8/3 - Ollie AMPS 241 PMPS 94 +2 74 *Confused*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Klaree and Ollie

Member Since 2010
Morning....

Well, after surfing all day and night in green and keeping me up until 2 AM, Ollie has decided to put his brightest yellow tux on this morning. :YMSIGH:

Yesterday: Day 1 of 3rd redux.
AMPS - 61
Shot 1.5 (+50 min b/c the night before an alien took over my body and made me forget give him his shot until +50 min)
+1 78
+2 77
+3 65
+5 40
+6 77
+8 89
+ 10 67
+11 66
PMPS - 80
Shot 1.25 after much hesitation
+1 73
+2 59
+3 70
+4 79
+6 71

Today:
AMPS - 241 :(

How does this happen so fast between +6 PM and AMPS????

Thanks to Libby, Ann, Ronnie, Sienne, and Kath who helped me last night!!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/3 - Ollie AMPS 241 :(

Hi

first, let's lose the :( face on your subject line, that's usually means really bad news in LL, and we don't want bad news!... how about one of these? :) much better!

Second: yesterday's thread viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21323&p=212495#p212495

third: you shot 1.50u this morning?
gotta keep the dose steady - moving around too fast too soon can cause wonky stuff and Lantus doesn't like that.

from what I read last nite, 1.25 was advised by Libby to hold on to...trust her ok?

Ollie will make his way down, but you need a patience cap firmly on your head.
I can lend you mine - it's well used and brought me lots of patience when I needed it :lol:

I hope the aliens will leave ya alone now, cuz you got us here in LL to guide ya along! :razz:
 
Re: 8/3 - Ollie AMPS 241

Thanks Ronnie, didn't know that about the :( sign. ohmygod_smile I will tuck it away and hopefully never use it! So...yes, I do trust the advice I'm getting. Should I only shoot a 1.25 then tonight??? I was really surprised :shock: by that number this morning. What does it mean that the increase happened so fast?? I thought that the consensus was that shooting 1.25 last night might not be a good idea because dose redux's so close together don't stick. REally, I was too scared to shoot 1.5 nailbite_smile. I am impatient...I want him to be better so badly....I love my little man.

Thanks!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/3 - Ollie AMPS 241

Let's see how this cycle goes and what others may say too.

If you're spot checking, please remember to give small snacks along the way up until +8/+9 or so, if you'll be out, leave him some foods so he can help himself...you want steer the numbers if needed, Sienne mentioned the other day:


Generally, you don't want to take reductions too close together -- they usually don't hold. That being the case, try to keep Ollie surfing in the greens but you can steer with HC to keep him around the numbers he is now or a bit above.

It's hard being patient, but you gotta slow down and let Ollie take the lead ok? It'll work it self out.
 
Re: 8/3 - Ollie AMPS 241 PMPS 94

PMPS 94 :).

I am going to shoot a 1.25....anyone think this is not the best idea??

Thanks!
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/3 - Ollie AMPS 241 PMPS 94

If it were me, I'd be sticking with the 1.5u. You're jumping between doses. You need to let a dose change settle and let the numbers stabilize.

Ronnie's right -- Lantus takes patience. It's Ollie who's in the lead. There's not a great deal we can do to make this happen any faster.
 
Thanks Ronnie and Sienne. I'm confused though, I know that I should be keeping the dose stable but I was reminded this morning that I was advised last night to hold a 1.25. Unfortunatly, I'd already shot the 1.5 b/c of the 241 AMPS. So now what do I do??? Hold the 1.25 at this point and see where that gets us? What do I do if he dips below 50 tonight? How much of a window of time do I have between posting AMPS to LL and when I can give the shot?

Any help/advice is greatly appreciated :mrgreen: , it's less about impatience and more about not being sure what the right thing to do is nailbite_smile (for example - in the published protocol it says to immediately raise the dose back to the last effective level if you get >200). I'm also very sleep deprived @-) and have other fur-babies with serious health issues. I truly appreciate all the help I'm getting in LL - I would not have been doing the proper thing and I sure as heck would never have had the BOS to shoot a number below 70!

Thanks and have a great night everyone,
Klaree and Ollie
 
I think I may have told you to hold the 1.25u but that was because you'd already shot that dose. In general, you don't want to take 2 back-to-back reductions. The reason is that if you get a below 50 number in the cycle after you've already had a below 50, the second drop is most likely due to the shed being over filled. (I hope that made sense.)

Basically, you need to pick a dose and stick with it for 3 days. I suspect you are looking at your pre-shot test, like this morning, saw that it was yellow and opted to shoot the 1.5u. Remember, with Lantus, your dosing decisions are based primarily on the nadir, not the pre-shot number. I think you'll be fine giving the 1.25u. Worst case scenario is that you have to increase the dose back up. Not a big deal!

Klaree & Ollie said:
How much of a window of time do I have between posting AMPS to LL and when I can give the shot?
I'm not sure that I entirely understand your question. Providing your schedule will permit, you can always stall giving a shot. Ideally, someone will be around in the morning if you have a question. If you stall because of a low number, do not feed and re-test in 15 - 20 min. You're looking for a surf or a rising number in order to shoot.

Your observation about the protocol -- you forgot another part. You want to give a new dose a few cycles to settle and if a reduction isn't holding, then you increase to the last good dose. One test that's over 200 doesn't mean you immediately increase.

You're doing fine. You've been at this for a little over 2 weeks. The front end of the learning curve is completely overwhelming. Keep asking questions. Eventually, it all becomes second nature.

(Remember to put the dose you shot on your SS.)
 
Hey Ollie get back down there you are doing Great...Klaree one big thing you have to do BREATH.... I was doing the same as you but to scared to change anything....Lots of beautiful green light coming your way......Kath

Sleep ???you don`t get that for a few more weeks anyway ~O) ~O) :lol: ;-) :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top