8/3 Bj PMPS (479), +2(285), +4(148), +5(154)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike and Bj

Member Since 2012
AMPS (306) Main meal
+2 (127) Fed sm. meal prior
+3 (49) Fed sm. meal prior
Administered I tsp. HC gravy after +3
+3.5 (53)
+4 (55) Fed LC food
+5 (76)
+6 (122) MUST SLEEP
+8.5 (228)
PMPS (479) Late Shot, Lower Dose 1u
+2 (285)
+4 (148)
+5 (154)

Yesterday Recap:
AMPS (411)
+5(79)
+6(138)
+8.5(314)
PMPS(471)
+2.5(328)
+3.5 (265)
+5.5 (247)
 
Re: 8/3 Bj AmPs (306), +2(127)


That about says it all, Mike. Great that you got the +2 so you could see it coming. He loves the Lantus, that's for sure.

CArl
 
Re: 8/3 Bj AmPs (306), +2(127), +3(49), +3.5(53), +4(55)

Good job today, Mike.

So your boy has earned a dose reduction with that 49. Congrats!!! I was thinking it wasn't going to be long off. You've been doing a great job of getting those nighttime tests
applause.gif


So for tonight, if he is skyrocketing at PMPS like he did last night, you can choose to "shoot through the bounce". That means you would shoot the 1.25u one more time to give him a little more insulin through that bounce. Then tomorrow morning, you'll shoot 1u. You do not have to shoot through the bounce. You can give him the reduction tonight at PMPS regardless of whether he is high or he's surfing.

Congrats on the reduction!!!
 
Re: 8/3 Bj AmPs (306), +2(127), +3(49), +4(55), +5(76)

+5 (76)

Thanks, Marjorie =)

Ok, I'll see how he's doing tonight and decide on that and for sure drop to 1u in AM. I've been monitoring his chart closely to try and figure out when I should test. Hope I'm doing alright. I was pretty scared today .
 
Re: 8/3 Bj AmPs (306), +2(127), +3(49), +4(55), +5(76)

Mike,
Sorry I was away. You handled that perfectly.
Carl
 
Re: 8/3 Bj AmPs (306), +2(127), +3(49), +4(55), +5(76)

I'm sorry you were scared but you did a great job.

Any time you get into that situation, please edit your subject line and put "Help pls" or something that catches our eyes. I'm sorry someone wasn't around to walk you through it.
 
Re: 8/3 Bj AmPs (306), +2(127), +3(49), +4(55), +5(76)

I'm a lot more prepared and confident than I was five days ago. Hopefully, I'm getting there. But the thought of hypo makes me nervous. I've read a few of the hypo faqs and had my emergency stuff. I did get him the Fancy Feast Gravy lovers for HC gravy but I couldn't find it on the Binky charts(?).

Now I'm in the process of deciding whether it's safe to get a nap in or test again. I have a feeling I'm going to be up til 6AM again for the third night. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 8/3 Bj AmPs (306), +2(127), +3(49), +4(55), +5(76)

Is the +5 your last test and if so, how long ago was it?

You'd be surprised at how fast they can go up.

It's good to be prepared for a hypo but remember that you are in control. You test, you have food (and yes the gravy lovers is 17 or 18%), you can manage the numbers.

We all have been there and none of us likes the thought of a hypo. By testing, you can catch the numbers and steer them up. I think it is prolonged time at low numbers that has the potential for symptomatic hypos but if you get a test, and he's low, get him up....even if you have to use karo.
 
Re: 8/3 Bj AmPs (306), +2(127), +3(49), +4(55), +5(76)

Alright.

+5 was an hour ago now. Gonna test and if number is up gotta rest.
 
Re: 8/3 Bj AmPs (306), +2(127), +3(49), +4(55), +5(76)

If he's up at +6, I'd say take a break especially if you haven't fed any HC in a while. HC usually takes a couple hours to wear off and then numbers can come down.
 
Re: 8/3 Bj AmPs (306), +2(127), +3(49), +4(55), +5(76)

Aw well, I got him anyway. I gotta crash for a bit and will check him around +8-ish.

