? 8/3 Roxy AMPS 112, + 2 121, PMPS 112, +3 49!!

Wow this has been so quick! It's only just over a month since we started the syringes!
Does this mean we can go back to the pen and quit the syringes?
 
Does this mean we can go back to the pen and quit the syringes?
Dosing with pens is not as accurate as syringes. Even if you did use them for 1U (which we do not recommend), you would have to go back to syringes should Roxy earn a reduction below 1U.
 
Dosing with pens is not as accurate as syringes.,
Not true. From the Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info:
Using the pen needles with pens is known to be more accurate than syringes at small doses (less than 5 units). See "Dosing accuracy of insulin pens versus conventional syringes and vials and Accuracy of pen injectors versus insulin syringes in children with Type 1 diabetes".
However, should Roxy's dose change again, you would have to go back to using syringes, so best order some more.

And there are more down sides to using pen needles. Again from the Sticky Note:
  • When dosing cats, there can be more negatives to using pen needles with an insulin pen than positives:
    • Inability to administer doses in increments of 0.25 - 0.50 units with pens.
    • Forgetting to "prime" the pen prior to each use will result in a smaller dose than intended. Priming the pen involves wasting 2 units of insulin for every shot.
    • One must keep the pen needle in for 5 - 10 seconds after the shot or you'll run the risk of not administering a full dose (can be tough with some cats).
    • Manufacturers do not recommend refrigerating an in-use pen. Therefore, shelf life may be shortened to 28 days (Lantus & Basaglar) and 42 days (Levemir).
    • Some FDMB members have reported shots administered from insulin pens are more uncomfortable than from a syringe (?)
 
Mmm so mixed messages here.. should use the pen tomorrow then or not? It is so quick and easy and never bothered Roxy so I’d prefer to go back to those whilst she’s on one unit? I have needles for it anyway that I may as well use.. ? I have just ordered more needles. I have about 26 left anyway.
 
Not true. From the Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info:
Hmmm... thanks for pointing this out, Wendy. When I switched Bandit from Lantus to Levemir at 1U, I used the pen to save syringes (since I get then shipped from the US). I was told it wasn't as accurate as pens.

Mmm so mixed messages here.. should use the pen tomorrow then or not? It is so quick and easy and never bothered Roxy so I’d prefer to go back to those whilst she’s on one unit? I have needles for it anyway that I may as well use.. ? I have just ordered more needles. I have about 26 left anyway.
Looks like you can as long as Roxy is on 1U.
 
OK I will use the pen in morning then. I had already measured out a dose for tomorrow but I will dispose of that syringe. Do you think I need to test again? She's on 3.5 and has had some more gravy. I have put a pate snack in her bowl that she will hopefully find when she's next hungry.
 
It's a 1.25 dose. I guess I could squeeze out the extra.
It wasn't really a meal, just a little snack of gravy along with the pate. That's why I have left her with another 37g pate snack (plus she ate one about an hour or so ago).
 
Congrats on the reduction.

As for pens vs syringes I suppose if on the whole unit it doesn’t matter but otherwise you can’t measure using a pen. That’s how I interpret the sticky anyhow. I actually used digital calipers and syringes. I pretty much ignored the crazy lines on the syringes which could be off by 1/4 a unit.
 
Thanks Wendy. I’ve read all the reasons above for not using the pen and none really apply to us:

1. Only using it for 1 unit
2. Don’t mind wasting 2 units per shot, we have plenty (and has an expiry date to keep in mind anyway), and it’s not expensive.
3. Yes we always kept the pen in for at least 10 seconds after clicking the button, not a problem with Roxy.
4 yep not a problem to keep it unrefridgerated, given the wasting if 2 units a day and the shelf life anyway.
5. Roxy never seems to notice the objection whatsoever!

so will use it whilst she’s on 1 unit which by the way she’s going might not be very long anyway.

thanks for your help and advice, greatly appreciated.
 
Back
Top