8/3 Max PMPS 64 +1 49 +1.75 64 +2.25 53 +3 53 +4 99 +5 111

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/3 Max +11.5 95 +11.75 95 AMPS 90

It is. At his age, and with the CRF I didn't think remission was possible. Man, do I ever need coffee! I've been out for several days. Good thing I'm not addicted right now, but I do miss it.

Now poor Max is on the ottoman, and Emma is pushing it across the room. He looks so angry.
 
Re: 8/3 Max +11.5 95 +11.75 95 AMPS 90

I forgot to tell you that my alter ego in LL is the Borg Queen for pushing members to shoot when safe instead of stalling.

Resistance is Futile :twisted: :twisted:
220px-Borg_Queen_2372.jpg
 
Re: 8/3 Max +11.5 95 +11.75 95 AMPS 90 +1 80

No...but I would have liked to see a food spike. Will he eat a tsp of LC now? Then see you at +2.
 
Re: 8/3 Max +11.5 95 +11.75 95 AMPS 90 +1 80

Well, I didn't see your post about the food spike until a moment ago, Marje, but when I did, I tested him. He's still at 80 at +1.5. So, that's good.
 
Re: 8/3 Max +11.5 95 +11.75 95 AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72

He's at 72 at +2. I hate to ask him to eat because then I'll be waiting for 2 hours to start checking him. He's dropping so slowly that I'm wondering if its okay?
 
Re: 8/3 Max +11.5 95 +11.75 95 AMPS 90 +1 80

Darn...I posted and hit submit but it didn't post.

You don't have to wait two hours to test him if you feed. But, you are right that he's coming down slowly. His +2 is about within meter variance of his AMPS. He should onset at +3 so please be sure and test then and lets see if he starts down, ok?

I'll be back for that number. Looking great.
 
Re: 8/3 Max +11.5 95 +11.75 95 AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72 +3 72

Nice! Why don't you feed him and get a +5? Let's give you both a rest.

:lol: :lol: :lol: well...I guess if you have to be known as something, Borg Queen works. But aren't you glad you didn't stall? ;-) (now watch....he will be in the 50s at +5 ;-) ;-) )
 
Re: 8/3 Max +11.5 95 +11.75 95 AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72 +3 72

Hi. Max is at only 83. Maybe the shed isn't full or he really likes to surf.

Today, I will get some more strips for my other meter. Then, I'll check with the same drop of blood.
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72 +3 72 +5 83 +6 86

Just do an out the door test and another as soon as you walk in. Maybe leave some food out, too. I hope he'll just surf this.

Thanks for the profile :-D :-D :-D I love the way you did the background and print!!
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72 +3 72 +5 83 +6 86

At +10 he's at 85. He is just hanging in there almost completely level. I wonder if he had any variation while I was gone. He's a hungry boy!
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72 +5 83 +6 86 +10 85 +11.25 80

At 11.25 we have 80. Does it mean anything that he's so stable right at 85 or so? Let's see, on a pet meter this 80 would be about 100 to 110. So, that's on the higher end of normal, but very comfortably within normal.

I'm not complaining! He must be feeling much better, and so am I.

He's under Emma's crib again.

My husband read a study that said that in a colony of healthy Persian cats the average BG was 200. Does anyone know about that? They were using blood from the veins and they separated the serum. EDITED: This is entirely different, I believe, than using blood from the capillaries on a home glucose meter. In what way it is different, I don't remember. [End edit.] At the end of the abstract it says there is a difference in average BG between different races/breeds of cats and in the "way they are fed." I haven't read the full study, of course. I don't have access to it. Does anyone have access?

Here's a copy of the abstract:

Determination of Rate Natural Blood Glucose in Persian Cats
Dr. D. Vosough Bahonar
University of Kerman
Iran
Back to Feline Medicine
18275018

Objectives

In this research that is done for the first time in Iran, the normal amount of the density of blood glucose in Iranian cats is determined in order to be a solution in recognition of the changes and disarrangements of the tools in regulating the amount of blood glucose.

Materials & Methods

In this research 53 mature Persian cats, in which 23 of them were female and 30 were male after completing the examination it was confirmed that all the cats were healthy. The blood was taken from cephalic veins and after separating the serums, were transferred to the Ependorf tubes for reading the amount of glucose. The measuring kit for blood glucose " Enzymatic method " was used. Then the subject was transferred to spectrophotometer machine, and was read at the frequency ware of 520 nm. The outputs of the test were analyzed statistically by SPSS software, and from the results, the general median and density median of blood glucose in two different groups of female and male cats were calculated, for comparison of average amounts in two different genders " T " test was used. In case of the number of samples in this study. Degree of certainty equals 95% (p = 95%).

