8/29 Trixie AMBG 206 "+3" 81

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

I don't know if Trix's pancreas is trying to kill me, make me crazy, or a little of both - all I can say is Ms P is being successful in bringing Trix down AND keeping me on edge!! I don't like this yellow...her second one in the last week. In hindsight, maybe I should I have retested. Or maybe I should get out the back up meter. Or maybe retesting or the back up wouldn't have made a difference anyway. Trix certainly seems to FEEL fine, and is not exhibiting any typical high BG symptoms. As we have all said many times before, it is quite possible that many civvies normally run numbers like this, and as long as Ms P does her thing and brings Trix back down, I guess all is well. It just goes against my LL/TR/control freak ways! (Hmmmmm....maybe there's a bigger lesson in here that this bean is supposed to learn!)

Her gelcap went down on the first try - woohoo! I'm in the process of shifting her meds an hour earlier; tomorrow is her BP check and BW/kidney check, and I have to pill her 6 hours before her 10:40am appointment. 4:00am Saturday morning to start the routine, here I come :roll: .

Fortunately, another side-effect free day for my Dad yesterday. I know some of the potential side effects can be cumulative, and some may appear in one cycle, but not another without rhyme or reason or consistency (which is an extremely frustrating and stressful part of this whole thing), but it's a relief to think that he may have made it through the first cycle pretty unscathed. Hopefully the cancer did NOT make it through unscathed, though. He got disconnected from his pump yesterday, and we go next Friday for follow up BW, and then the next round is the following Tuesday. So, he has a bit of a breather for now. On another happy note, he ordered himself a new photo and slide scanner yesterday...if he's buying new toys, he obviously has plans for sticking around to use them!

Since I own retail, TGIF normally doesn't mean anything to me...but this week, I actually have a very-much needed 3-day weekend off from work :-D ! I will doing all sorts of catching up...around the house...sleeping...shopping....LL. I'm practically giddy.

Have a great day, LL!

Amy
 
Ms. Trix, why oh why must you put mommabean through the high numbers to start the day??!?!?!

Glad to see she came down to a nice green number...I guess it is hard to say if this is normal or not because there was no reason to test her, (or any of our cats) BEFORE their dx, so for all we know, this is exactly how Trixie was before her diagnosis. Just wish she would start the day out with the green, such a formality to have to do two tests :lol:

Glad to hear your dad did well and is buying new toys! I hope you enjoy your 3 day weekend and take a little "Amy time" in addition to everything else you will be doing....

Have a great day!
 
Way to go Miss P! She comes to the rescue again. It would be interesting to test Turnup and see what she does BG wise, but I don't have a death wish. :lol: Trixie is looking good and great to hear that she is feeling good too. That is what it is all about. You know the signs and I know you are watching for them.

It is really good news that your dad still doesn't have any side-effects. One day at a time. That's all you can do. He obviously is not too worried to buy toys. Good for him! He will beat this.

I always kind of feel bad about these long weekends because I know you are retail. I am so glad that you are taking a few days off. You definitely deserve a break. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Melissa & Tarragon said:
Way to go Miss P! She comes to the rescue again. It would be interesting to test Turnup and see what she does BG wise, but I don't have a death wish. :lol:

:lol: :lol: :lol: . I've ever-so-briefly thought about testing my civvies....but I really don't want to freak them out unnecessarily. Trix is so used to it, she takes it like a trooper. Such a good girl.

Three days off will be nice...but I sure could use about three MONTHS off :roll: . I never used to understand why people would take leaves of absences because of the rest of their life. Now I get it....
 
Morning Amy ~O) ~O) ~O)

WOOT! Mr P is in the house. but i do bet that amps got you going.... I was always tempted to test my kitties too, but never did. I was not too sure any of them would have sat still, and Lola? Forget it. :lol: Mannie alwyas did sit and let me test, always. He'd come and get me when it was time. I always kinda felt he knew I was trying to help him. anyways - I did know what the others normal BG was, from asked for basic BW when they went in for whatever: routinely in the 80/90 range. AWESOME on the gelcap! :-D :cool:

I am glad that your dad is doing so well. I hope that it continues to be side effect free. How wonderful for him.

Have a great Friday! nice on the days off. ENJOY!
 
The higher numbers but pancreas working makes me still wonder if perhaps many cats do this. As I've mentioned before I have so many tests for Max because of his chronic panc. What I now wonder if perhaps it's a sign that if carbs aren't controlled they will become type 2 diabetics? Max blocked when he was about 5 and before that was a dry food junkie. I had to switch to Hills CD and he ate as much canned as I could get into him but still preferred dry. Then when Tiffany got sick he was eating only dry until pancreatitis when he was switched to regular canned food because he had gained too much weight. All canned but high carb foods brought us here. So only one cat's history but my theory until proven wrong!

Keep the green coming Trixie!!
 
Wow, Ms P. really kicks into gear!!! That's so wild/awesome. I spot tested my civvie once, because she basically asked me to test her. It was so weird. She was lurking outside the bathroom (where I test Billie) looking jealous. As soon as Billie was done, Brooklyn came prancing in and sat in the testing spot for me and looked at me as if to say "my turn." So, I tested her. She sat perfectly still and was totally calm...and this is a cat who was called "the calico terror" by a vet tech who tried to clip her nails and couldn't get past two toes. :lol: Anyway, she was at 49, and it was a few hours after a meal. I don't know how far she came down, but I definitely wonder what the civvies do all day.

I'm glad your dad is doing well so far!! Sending more vines his way.
 
Yep, Mr. P is definitely working! enjoy your time off. and good that your dad is not having adverse symptoms or side effects. Paws , toes and fingers crossed for you all :smile:
 
Atta girl, Trixie. Give Ms. P a workout. It helps keep her in shape! :mrgreen:

I tested Minka once, because she had been drinking a lot of water and hanging around the water dispenser. She's been on Pred for quite a while, so I was concerned. I can't remember what her BG was, but it was under 100, so I relaxed. I pray every day that Harvey will never get FD because I absolutely cannot imagine testing him, let alone shooting! :shock: :roll:

Hooray for no side effects so far for your DF. I'll keep the prayers coming, and maybe he'll set a record for being side-effect free (anti-jinx) the whole way through! Sounds like his attitude is good, too, if he's buying toys that require time and effort to use. That's a great help to his overall well-being.

Enjoy your three day weekend! You've sure earned it! :razz:
 
Hi Amy,

Glad to hear that your dad had no adverse reactions to the chemo. Praying that the cancer goes and he does well.

Wow that is big jump for Trixie. Her pancreas is obviously working, but I sure the yellow got you a bit nervous. Enjoy your time off.
 
hee-hee...I'm practically giddy for you! You deserve a three day weekend!!!! :lol: Sorry to see that Trixie continues to play with your emotions, but at least she let's you know that she's ok, too...usually 2-3 hours after she's stressed you out, but still...it's something!!!!! YAY for your dad and retail therapy! Glad he's got a breather before next round. Prayers! Happy three day weekend, Amy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top