Re: 8/3 Bj PMPS (479)
Hi Mike
Sorry BJ skipped out on you! From your notes just now, I gather the shot was a little over half an hour late? It could have been worse :mrgreen: Generally, as you no doubt have read already, we don't recommend combining stalling a shot with reducing the dose (because that technically counts as a doubled reduction). Still, IMHO, I'd say in this case, since BJ had just earned the reduction to 1.0u, I don't think this is too bad a call.
This will give you data on what happens when *NOT* shooting through a bounce by waiting one more cycle until implementing the dose reduction. Data is a good thing. Yes, this could have gone better. But you had to make a call and you made one, and now we'll move on and learn from the data you collect. Sorry I wasn't around yet to give you input, I just got up a little while gao and haven't had coffee yet! Sorry!
As for the high-rise tendency you're seeing: I think what's happening is that BJ is "bouncing" off the low(ish) greens he's had in the past 4 day cycles. (Bounces: When the liver "senses" what to the specific cat is a "low BG", AND/OR the liver "senses" a fast drop, also called a "dive". The liver reacts by releasing glugagon and conter-regulatory hormones to bring BG back up, and somewhat overshoots the target, as it were.) With a bit more time, the hope is that BJ's system (including of course liver and pancreas) will get used to those beautiful healthy green numbers, and will stop overreacting (by bringing about bounces). One encouraging sign - if I'm right and these *are* in fact bounces we're seeing - is that BJ "clears" them well (meaning, his body is good at clearing the extra sugar and hormones out of his system quickly), rather than sticking to the high numbers for longer (which can happen too, for several cycles!).
You're doing so well! Are you ok? Any other Qs or thoughts?
Jane