? 8/3 Norbert PMPS 367, +4hr 51 Possible hypo?

Norbert’s Mom

Member Since 2020
Norbert’s bg has dropped to 51 in 4 hours. We have just given him some honey and carby food. Vet has instructed us to back off his dosage to 2 units.
Recently changed his food to low carb, so we were expecting a drop, but this??
Any help would be great!!
 
I'm very new here and not qualified to give any advice, but you might want to edit your post title to add the "?" at the front so people who know more see that you need assistance.
 
That's quite a jump from the 51. Norbert might be rather carb sensitive. I'd test again in an hour. Don't feed anything except low carb if he gets meals in that time. The high carb food can wear off in a couple hours so you'll need to check to make sure his numbers don't come down again after that.

SLGS stands for Start LOW Go Slow. Your vet isn't the first nor the last to start out on too high a dose. Thankfully you were testing and caught the low!
 
Just checked again (+30 minutes) and he’s at 142. I’ll give him an hour and recheck, as you suggested. I’m going to back off his morning dose. I’d rather start somewhat fresh with a lower dose and see how he does.
 
Good call. It's much easier to increase and learn about dosing and how Norbert handles Lantus when his dose is a lower, than a trial by fire with too high a dose.
 
PMPS +7 Norbert is at 265. The carbs definitely got his glucose up. Next test will be his AMPS and he will get a smaller dose to see how he does now that his body seems to be adjusting.
 
Back
Top