8/3 Pumbaa AMPS/128 +2/164 +4/98 +5/74 +6/84

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Pumbaa went from flat pink all yesterday morning to some nice blues last night....to surfing the greens today! Yeehaw!!!!!

I'm relieved that the pen wasn't the problem. I'm relieved that he hadn't stalled out on this dose.

You should have seen him zipping and zooming around the house this morning! He was like a kitten again!

Tonight should be interesting if he doesn't bounce.

What a difference a day makes! flip_cat



Addendum @ PM +2:

Pumbaa had two blue PS numbers today. Awesome! The only other time this happened was on 6/2/12, and he was also at a 2.25U dose.

Looking back at his SS, the last time he was at a 2.25U dose, I think I held him at that dose too long. He hit a 48 on 6/4/12, but I didn't reduce his dose because I wasn't sure if the 48 was because he had snarfed-and-barfed that morning or because he really earned the reduction. I kept him at 2.25U for 21 cycles, and he was already stalling out when I finally decreased his dose on 6/9/12. And I decreased by the full .25U, when I should have just shaved it down to a fat 2.00U (or a skinny 2.25U which, to me, is the same thing).

I did take him back up to a fat 2.00U on 6/14, and he dropped down to 38 that cycle after I gave a BCS of 1.50U (I now totally understand that giving a BCS doesn't affect the current cycle, and did nothing to prevent him from dropping down to 38). Because of that 38 reading, I gave him another dose reduction, from a fat 2.00U to a fat 1.75U, when I should have just shaved the dose and dropped him to a plain old 2.00U. The reason? We were still fighting long, drawn out bounces and weekly dives.

Nonetheless, when I dropped him to 1.50U on 6/29, to break the Somogyi Rebound or whatever you want to call the pattern he was exhibiting, it did shock his body into reacting differently. The same results might have occurred had I just bumped him back up to 2.25U on 6/29, but I'll never know for sure.

The good news is that he is diving less, he isn't diving on Friday nights only (that was the strangest thing), and his bounces are clearing quicker and not going as high.

So...looking at Pumbaa's numbers today, and comparing to his numbers last time he was at 2.25U, and referencing Roomp/Rand, TRP and SLGS, I'm going to hold out for the 5 to 7 days before any increase, and if I do increase, it will only be to a fat 2.25U (which = a skinny 2.50U).

If I could have my wish, I would have Pumbaa repeat this morning's cycle a few times, not bounce, and then have a gentle glide down to a 49 reading so he would earn a dose decrease. :) Oh yeah, and I would also win the big lottery. (As long as I'm wishing!)
 
Awww, that's great! He is doing better, and you are getting more sleep?

Zipping and zooming . . . I miss those days. They don't do that at 16 no matter how good they feel. The most I get out of Max is for him to play with something with his paw, and maybe bite it, rarely. He will catch a baby squirrel or some other animal who missed class the day they discussed the predator/prey dichotomy. A new object in the house that is really unusual might get a stare, then a cautious touch with a paw followed by a huge jump back, and then an unimpressed look followed by him lying down right next to it for a nap. Bug? Boring! Bird in the house? Been there, done that. Now, a dog on the property? That gets a rise out of him. He'll chase it if it's nervous enough or hide if it seems confident.
 
Dale, Max is too busy dealing with going OTJ and causing you lots of lost sleep for him to enjoy birdies, etc. *LOL*

I'm still catching naps on the couch because I don't trust Pumbaa to not dive, like he's done so often in the past. Even though he has evened out in his numbers.

How about you? Are you getting any sleep now that Max is fast-tracking to going OTJ? I read that Emma has given up on solid food because she can sense your stress levels dealing with Max. I feel for you and all that you are handling. But you are doing great!!!!!! (((HUGS)))

Suze
 
Yeah, this is tough, but if I can get him OTJ, it will make life so much easier for both me and him! (and all of us.) If I could stop pricking his ears everyday, he would be a lot happier, and whether he knows it or not, he would feel better if his BG were normal. I'm sure he feels a little crummy right now with these low BGs. I do when I haven't eaten in too long, and when I test myself, I'm not even very low.

Tonight, Emma won't sleep. She keeps waking up and crying. Poor thing.

Pumbaa's SS looks better. He apparently feels a lot better. I'm very happy for you. You are so devoted. He's a lucky guy.
 
Dale,

Poor Emma is probably feeling the stress you've been under lately with Max on the race for reductions. (((HUGS))) Caring for a 15-month-old baby is a full time job in itself, especially during teething time. So I can only imagine that you're feeling a bit frazzled right now.

Thank you, Pumbaa is having the most beautiful day of numbers, and in return, he's acting like he's a kitten again! (Meaning, he's getting into lots of trouble. Hahahaha!) But I wouldn't trade this for the world. Even if I do have to chase him all over the house so I can test him. :) I just pray that he doesn't bounce big time tomorrow.

And here I sit, typing away at the computer at 2 am, since his test 1/2 hour ago was a 78, and I need to stay awake to make sure his numbers don't go too low. Now I think you're lucky since Emma crying and fussing would be guaranteed to keep me awake! Hahahaha!

I'll go check your thread and SS and see how Max is doing tonight!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top