8/3 Onyx - AMPS 424, +3 409, +6 349 (GET AGGRESSIVE??)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Onyx & Klepto

Member Since 2013
Hi LL!

Well, we're half way through the 3rd cycle of 1.25U, and still no real change since .5. I'm getting quite concerned that I may have a resistant kitty on my hands. Sienne suggested lastnight that we might need to get more aggressive with her dosing, and I am definitely open to that. She's eating better today, but is still quite lethargic. Other than that, I don't really think she's exhibiting any signs of an infection that might interfere. At least, nothing noticable anyway.

Please take a look at her SS and give any dosing suggestions you might have. We're getting desperate over here.

Thanks, everyone. I apprecaiate the help.

And a special thanks to Amy, Sienne and Deb for all the hugs and support lastnight. Your kindness made me feel so much better!

:smile:
 
Still too many reds and pinks for comfort.

How do you feel about increasing by 0.5U? Onyx's nadir is >300 so she falls into the last category of the protocol that I quoted below. The bold is mine.

Increasing the dose:
•Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
•After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
•After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Hi Deb.

I'm definitely willing to do that. I have plenty of supplies, so I'm prepared to stay on alert if need be. So you think I should start her on .5 more units tonight, instead of waiting until the end of 6 cycles?
 
Yes, I do think you should increase to 1.75U tonight. That would be an increase of 0.5U from the current dose. It's a break from protocol, but we need to push Onyx's numbers down farther and those higher pinks and reds are not good for her.

Before you do that, I'd like to see more people weigh in on this. Your alternative would be to wait until tomorrow morning.

You said you have plenty of strips on hand, HC (high carb) food, willing to test a lot if necessary.

You also mentioned she had trace ketones back on 7/30, so yes, I would recommend increasing the dose.

I don't know that Onyx is insulin resistance. I'd say it's a combination of the higher carb dry food and we haven't found her right dose yet. I'm thinking her good dose may be at the 1.75 or a bit higher.

Would you note on your SS how much of the food you are feeding her? And what food it is would be good to note on the SS too.
 
Okay, Deb...I added the food type/amount on the current line on her SS.

Yes, I'm nervous about the keytones too. She's still drinking quite a bit, so hopefully that is helping to keep them at bay.

I still have 5 hours until her PM shot, so we'll see if anyone else weighs in.

Thanks, Deb. :YMHUG:
 
I don't have enough experience with fast-tracking dosing to weigh in on when or how much to increase, but I just wanted to say I'm glad to see you post and hope things are looking a bit brighter today.

Also, 1.25 units is still a pretty low dose, especially since Onyx is still eating dry food, so I wouldn't worry about resistance yet. One unit is the starting dose even when cats are eating all low-carb wet, and then you work up from there until you find the right dose. Hang in there!
 
Here is the link to Onyx's 8/2 condo. As a housekeeping note, the link to your previous condo helps us go back and see what has been discussed previously for Onyx.

Any fast tracking of doses should hold at least 4 cycles at a given dose. I agree that a .5 unit increase could be warranted. I too wouldn't worry about resistance quite yet as you are feeding dry food. If you want to see how dry food can influence a dose and a change to wet can make a difference, take a look at Bob's SS. He switched food on July 20th. Dara is still trying to find the correct dose for wet food.

Paws crossed for some prettier colors soon!
 
Thanks Wendy and Amy.

So I'm guessing that since Onyx is being so darn stubborn with the wet food, we'll most likely have to go backwards in dosing once she finally cooperates. Let me make a prediction: we'll FINALLY find her "happy-dose", then shortly there after she'll start eating the wet and we'll have to start all over again. I can't wait...lol. My gut is telling me she's being so uncooperative simply because she feels so lousy. Maybe the smell of the food makes her nauseous? No joke, when I put the wet out, she won't even go near the area. She takes a whiff and from about 5 feet away and takes off. Hmmmmm. Does anyone by chance know of a wet food that might not be so pungent? There probably isn't one, but it's worth a shot if there is. :smile:

Thanks for sharing Bob's link. It paints a great picture and gives me hope.

So if I'm following Wendy's dosing recommendation properly, I should be waiting to fast-track Onyx's dose increase until tomorrow morning, since tonight will be 4 cycles, correct?

Thanks so much, Ladies! Have a great night.

:YMHUG:
 
Yes, the 4th cycle would be this PM cycle so tomorrow AM would be the increase for this fast tracking of the dose.

Any chance of getting a recent ketone test?
 
I've actually been waiting all day for her to visit the box. She should be going again around shot time. I missed her this morning because when she went on the plastic, Klepto went nuts covering the entire thing right away, so I couldn't get a drop! Grrrr
I don't have many blood test strips left, and was trying to save them, but if I can't get a urine test, I'll do the Nova Max one. Those strips are RIDICULOUSLY expensive. But I'll do one or the other tonight.

:smile:
 
Just wanted to let the ladies who have been helping me know that Onyx's blood ketone was actually the best it's been so far, 0.4 (normal), even though her PMPS is back up to 442.

I'll check in tomorrow after her AMPS with any updates, or changes to her numbers, before I start the .5 bump.

Thanks again for your help, ladies.

Have a good night.

:smile:
 
Raw food is far less aromatic than any canned. I tried the Weruva chicken and that seemed to be less smelly. The alternative dry is Young Again. It's supposedly zero carb.
 
Hi Sienne.
Thanks for the recommendation. I'm online now looking at Weruva. Wow, there a so many different styles; not 100% sure which one to get. I'm also reading about Tiki Cat. Have you ever tried that one?

And I did almost get the Young Again, but it was really expensive, so I opted for the Wellness Core (11%). I have about $50 worth to go through. But my other cat likes it too, so it won't go to waste. Maybe I'll see if I can find the YA somewhere else. I don't remember where I looked originally, but I was shocked at the price. I just left my job last month, so it's starting to get really expensive. But I'm so glad I'm off so I can be here for Onyx. I live alone, so I don't know how I would have taken care of her otherwise. Once I have her regulated, I'll go back to work, but in the meantime, I just hope I can come up with something she'll eat. I might try poaching some chicken later.

Thanks, Sienne.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top