8/3 Bob AMPS=306 is it ok prefill Lantus for 1shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Good morning LL!!

Hopefully we are in day 2 of a bounce. I brought bob to the vet for some fluids just to ease my mind. They love him here because he falls asleep while they are examining him. He's such a laid back kitty. A little worried that the YA may be raising his BG but ill try not to think about it until Monday when ill know for sure.

Hope everyone has a great Caturday!!!
 
Re: 8/3 Bob AMPS=306 vet visit

Dara

you have already brought Bob to the vet and back home?

what else did they say about him?

How is he doing today? Still hot and crusty nosed?

poor little dude.

I am glad you are home to try to figure him out this weekend.....

and try try try try not to worry so much about when you have to leave. That is ages from now...in our world. and like the advisors said.....you will figure out a safe dose to have him on when you are gone. it will all work out.

so is Bob eating enough of the YA?
 
Re: 8/3 Bob AMPS=306 vet visit

wow. fell asleep at the vets. That IS a laid back kitty. :lol:

I remember with Ninja ( the YA example cat) that the eating is so varied. I think that's the difficulty trying to do the TR . They don't eat on command like they do with wet.
Ninja would eat a bite and then nothing for most of the day and then she would eat a few bites in the night. Then the next morning wouldn't. It was far less predictable.


So you have an added set of variables to figure out but you will. Patience.
 
Re: 8/3 Bob AMPS=306 vet visit

Hey Kelly-he gained a tiny bit of weight (funny-I Thot he lost weight). She said he is looking good. He just got a little exam and the fluids. His ears and nose are a little better! I'm trying not to worry-its just part of my personality! We are happy Tom is doing so well! Hell prob be OTJ in no time. Did u see Nikki? She's on day 3!!!

Thanks for visiting us!!
 
Re: 8/3 Bob AMPS=306 vet visit

rhiannon and shadow said:
wow. fell asleep at the vets. That IS a laid back kitty. :lol:

I remember with Ninja ( the YA example cat) that the eating is so varied. I think that's the difficulty trying to do the TR . They don't eat on command like they do with wet.
Ninja would eat a bite and then nothing for most of the day and then she would eat a few bites in the night. Then the next morning wouldn't. It was far less predictable.


So you have an added set of variables to figure out but you will. Patience.

Hey Rhiannon - yeah, bob is a laid back dude. He's the opposite of me! :-D

The YA does present some weird variables. Ur supposed to free feed so bob just eats a couple bites here and there. Not sure what's going on (not that I ever have-haha!). Meant to tell u I checked out shadow's profile yesterday-she's so purty!!!! I love that pic at the top of the profile.

Thanks for the encouragement. We will try our best to be patient.
 
My mom is giving bob his shot tonite. She hurt her hand and can't get the insulin into the syringe. Is it ok if I prefill it and put the syringe in the fridge for about 3 hours?
 
Dara, In this situation, I think you do need to pre-fill the syringe. Not recommended as you know, but since your mom is helping out and has physical difficulties, it's ok this one time, for that short period of time.
 
There are lubricants in the syringes. It can cause the clear Lantus insulin to become cloudy or have floating particles. I could not find any information about how long that takes to occur, the cloudiness/floaties.

You pre-fill the syringe tonight because you need to. Tell your mom to check for cloudiness or floaties before she injects. If the insulin still looks clear, give the shot. If cloudy, skip the shot.

"Better too high for a day, than too low for a minute."
 
I hope everything went well with your mom giving the shot tonight. Falling asleep at the vet. That is laid back. :lol:
 
Dara, I was looking on Amazon and they had syringe magnifiers, and since one of the brands was B/D (which is everywhere), I thought maybe my local WalMart would have one. The don't carry them in stock, but were willing to order me one. Maybe one of them would work to help your mom.

It's only $8 and is supposed to magnify 1.7x

Here's a link to the ones on Amazon, but like you may save some time and shipping by just calling around and asking. For $8, it might be worth trying! This one also holds the vial and guides the needle in...although it looks like the Lantus vials might not be "held" in very well. Syringe Magnifier

I can't say for sure how it works yet...mine won't get here until Monday because it was too late on Friday before I called to ask about if they carried them in stock or not.

I also bought a magnifying glass today for .94 cents so I could read that tiny print on the cat food labels...Getting old ain't for wimps! :-D
 
Dara

why can't you give the shot tonight? jesus...don't tell me you are actually going to do something on a Saturday eve? well, I hope it isn't work related and you can get out of the house, let off some steam, and remember what life used to be like.....let us all in on your fun so we can dream of better Saturday eves.

You sure have a kind mom to shoot Bob. Have you schooled her in how to open up 13 cans of food too?

Let us know how that Lantus looked in the pre-filled syringe.


Chris: I need magnifiers to even see what it is you ordered! I don't get it. How does that work? :?: :oops: :oops:


Getting old ain't for wimps

ain't that the truth! I swear I have calloused knees from getting down to poke ears 100 x a day. real nice look!
 
Thanks Chris! I may order that magnifier for myself. I am turning 42 next week and I be needing it! I have to hold everything really far away to be able to read it. Yikes. Sounds like it's time to pick up some reading glasses! :shock:

Kelly - I DID go out with some friends to celebrate my bday. However, I was home by 10:30. Don't party like I used to, that's for sure. I need a good night out with a designated driver soon though. I could use a few (maybe 10) drinks after this experience. I'll wait until Bob is better regulated though!
 
HAPPY BIRTHDAY DARA

HAPPY DAY TO YOU

WELL....HAPPY NEXT WEEK DAY TO YOU


so how was that syringe? clear?

listen Dara, you do deserve the BOS award.......because if Bob was my cat....I would have given in a long time ago and fed him his awful HC dry food.....if I had to leave him every day......like you have to.....I would have reduced just like you and opened up bags of dry when I headed out that door to be away for 8 hours.

now that is tough.
:shock: :shock: :?:
I think you are doing super!! you will get back on track. lets just cross fingers that Bob sticks to what he is eating ......and then you can dose from there.


kelly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top