8/29--Phoebe amps--530, +5.5-320, pmps-530, +4-209.

Phoebe is high......
I am still slowly backing up to her usual shoot (15 minutes each dose)-------question-----how long after her sugar should I give insulin--reading posts I am a little confused.
I have given her insulin for this 530.

I left some moist food down----and there was maybe a dozen pieces of kibble (party mix) on the feeding mat.......I feed phoebe last--about an hour after getting up.....of course the kibble is gone--mystery----snickers is my night covert eater, and he is dominate over her.

Surfing----read a few posts and researched a bit.-----sugars go up and down significantly during post insulin dosing. Still not sure what is causing that. please explain to me.

I read a bit on somebody's post --on her feeding all her cats (3-4) moist food via-putting some down now, and when she is gone for long times putting down frozen cubes. I read it's best to get them to eat by serving mouse temperature moist food. I do use warm water and mix in all kitties food.

I think I should get rid of the kibble.

How do I bookmark certain posts that I want to hang on to?

@tiffmaxee
@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Last edited:
read notes from last night-----corrected--surfing is when they stay down, or "flat" between dosing?

@tiffmaxee
Elise meant
will stay in around the same range and not go much lower with the +3 and +4 you got last night those 2 BG numbers were about the same

Elise will have to answer the other questions you have , she will probably be on later,it's only 7:30 there she lives in Calif

Elise the kibble that Eva is feeding besides the FF Pate is
friskies party mix original or beachside crunch. It's 29.7 carbs
@tiffmaxee
 
I was reading somewhere that I get her sugar, then feed, then give insulin. So that's why I asked if there is a time lapse after she eats that I give her insulin. Or, should I just give the insulin, unless she is lower. (Elise posts)
 
How do I bookmark certain posts that I want to hang on to?
I use a tablet so up top where that long line is above that pic of the cat I have a star there I tap on it and what comes up on mine will say Add Bookmark then I tap save

It will say name on it also so I just delete what it says there and write what it was about , then hit save again
 
I was reading somewhere that I get her sugar, then feed, then give insulin. So that's why I asked if there is a time lapse after she eats that I give her insulin. Or, should I just give the insulin, unless she is lower. (Elise posts)
You can give the insulin right after she eats , or even while she's eating The whole process should take 15 minutes
 
I was reading somewhere that I get her sugar, then feed, then give insulin. So that's why I asked if there is a time lapse after she eats that I give her insulin. Or, should I just give the insulin, unless she is lower. (Elise posts)

no time lapse

it goes like this

  • Test the sugars to make sure it is safe to give insulin
  • Feed the kitty so that there is food on board before giving insulin
  • give the insulin
All within about a 15-minute time frame, give or take. Everything happens pretty much at the same time -- test/feed/shoot.
 
It would be best to slowly get rid of the kibble. It will require less insulin to be needed so close monitoring will be needed to see the effect. Since there’s a Libre that won’t be a problem I assume.
 
It would be best to slowly get rid of the kibble. It will require less insulin to be needed so close monitoring will be needed to see the effect. Since there’s a Libre that won’t be a problem I assume.

It will be a slow process---I have a lot of dry food from not being able to get cat food and ordering extra when I could---

What is "Libre" "Since there’s a Libre that won’t be a problem I assume." I don't have the Libre monitoring system.

@tiffmaxee
 
It will be a slow process---I have a lot of dry food from not being able to get cat food and ordering extra when I could---

Eva try and keep your spreadsheet up to date :cat:
What is "Libre" "Since there’s a Libre that won’t be a problem I assume." I don't have the Libre monitoring system.

@tiffmaxee
Hi Eva I think Elise got confused about the Libre. That is something that your vet would attach to your cats skin and scans their BG you would scan it with a smart phone meaning you won't have to prick the ears

And yes you would have to take away the dry food little by little, I think you said Phoebe really doesn't eat that much dry food anyway but you would still have to
monitor more closely because taking it away could drop her BG quite a lot
If she is looking for food over night, I know you said you leave the dry food out over night because you have another kitty ,you will have to feed Phoebe the wet food if she's hungry.
I forgo do you leave out the dry food all day long also
Eva refresh my memory you have 4 cats right? What is each one eating?
I know you have a cat with kidney disease right?
Have you checked out the list I gave you? The Weruva food list because Phoebe can eat that also
Let me know

Try and keep your spreadsheet updated :cat:


@eva eva
 
Last edited:
You can give her any freeze dried treats for a snack
most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P





Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
Ahi Tuna
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Chicken Hearts
  • Duck Liver
  • Minnows
  • Rabbit
Here is another one
You can give her any freeze dried treats for a snack
most members give freeze dried treats , they are low carb, you can probably find them in some local pet stores also
I did a search for you on here and copied what some members said they use,

When testing you can give them a treat so they will associate after testing they will get a reward, any freeze dried treats are ok such as
PureBites Freeze-Dried Cat Treats with Chicken Breast 2.3 oz ()https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071P

Also chewys has freeze dried treats also


The freeze dried treats you can get at petsmart, petco and order from chewy. Purebites is popular (cheaper if you buy the dog food ones). My crew like vital essentials it's dehydrated freeze dried raw comes in flavors

freeze dried minnows, made by Vital Essentials. I also buy the ones made for dogs. They're the same as the freeze dried minnows for cats. just cheaper. They also carry other freeze dried treats. I ordered mine through Amazon.

