8/29 Max AMPS 339, +5 406 (alphatrak)

Hettie

Member Since 2018
Just wanting to get some confirmation or suggestions for my boy Max. I've been following the SLGS protocol and have been able to reduce his dose over the past year but he still seems to bounce a lot. We will have one good cycle about every seven days (like on 8/16) then he's high for a week. That's why I reduced his dose to 1 in the hopes that his "good" cycle won't be so low and maybe we can get some regular numbers in the 200's. Thoughts?
 
Hello and welcome. My first suggestion is that you need to get into the habit of getting some night time tests. A test just before bed is a good one. Many cats go lower at night, and we determine how to change the dose based on those lows - so night time tests are essential. It could be you are missing some cycles where he's earned reductions at night, then started bouncing again so all you are seeing is the bounce cycles. I'd pay particular attention to those nights where he had a high AMPS and a much lower PMPS that could be indicating he's breaking his bounce. That could mean the following PM cycle will be quite active. Although, cats can even earn reductions starting very high. In the early days, my girl earned several reductions starting in the 400's.

Speaking of lows/reductions, on the 16th he got down to 78, anything below 90 earns a reduction on SLGS, so you should have reduced after that.
 
Thank you for the reply. Regarding the 90 or under rule - that seems to be referring to a number on a human meter, which seem to usually be lower than the pet meters. What does 90 roughly translate to on a pet meter? 120-ish?
 
Back
Top