8/29 Sebastian AMPS 261 +1 274 +2 308 +5 285 +7 267 +10 272 PMPS 256 +2 256 B-0HB 2.1

Justin & Sebastian

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

AMPS 261, B-0HB 4.7. He threw up the food between +7 and +9, but I gave him 5 more syringes of food after that and he kept that down but blood ketones are up to 4.7 this morning so we're going to the hospital.
 
Okay I decided not to go to the hospital just yet. As we were packing up I noticed he looked a lot more alert, eyes were wide open and he was attentive to what's going on. I took another blood ketone reading 1/2 hour after the first one and he's down to 4.0. And he didn't throw up the final feeding of last night and hasn't thrown up breakfast yet.

So I think I'm going to hold off. It's a calculated risk, I know, but going to the hospital has it's own risks. I don't really trust the vets there, there's a risk of infection which happened last time he was there. So I'd like to avoid it if at all possible. So at this point I'm just going to continue to monitor him and keep getting food into him. If he does start throwing up again or the ketones start to climb back up then I'll take him over to the local vet first before we do the hospital.
 
274@+1, B-0HB 3.6. Blood ketones still coming down, food still staying down. Feeding him a little more. Hoping to get input on R soon, I know I was told we shouldn't give it past +2 so that gives us another hour. BG looks like it might be peaking though so we'll see what happens again here in an hour
 
Just spoke to the vet to confirm sub-q dosage and she did say 50-100ml per day max, so it looks like I have been overdoing it a bit. I can still feel some fluids in him from last nights so we should be good for now anyways.
 
I hope he continues to improve. I understand about your reluctance to take him to the hospital. So many things can happen there :(
 
Poor Sebastian, I hope his ketones continue to go down and you don't end up at the hospital. Paws crossed for you. :bighug:
 
The vet visit went exceptionally well. It was a new vet and she was amazing, extremely thorough exam and very communicative. She checked him "head to tail" and the only thing she noticed is that he felt pretty gassy. Other than that, no bruising or swelling in the mouth that would indicate complication from the dental, heart sounded great, lungs sounded great, bladder and colon felt normal. She even checked his back muscles to see if he had any arthritis issues, which he didn't. Overall she said he looks exceptionally well for a diabetic cat this old. They also did in-house blood work and everything looked normal, the elevated WBC and infection markers from the labs we did last week were gone, so looks like the dental did the trick.

So she wound up prescribing Metoclopramide, which said is an anti-nausea but also is supposed to help the GI track get into a normal rhythm. She said sometimes the anesthesia can disrupt that and with the gassiness she thinks his GI track might just be stopped and that's why he's not getting the digestion in to keep the ketones out. So we start giving him that along with the cerenia for the next couple days until things even out hopefully. I'm also going to try and pump a little more food into him. I realized I was syringe feeding him his "normal" amount, which is 1 5.5oz can per cycle, but lately he's been eating almost twice that calorie-wise, so that could also explain it.

Unfortunately the vet was just a fill-in, I guess she just moved down from Pennsylvania and they're not sure if it's going to be a full-time thing or not. Either way, I'm going to find out whatever practice she does go to and start going there so she can be his full time vet.
 
Justin, so happy you found a vet you can trust, and that Sebastian is in pretty good shape. I hope this helps you enjoy a better day today.
Keep feeling better, pretty boy kitty!:)
 
Glad the vet visit went well and that Sebastian got a good report card overall :) I hope the GI issues resolve soon.
 
285@+5, B-0HB 3.0. Looks like BG is starting to come down, ketones coming down also. Still no more vomit, so just gonna keep pumping more food into him every couple hours and hope for the best. I'm guessing he should be peeing here before too long and then I'll get a urine strip under him to see how bad the ketones actually are
 
Awesome! sounds like a positive experience at the vet all around and its awesome Sebastian's ketones are lowering! I am happy for you that you found a vet that you really trust :)
 
272@+10, B-0HB 2.6. Came back up again. And looks like he was bouncing today, relatively flat. Would have been nice to get some R but apparently I still don't have any support for it yet.
 
You are a great pet parent; watching Sebastian as closely as you do. He is fortunate to have you! I don't know anything about using R insulin; I've never even used it on my diabetic dog. Here's hoping that those ketones come on down.
 
272@+10, B-0HB 2.6. Came back up again. And looks like he was bouncing today, relatively flat. Would have been nice to get some R but apparently I still don't have any support for it yet.
You do have experience with it though. How about you use as according to advice from a few days ago? Smaller amount, etc.
OR raise the Lantus dose?
 
PMPS 256, B-0HB 2.1. Syringe fed him 40ml of food, gave him his medicine, and 50ml of sub-q. He hasn't drank anything today or peed so I'm pretty sure he needs some fluids. Blood ketones hanging in there. Good news though, he was kinda hanging out by his food area. I tried putting out some regular food and he didn't want it but I put down some tuna and he's eating that. So he's getting a bit of appetite back.

You do have experience with it though. How about you use as according to advice from a few days ago? Smaller amount, etc.
I mean I got told everything I did wrong, got a few tips but I still have a ton of questions and was told I should only do it under direct guidance. But at this point I'll just figure it out on my own since it's been two dedicated threads now and several random comments and still no guidance.

raise the Lantus dose?
Still too early for that, this is only the 5th cycle at 7u. Plus I'm pretty sure his BG is going to start to break lower now that the cleaning is done and the blood work has cleared up. I think we'll start earning some reductions soon but I think R would help smooth out the bounces that I know are going to happen. Especially with the ketones acting up I'd like to try and get those peaks as low as possible.
 
I hope Sebatian's numbers come down soon! Glad you found a fabulous vet! Hope you can follow her to whatever practice she lands at. So great to find someone so thorough and that you like! She sounds like a keeper!
 
256@+2. I set out some food so we'll see if he eats on his own, otherwise I'll be up +5 to test him again and syringe feed him some more
 
Back
Top