8/3 - Christy AMPS 126, +0.5AMPS 114, +1AMPS 115, 2u@+1AMPS; +1 163, +2.5 212

Michele A & Christy

Member Since 2022
This is her lowest AMPS since we started insulin on July 17.

I'm currently stalling without giving food.

We were at the vet for a checkup on Monday and I asked about below 150 AMPS; the vet said "Don't change anything. Feed and give insulin."

AMPS was at 7:04 AM. I'll check again at 7:30 AM.

Just want to get any feedback or advice or suggestions or validation.

P.S. The vet also said I should cut back the number of tests because Christy's RBC is slightly low.

Michele
 
With SLGS you can shoot anything over 90 if you can monitor. Will you be able to get a test or two if you give the shot? You have shot 141 a couple of days back. 126 is more or less the same number with meter variance.

I am stepping out to a class and will only be back in a hour. Tagging @Suzanne & Darcy in case she is around.
 
With SLGS you can shoot anything over 90 if you can monitor. Will you be able to get a test or two if you give the shot? You have shot 141 a couple of days back. 126 is more or less the same number with meter variance.

I am stepping out to a class and will only be back in a hour. Tagging @Suzanne & Darcy in case she is around.

Thank you! Yes, I'm working from home today and can test all day, if needed.
 
At +0.5 hrs, Christy is trending down.

Feed but don't give 2u insulin?
Feed with 2u insulin?
Feed with "skinny" 2u insulin?
Hi Michele, @Bandit's Mom should be around shortly to help. Your spreadsheet has 2Us for today's AMPS. Did you shoot the full dose? If it were me, I would shoot the full dose as long as around to monitor, and feed a little higher carb. Then I would get a +1. By then, Bhooma will definitely be back!
 
Hi Michele, @Bandit's Mom should be around shortly to help. Your spreadsheet has 2Us for today's AMPS. Did you shoot the full dose? If it were me, I would shoot the full dose as long as around to monitor, and feed a little higher carb. Then I would get a +1. By then, Bhooma will definitely be back!

Her morning has been this:
7:04 AM - 126 AMPS, no shot, stall and retest
7:34 AM - 114
7:45 AM - Teensy bit (~0.5oz) of cooked liver
7:56 AM - 115; gave "skinny" 2u; she ate ~1oz Wellness turkey pate and ~0.5oz FF turkey & giblets pate

Will test again at 9:00 AM (+1 from shot).
 
Also, am I tracking all this correctly on the spreadsheet? Since I didn't give the insulin immediately after AMPS, I'm not sure how to record all the +1, +2, etc. test numbers.
 
Also, am I tracking all this correctly on the spreadsheet? Since I didn't give the insulin immediately after AMPS, I'm not sure how to record all the +1, +2, etc. test numbers.
I AM VERY IMPRESSED! Shooting is always scary, but shooting a PS# lower than you ever have is BRAVE!
In the spreadsheet, the AMPS column should "stack" your BG readings up until you give the shot. So in your case, AMPS would read "126; 114 @+.5; 115 @+1". Your +1 will be at at your 9AM. Does this make sense?
 
I AM VERY IMPRESSED! Shooting is always scary, but shooting a PS# lower than you ever have is BRAVE!
In the spreadsheet, the AMPS column should "stack" your BG readings up until you give the shot. So in your case, AMPS would read "126; 114 @+.5; 115 @+1". Your +1 will be at at your 9AM. Does this make sense?

Yes, that made sense. Thank you. I stacked up the AMPS cell with her three pre-shot numbers.

And I have never been happier to see 163. I'm glad her numbers went up with food. That seems like the way it's supposed to work.
 
Thank you! Yes, I'm working from home today and can test all day, if needed.
When you can monitor, you want to shoot for any number over 90. Shooting low actually gives lovely flat cycles. I know one tends to think that if the BG can drop 100 points from 200, it could drop as precipitously from 100, but it doesn't work like that. We like to say shoot low to stay low. Stalling without food can cause numbers to drop further - making the shooting decision even more difficult.

Did you shoot an hour later when she was 115? Then your AMPS cell would say "126 @+12, 114 @+12.5, 115 @ +13" to indicate you shot an hour late.
 
When you can monitor, you want to shoot for any number over 90. Shooting low actually gives lovely flat cycles. I know one tends to think that if the BG can drop 100 points from 200, it could drop as precipitously from 100, but it doesn't work like that. We like to say shoot low to stay low. Stalling without food can cause numbers to drop further - making the shooting decision even more difficult.

Did you shoot an hour later when she was 115? Then your AMPS cell would say "126 @+12, 114 @+12.5, 115 @ +13" to indicate you shot an hour late.

Yes, I shot at 115. And, yes, using +12, +12.5, +13 makes sense since that's how much time has passed since her last shot.

Thank you, Bhooma and Angela!
 
Back
Top