8/3 Mo +6 376, PMPS 355 - Back to testing :)

katy and mo (GA)

Member Since 2020
Previous post

Mo was very grumpy yesterday when I trialled reducing his gabapentin to 25mg with his morning meds. It seems for now he needs to stay at 50mg twice a day. He vomited some white foam this morning at 5am, but afterwards he purred for hours. Not sure what caused it (he did this a couple of weeks ago as well), but he has seemed fine today and has eaten well.

I've tried hard with the testing today - he has been an absolutely grump but hopefully it starts to become routine again. Tim and I have both agreed that it's necessary to start testing again - I'm glad we are both on the same page. We have been on 5 units of Levemir for a while now and it doesn't seem that 5 units is enough, despite his "good" fructosamine results 2 weeks ago. It just doesn't all add up.

We will continue with the testing from now on. Tim and I will be away Saturday night for a wedding up north so we won't be able to test him at PMPS and AMPS but my brother will be here to do the injections. I will test Mo before I leave and when I get home. Since we are testing again (whether Mo likes it or not...), would it be wise to increase his dose now?

I want to say a big thank you to @Sue and Luci for giving me the strength and motivation to get back to testing again :)

Have a great day all :bighug:
 
I'm so happy to hear you will be testing again. It's the only way to keep Mo safe.
would it be wise to increase his dose now?
We don't have enough data at this dose. Maybe a couple days of testing and then we can review. I rather suspect you will be able to then. He got up to 9.5 units before hand and has probably build up a lot of glucose toxicity in the mean time so will end up even higher. It shouldn't be a problem increasing before you go. And if you get a couple days of tests in at the new dose, you can feel more confident leaving him in your brothers hands.
 
Hi Katy
He vomited some white foam this morning at 5am, but afterwards he purred for hours. Not sure what caused it (he did this a couple of weeks ago as well)
George does the foamy vomit thing if he hasn't eaten for a while, so if he misses his snacks in the auto feeder overnight. The foamy white vomit may be a sign of acid tummy.

I'm glad we are both on the same page.
That's good that you're a united front on the testing, hope you can get into a routine with it soon, give him lots of lovin and scritches and a favorite treat.

Levemir for a while now and it doesn't seem that 5 units is enough, despite his "good" fructosamine results 2 weeks ago
With all the data you have had on Lev and Lantus, I agree with you the 5u is likely not enough, and Wendy has given you some advice on where to go with the dose.

I have been wondering about the 'good fructosamine result' reading about it, it is possible other factors may lower the fructosamine test, and I have also read that moderate hyperglycaemia may lead to fructosamine result within the normal reference range, so that it is not as reliable a tool as serial BG testing.
Everything you read about fructosamine testing is that it should not be used to determine insulin dose in any case, so really glad that you will be trying the home testing again.
https://veteriankey.com/endocrinology-3/
 
I'm so glad you're both on the same page for testing Mo! It's so very important. How's he doing with the non-poke ventures to the testing towel/treat thing? Does he even act like maybe he knows there will be a treat there for him yet? Just keep trying..you'll be amazed at what these cats are capable of learning - just when you are certain you're not getting through...one day he'll surprise you and jump right up there...looking for that treat. Luci did it again this morning...I can't believe it's the same cat! I have to admit I have a little bag of freeze dried lamb that I keep in her testing kit, so sometimes I think she's just looking to get into that...but she sits right down and starts purring...crazy girl :) At least we're all getting what we need.

Have a great day Katy! Sending you many wishes for success on the testing front! :bighug::bighug:
 
Butters also vomits white foam sometimes...generally only if she goes for several hours without food. Ever since I switched to giving her tiny meals every 3 - 4 hours apart there has been no more foamy vomit. And small more frequent meals are supposed to be better for cats with pancreatitis.

Good luck with the testing! Don't worry if you aren't always successful. IMHO, the important thing in the beginning is to make sure Mo knows he is going to get rewarded regardless. That should help with compliance.
 
Back
Top