Results

In this research the measured amounts for the density of glucose was in the range of 183.53-253.43 mg /dl and the median was measured 218.4 mg / dl. Of 53 cats under test, 23 were female and 30 were male, and their average density of blood glucose in males was 218.48 mg /dl, and in females was 218.92 mg /dl. The median of results obtained from the two genders of male and female cats were compared with the "T" test. It was understood that there was not any significant differences between the blood glucose and gender. (p<0.05).

Conclusion

In 1997 M. Bryan, M. Murphy, and J. low did a research for measuring the blood glucose in two groups of 50- mature cats. They measured the density of blood glucose between 72 and 180 mg/dl. They observed a significant difference between the results of the gender groups. In the year 2001, Mr. Hally frees by stated that the normal range of blood glucose is 50-160 mg/dl. There fore I should mention that there is a wide range for the normal density of blood glucose in different races of cats, and these changes are based on different breed of cats and the way they are fed.
Speaker Information
(click the speaker's name to view other papers and abstracts submitted by this speaker)

D. Vosugh Bahonar, Dr.
University of Kerman
Iran
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72 +5 83 +6 86 +10 85 +11.25 80

I have no clue about the study but I'd say this about it.....speculation but I've worked with ferals. If you trap them to spay, neuter, etc, and you just happen to check their blood while they are there, chances are it's going
to be high because they are going to be incredibly stressed. They are even less used to going to the vet than our cats. So the whole process of being trapped, hauled to the vet, etc etc....I wouldn't be surprised. But Max
doesn't live in a colony and neither do any of our cats so it's not really germane. And I'm sure DH did not think it was....he probably just thought it was interesting. :-D :-D

In a tightly regulated cat, lantus and levemir can give incredibly flat curves. That's good!!!!
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72+5 83+6~86+10~85+11.25~80 PMP

Yes, I can stay up. I have 33 strips and HC food, Karo, the whole nut.
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72+5 83+6~86+10~85+11.25~80 PMP

Want to try? Could be a long night but I'll stay with you.

You'll want to get a +.5 so we can see if he food spikes.

You can stall but keep in mind he could keep dropping so you could get way off on time or have to skip.

Your decision.
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72+5 83+6~86+10~85+11.25~80 PMP

I can do it tonight. Are you really able to stay up? You were up all night last night. Gracie low tonight?
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72+5 83+6~86+10~85+11.25~80 PMP

Also...he did this the other night....On 8/1. He was in the 90s and then dropped to 66. You skipped and he went up a bit and surfed. That wasn't because you skipped. He would have done that if you shot.
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72+5 83+6~86+10~85+11.25~80 PMP

Gracie is up but I can sleep in between your tests. I hate you to miss this opportunity if you are up for it.

I would be up until your +3 anyway and I have nothing I need to do tomorrow so i can nap.
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72+5 83+6~86+10~85+11.25~80 PMP

Ok, I gave him fresh food. He didn't eat a lot, but I shot him, and I'll get back to eat some more.
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72+5 83+6~86+10~85+11.25~80 PMP

You are awesome! Ok...can you p,s clean up the subject line to just have your PMPS so we don't run out of room?

I'd like him to eat two tsp of LC if he will. I'll be here for the first test 30 mins after he eats.
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72+5 83+6~86+10~85+11.25~80 PMP

I'm wishing Dale and Marje the best tonight, and hope it isn't a very long night, and no Karo syrup is required.

Max just wants his dose decreases and for his mom to stop poking him! *LOL* He wants to be OTJ!

I so love looking at Max's SS these days!

Suze
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72+5 83+6~86+10~85+11.25~80 PMP

He's back eating more now. I'm going to try to rock and nurse Emma. She's having a hard time falling asleep. She has a tooth coming in. I'll get a +5 at 9:36. Thanks, Marjorie. Glad you won't be up too late tonight. Hope Gracie is doing well.
 
Re: 8/3 Max AMPS 90 +1 80 +2 72+5 83+6~86+10~85+11.25~80 PMP

About the study -- I guess it wasn't a colony - it was 50 Persian cats. They must have been tame cats if they were full-blood Persians in Iran, but they were certainly in a "vet office" type stressful situation. The writer doesn't say anything in the abstract about when the cats ate or what they ate, of course. I'm sure the study itself does.

