes, so best order some more.Using the pen needles with pens is known to be more accurate than syringes at small doses (less than 5 units). See "Dosing accuracy of insulin pens versus conventional syringes and vials and Accuracy of pen injectors versus insulin syringes in children with Type 1 diabetes".
Hmmm... thanks for pointing this out, Wendy. When I switched Bandit from Lantus to Levemir at 1U, I used the pen to save syringes (since I get then shipped from the US). I was told it wasn't as accurate as pens.Not true. From the Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info:
Looks like you can as long as Roxy is on 1U.Mmm so mixed messages here.. should use the pen tomorrow then or not? It is so quick and easy and never bothered Roxy so I’d prefer to go back to those whilst she’s on one unit? I have needles for it anyway that I may as well use.. ? I have just ordered more needles. I have about 26 left anyway.
Why not just use it?I had already measured out a dose for tomorrow but I will dispose of that syringe.
Ideally you want to test 2 hours after the high carb meal - to ensure that she stays up after the crabs have worn off.She's on 3.5 and has had some more gravy. I have put a pate snack in her bowl that she will hopefully find when she's next hungry.

It is not recommended that you preload syringes. From that safe Sticky Note: Pre-filling Syringes with Lantus (see page 3) is NOT recommended.I had already measured out a dose for tomorrow but I will dispose of that syringe.