I think the vital essentials are more of a crunchy texture than the purebites

If you cat likes any of these you can buy the bigger bags for dogs they are the same ,you will get more for your money just break then up into smaller pieces
.

You can Google freeze dried treats and see what other ones there are and different flavors
Just make sure that is the only ingredient in them meaning turkey, chicken, minnows etc

Here is another one , I see you can get these in different flavors also just look
You may have to break any freeze dried treats in half if they are too big
https://www.amazon.com/Vital-Essent...ocphy=9003521&hvtargid=pla-630511512365&psc=1

Flavor Name: Duck Liver
Ahi Tuna
  • Chicken
  • Chicken Giblets
  • Chicken Hearts
  • Duck Liver
  • Minnows
  • Rabbit
Here is another one Halo Live A Littles
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=halo liv a littles&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIqM3npIiF-AIVEYnICh2PtQK6EAAYAyAAEgL--PD_BwE&hvadid=176944855419&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&he

https://www.amazon.com/Halo-Littles...ords=halo live a little&qid=1653847544&sr=8-1

Looks like they have other flavors also
 
I mixed you up with another cat and was thinking you had a Libre Sorry. You will need to watch carefully you switch to only wet food. Do it slowly. It can make huge difference in the amount of insulin needed plus once you stop dry you could switch to TR if you want. Sorry about the mixup.
 
I mixed you up with another cat and was thinking you had a Libre Sorry. You will need to watch carefully you switch to only wet food. Do it slowly. It can make huge difference in the amount of insulin needed plus once you stop dry you could switch to TR if you want. Sorry about the mixup.
Elise I can't even keep track of what's going on with each kitty or who's who :p
So many kitties right ?:cat:
 
Hi Eva I think Elise got confused about the Libre. That is something that your vet would attach to your cats skin and scans their BG you would scan it with a smart phone meaning you won't have to prick the ears

And yes you would have to take away the dry food little by little, I think you said Phoebe really doesn't eat that much dry food anyway but you would still have to
monitor more closely because taking it away could drop her BG quite a lot
If she is looking for food over night, I know you said you leave the dry food out over night because you have another kitty ,you will have to feed Phoebe the wet food if she's hungry. I leave her wet food she doesn't eat for supper out all night.--I add a little more water cuz she like to like it dry. I left the dry out last night. I am sure she didn't eat in the am for at least 1 hour prior to bg. Royal cani
I forgo do you leave out the dry food all day long also... Yes I do. The other kitties eat.
Eva refresh my memory you have 4 cats right? What is each one eating? moosey--kidney kitty---royal canin moist D, E, T. and dry kibble--she sneaks it. also has kidney dry kibble---wasted--she doesn't eat that, One-eyed Jack FF, friskies moist, and dry kibble--fiv and oral resorptive disease, Snickers--dry kibble mostly--some friskies moist. and then Phoebe--fancy feast.
I know you have a cat with kidney disease right? Moosey. I ordered a few samples of the weruva from Bentleys in town. I think somebody said to keep the phosphorus content <200?? Or was it 100??
Have you checked out the list I gave you? The Weruva food list because Phoebe can eat that also
Let me know

Try and keep your spreadsheet updated :cat: Thanks--- I was on the run today and made pitstops at the house.


@eva eva
 
PHOSPHORUS IDEALLY LOW 200's OR LESS
This was posted by one of our members about Weruva pates

Click to expand...
I don't know if the BFF PLAY weruva pate is on the list your looking at or not. I wrote down the protein carbs & phosphorus #s in a notebook.
BFF play chicken Checkmate
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken & turkey topsy turvy
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 135%
BFF chicken & turkey tiptoe
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 136%
BFF chicken duck & turkey take a chance
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 149%
BFF play chicken & lamb laugh out loud
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 154%
BFF play chicken & duck destiny
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 165%
BFF play chicken & beef best buds
Protein 33%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 171%
Don't know if your kitty likes pate but here is the list of the BFF Play line.

Here is another weruva it's called
Weruva slide n serve family food chicken breast dinner with tuna pate . It comes in a pouch, some of the ones I listed either come in a can or pouch

Also tap on this link look at post # 22 there is a whole bunch of weruva food also
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...t-scary-at-the-same-time.265785/#post-2975796

Did Moosey like the weruva , did you get it yet?
 
Last edited:
Thanks! For all these choices. I just ordered today at Bentleys, for some samples of the Weruva. Having more choices for the cats allows me to get rid of the kibble
 
Thanks! For all these choices. I just ordered today at Bentleys, for some samples of the Weruva. Having more choices for the cats allows me to get rid of the kibble
I remember you said sometimes Phoebe won't eat the fancy feast pate
Like I said you can feed these to Phoebe since they are low carb
 
Back
Top