8/3 -- Harley PMPS 413

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Another day to see what happens. Tried the wrap over the LB but Harley would not go. Still nothing, so I don't know about ketones. BG came down ok but I would like to see more of the greens or even a couple blues.

Have a good day everyone

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21310
 
Re: 8/3 -- Harley AMPS 307

Hi Pattie

barely pink, that's all.
Keep trying on the ketones check, not to worry you anymore, but I know you keep on top of that.

Come on down anytime Harley!
(((hugs)))
 
Re: 8/3 -- Harley AMPS 307

Harley's vet just emailed me about the bg numbers. She would like to start on 6.0 lantus tonight. worth a try for 3 days.

pattie
 
Back to the reds: AMPS 307, +6.5 279, PMPS 413. Don't know what happened between 278 and 413. When I was home, I did give him about 1 oz cooked chicken but no FF.

Tonight, he only got ¾ can FF and ¼ can FF soup. Still not peeing when I am around. Must be shy. I tried to keep him in one room (bath) but when I had to go, he snuck out. Then tried the bedroom, but the other two cried so much and scratched at the door, I had to open it. Oh, well, tonight is another night.

With my post above, Harley’s vet did say to go with the6.0 Lantus, which is what I did tonight.

With the 413, can I still feed a bit more? He is crying again, and being quite the eater myself, I hate to deny him.

Pattie
 
Congrats on the ketone test and lack of ketones! Isn't stalking the litter box fun? (Just kidding!) Where else could you talk about testing pee?

Do you know why your vet suggested decreasing Harley's dose? Not that I want to challenge your vet (well, I do want to), but I'm not seeing where Harley's numbers warrant the reduction. It would be helpful to understand her logic.

Have you given your vet a copy of the Queensland protocol? This is the formal version (or one of them) that we use that was developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM at University of Queensland. She's a very well respected feline diabetes researcher. It might be helpful to get her on board with what we use here.
 
I will print out a copy and give it to her. She has been wonderful with Harley and is the one who stuck with him when I questioned if he should be put through more tests. I read back on a couple of my posts and someone else on the board also recommended 6.0 units.

To be honest, I do get confused with everyone's suggestions and only want what is best for my kitty. So, what do I do?

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top