Persians are very different cats than our DLHs. Our long haired cats have Persian genes, but the Persians of today are strange animals indeed. They have so many problems from the way they are bred. My mother had one that could not give normal birth and had to have a C-section. Then she tried to eat her kittens. So sad. We had many show and pet quality Persians when I was a kid. Most of them had strange issues. However, one pet quality cat, Nicholas, lived to be 17 with very few health problems until the end -- kidney issues. He had lost most of his teeth by then, and he was skinny, but he did pretty well for being that old.

Max looks a lot better than Nicholas did. In fact, I don't think anyone would guess Max is 16. Max has most of his teeth, and if any had been there and fell out, I never noticed it. The vet said two were missing. I wonder if he had them all to begin with. There aren't any holes where teeth should be that I can see.

Max had an odd disease that is associated with being Somalian (myesthenia gravis). I let the university take a sample of his blood to put in their database so that they could test their theory that this disease had genetic origins in Somalian cats. I should follow up with that.

Okay, I'll test Max and THEN, I'll get Emma to bed.
 
Re: 8/3 Max PMPS 64 +0.5 60

Ok...how you doing?

What is the LC you are giving him in % carbs? If you have a LC that is closer to 10%, let's use it.

Please test in 30. I'll be waiting.

And he just got his reduction :-D you do have the option of bringing him up with HC now. It could be a long cycle...he has nothing to prove now so you can just get him up if you want.
 
Re: 8/3 Max PMPS 64 +0.5 60 +1 49

Test in thirty from 10:23 or from the time I got the 49?

I think I'll take the HC option! :-D :-D :-D

All I have in the LC department is 4% Wellness. I'll give Hills k/d.
 
Re: 8/3 Max PMPS 64 +0.5 60 +1 49

It's always test, then feed, then test again In 30 minutes when numbers are low. Mi find it takes 30 mins for carbs to hit the system.

If you feed him the HC and numbers come up, you have to keep testing until he's got two, rising nonfood influenced numbers. It usually takes two hours for carbs to leave the system. So even if you have to sleep test to grab some tests mid cycle, so be it :-D

However, that's getting ahead. I'm with you until we see him getting a rise.
 
Re: 8/3 Max PMPS 64 +0.5 60 +1 49 +1.75 64

Question: if I feed only LC I don't have to wait for two hours? I just need 3 rising numbers? LC works pretty well for him. Of course, this is soooo early in the cycle, I won't go to bed and stay there until about +5 or so, but in general giving LC is better, and using HC is for really low numbers or numbers that won't come up?
 
Re: 8/3 Max PMPS 64 +0.5 60 +1 49 +1.75 64

Mmm, well then . . . I gave him the LC at about +1.25; he's at 64 @ +1.75. I offered him the HC, but he didn't want it. He would prefer to be hiding from me. Every time I've looked for him he's hidden. He was under the baby's crib 3x, and then moved behind the rocking chair. Last time I found him in the rocking chair upstairs, and just now he was headed up the stairs again. Now, I've trapped him in the family room with me, and he's not happy about it, but he's sprawled out on the coffee table -- a strange thing for him to do. He did it last night, too.
 
Re: 8/3 Max PMPS 64 +0.5 60 +1 49 +1.75 64

I'm always a proponent of using LC when you can....if he responds to LC, fantastic.

I told you about the HC.because you have a baby to take care of tomorrow and once he's earned his reduction, you don't have to spend the whole pm cycle worried about getting him to surf ESP when you are tired.

I'm glad he's coming up with LC! How about another test in 30. I suspect what you are seeing is his first shot is wearing off and the PM shot has not yet onset...so he may get low again.

LC stays in the system longer then HC; I would assume because of the higher protein.
 
Re: 8/3 Max PMPS 64 +0.5 60 +1 49 +1.75 64

Ok, thanks for mentioning HC, and you're right. It's hard to care for her when I'm tired. I was thinking I could get more sleep if I gave him LC, and I got to bed for good earlier.

He was at 53 at +2.25, and I gave him LC. He didn't want to eat it from the bowl. He walked away, but I made him come back and eat it from a spoon. He took about 2 teaspoons.
 
Re: 8/3 Max PMPS 64 +0.5 60 +1 49 +1.75 64

Ok. I hate to keep testing him every 30 but I'd like to get him past onset so we can see if he will go lower or whether he will start to flatten out and you can sleep/test.

So can you test him at +3 please? You doing ok?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top