+6 (122)
 
Re: 8/3 Bj AmPs(306), +2(127), +3(49), +4(55), +5(76), +6(12

Sounds great. Thanks for posting in your subject line so I can catch it :-D
 
Re: 8/3 Bj +2(127), +3(49), +4(55), +5(76), +6(122), +8.5(22

I think if he keeps going up like this that you will want to just think about whether you want to shoot through the bounce. Again....it isn't necessary and if you want to shoot 1u, get a +2, and then go to bed, you could as long as the +2 is higher than the PS. If it's the same or similar, you could set an alarm and get up and check him mid cycle.
 
Re: 8/3 Bj +2(127), +3(49), +4(55), +5(76), +6(122), +8.5(22

We have a cat door and he's disappeared on me at PMPS. I'm on a short fuse right about now.

cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 8/3 Bj +2(127), +3(49), +4(55), +5(76), +6(122), +8.5(22

He's 20 minutes late. Shoot or skip? If skip, test tonight anyway? He just walked in.
 
Re: 8/3 Bj PMPS (479)

PMPS (479)

Late Shot, Lower Dose 1u. Maybe a bad call but there it is. I can't figure why the heck does his PMPS always jump so high.
 
Re: 8/3 Bj PMPS (479)

Hi Mike

Sorry BJ skipped out on you! From your notes just now, I gather the shot was a little over half an hour late? It could have been worse :mrgreen: Generally, as you no doubt have read already, we don't recommend combining stalling a shot with reducing the dose (because that technically counts as a doubled reduction). Still, IMHO, I'd say in this case, since BJ had just earned the reduction to 1.0u, I don't think this is too bad a call.

This will give you data on what happens when *NOT* shooting through a bounce by waiting one more cycle until implementing the dose reduction. Data is a good thing. Yes, this could have gone better. But you had to make a call and you made one, and now we'll move on and learn from the data you collect. Sorry I wasn't around yet to give you input, I just got up a little while gao and haven't had coffee yet! Sorry!

As for the high-rise tendency you're seeing: I think what's happening is that BJ is "bouncing" off the low(ish) greens he's had in the past 4 day cycles. (Bounces: When the liver "senses" what to the specific cat is a "low BG", AND/OR the liver "senses" a fast drop, also called a "dive". The liver reacts by releasing glugagon and conter-regulatory hormones to bring BG back up, and somewhat overshoots the target, as it were.) With a bit more time, the hope is that BJ's system (including of course liver and pancreas) will get used to those beautiful healthy green numbers, and will stop overreacting (by bringing about bounces). One encouraging sign - if I'm right and these *are* in fact bounces we're seeing - is that BJ "clears" them well (meaning, his body is good at clearing the extra sugar and hormones out of his system quickly), rather than sticking to the high numbers for longer (which can happen too, for several cycles!).

You're doing so well! Are you ok? Any other Qs or thoughts?
Jane
 
Re: 8/3 Bj PMPS (479)

Morning, Jane :smile:

I'm pretty cranky tonight from fatigue and lack of any relaxation. Knucklehead taking off on me had me fuming. But I'm hanging in there.

Yeah, I have questions that mostly relate to his feeding schedule but I don't have the energy to get into it tonight lol. I'll post something over the weekend and request a review. I want to get on the right track asap.
 
Re: 8/3 Bj PMPS (479)

Mike and Bj said:
Morning, Jane :smile: I'm pretty cranky tonight from fatigue and lack of any relaxation. Knucklehead taking off on me had me fuming. But I'm hanging in there. Yeah, I have questions that mostly relate to his feeding schedule but I don't have the energy to get into it tonight lol. I'll post something over the weekend and request a review. I want to get on the right track asap.

I so understand being cranky. Get some rest and we'll check out your questions when you're ready to post and review, k? You did great.
Jane
 
Re: 8/3 Bj PMPS (479), +2(285)

Yeah, I just fed him again now so we are on the same page. Schedule is off but doing our best. Update in 1hr.
 
Re: 8/3 Bj PMPS (479), +2(285)

Hi Mike,
Checking in from work...
You ARE on the right track. Amazing progress this early on. BJ is just a bouncey kitty but that won't last forever.
Carl
 
Re: 8/3 Bj PMPS (479), +2(285)

Hi, Carl :-D

I'm not to the maniacal laughter stage. Yet. @-)

+4 (148)

EDIT: Want to note my hour numbers are wonky tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top