8/29 Mr.Cat AMPS 98 +3 71 +7 82 PMPS 88 Headed OTJ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess and MrCat

Member Since 2013
Hello all-

It's been a while since I posted but I think my dear Mr.Cat is getting close to remission after only 1.5 months on Lantus. Before this morning, Mr.Cat had no insulin for 28 hours. These were his numbers yesterday....

8/27
AMPS 79
+2 72
+6 92
+8 93
PMBG 88

I gave him a .25U this morning at 6:30am, which is his +28 from his last shot.
8/28
AMPS 104
+4 85
+9 91
+12 87
+14 90

I haven't given him a shot tonight due to low numbers. I will keep testing but if his numbers stay low and he's below 100 tomorrow morning, I may consider doing an OTJ trial. What do you think?

Thanks!
Jessica

P.S. If anyone wonders why Mr.Cat's numbers are so consistent with no large BG fluctuations, I don't know for sure but I am almost 100% sure that it's his zero carb diet (Natural Choice pates and raw meat). When he was on low carb foods (including 2 - 3% carb foods like FF and other recommended canned food), he fluctuated a lot more. Just wanted to share in case there are some folks out there who are open to trying a zero carb diet.
 
Re: 8/28 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 85 +9 91 +12 87 +14 90 Headed

I'm not sure why you gave insulin this morning...104 is an awesome (and normal) number!! Between 50-130 is "normal" for a diet controlled diabetic

I think I would have tried to go down to .1 before skipping the doses....Mr Cat is doing so great...it might be better to give him just that drop or two and make sure the remission sticks...and then go for the OTJ trial soon!!

Those are some beautiful numbers Mr. Cat!! Looks like we'll soon be having a party!!

What .1 looks like:

01unit-1.jpg
 
Re: 8/28 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 85 +9 91 +12 87 +14 90 Headed

Thank you for the reply! I will give him .1U tonight per your suggestion. And thanks for showing me what .1U looks like. I really had no idea!
Best,
Jessica
 
Re: 8/28 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 85 +9 91 +12 87 +14 90 Headed

Happy to help! It IS a tiny amount though, isn't it?? I hear some people say that after they push the plunger in hard and then relax, as it naturally "gives" , it draws a tiny amount back into the syringe, that's pretty close to .1 unit
 
Re: 8/28 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 85 +9 91 +12 87 +14 90 Headed

Good luck on that new dose. We like to give the kitty insulin as long as we can as it seems to help keep them in remission. Ideally a SS that's mostly green is the target just before an OTJ trial. Take a look at the bottom of Elian's SS as an example of a kitty about to go on a trial. If you are around to monitor, you could still shoot those greens as long as Mr. Cat is above 50 for PS. If you go a week at .1 with normal numbers or Mr. Cat goes below 50, that's when we start an OTJ trial. Paws crossed!
 
Re: 8/28 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 85 +9 91 +12 87 +14 90 Headed

Wow! Never did I think my Elian would have a SS as a good example after all of his months of being crazy high! Hope Mr Cat and Elian can do an OTJ trial together - fingers and paws crossed we get there soon although I'm a nervous wreck! Good luck to you guys - you're doing great.
 
Re: 8/28 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 85 +9 91 +12 87 +14 90 Headed

Thanks so much for all your help and support. I didn't feel comfortable going completely OTJ yet, so I'm happy to keep going with .1U. Congratulations to Elian!!! What a great story.... going from crazy high BG numbers to such beautiful ones. Yes, perhaps Mr.Cat and Elian can be OTJ pals very soon. What a happy day that will be for all of us!!!
Thanks again to everyone!
Jess :smile:
P.S. Love the photo of Elian and his pals sleeping. You are so right - there is nothing better than being purred to sleep!
 
Re: 8/28 Mr.Cat AMPS 104 +4 85 +9 91 +12 87 +14 90 Headed

Mr. Cat is lookin' mighty good.

Keep up the good work!

Ella & Rusty (one of whose nicknames is "Mr. Cat"!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top