8/29 Max AMPS 226 +3 421 +6 445 +8 419 PMPS 382

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
We are in the yellow! First day using ReliOn Prime meter. Max still dealing with ear infections in both ears. Using Baytril Otic drops, (no steroids) today is the third day. Can’t really see any improvement in ears yet. Supposed to use them two weeks so I’m guessing these things take time to heal. We’ve never dealt with cat’s ear infections before.:cat:
 
Link to yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-28-max-amps-387-3-378-6-399-pmps-329.252097/

I knew you'd like what you see from the Relion meter better! It's hard to see those higher AT numbers when most of the other spreadsheets you'll see are from people using human meters.
Yes @Wendy&Neko I was happy to see it too! Was a little disappointed though at @+3 it shot up to over 400 again. The only thing he’s eating is Fancy Feast 1 can before am shot. It’s not on my SS yet. I guess he bounced again maybe?
 
Unfortunately, he's still not used to yellows. How would you feel about going up to 10 units next? It's been six cycles at this dose and no numbers below 200, which means he's due for an increase. Normally we suggest going to 1 unit increases when you get to 10 units, but you are almost there so I think it's a safe move.
 
Unfortunately, he's still not used to yellows. How would you feel about going up to 10 units next? It's been six cycles at this dose and no numbers below 200, which means he's due for an increase. Normally we suggest going to 1 unit increases when you get to 10 units, but you are almost there so I think it's a safe move.
I could do that. Won’t that make he keep bouncing though if we go too fast and he’s not used to it? I’m just asking because I don’t really understand dosing and what we are looking for specially yet. I really rely on y’all a lot with the advice right now and just trying to understand everything. @Wendy&Neko
 
Bouncing is a process that involves getting safely to a dose where he starts to see normal numbers more of the time. Only once he starts seeing normal numbers more often will he ease off on the bouncing. The longer he stays in higher numbers, the worse the glucose toxicity. It sounds bad, but basically is a type of resistance where his body is used to higher number and it takes more insulin to break that resistance. More details here: Glucose toxicity: What is it & what should I do about it?s

Almost every new person asks if it's better to gradually get them used to lower numbers, and the answer is no. Bouncing is not a bad thing, it's a sign his natural defences are working, and also a sign that the insulin is working to get him towards better numbers.
 
Bouncing is a process that involves getting safely to a dose where he starts to see normal numbers more of the time. Only once he starts seeing normal numbers more often will he ease off on the bouncing. The longer he stays in higher numbers, the worse the glucose toxicity. It sounds bad, but basically is a type of resistance where his body is used to higher number and it takes more insulin to break that resistance. More details here: Glucose toxicity: What is it & what should I do about it?s

Almost every new person asks if it's better to gradually get them used to lower numbers, and the answer is no. Bouncing is not a bad thing, it's a sign his natural defences are working, and also a sign that the insulin is working to get him towards better numbers.
Okay that makes since. I guess I’ve been looking at it as a bad thing all of this time. Thanks for explaining that to me. It’s reassuring to know at least that we are getting somewhere. Every time I see these really high numbers I just get to discouraged but like I said, it’s good to know that we are moving in the right direction. I will read the link on glucose toxicity as well. I’ve learned a lot but still have so much more to learn. I’m hoping to see Dr Lunn at NC State at the end of next month and ask her about changing to Levemir. My current vet has never had an acrocat and it seems that what I learn here is way more valuable than what he can tell me. He didn’t want to change his insulin and hasn’t even wanted me to increase his dosage at the rate we have been. At least he got me the referral to NC State. I’m hoping Dr Lunn can help us with whatever options there are for Max. I’m just hoping that there’s not so much damage done already with his heart enlargement or his kidneys that could make him ineligible for anything.
 
Last edited:
Good luck with the increase, Lori. My Susie bounces all the time but she is slowly getting into better (or at least more consistent) numbers. It is frustrating but as Wendy says it is the body's way of protecting your cat. I'm glad you are going to be seeing a specialist. That should be really helpful to you. I know Marje is happy about that.
 
Good luck with the increase, Lori. My Susie bounces all the time but she is slowly getting into better (or at least more consistent) numbers. It is frustrating but as Wendy says it is the body's way of protecting your cat. I'm glad you are going to be seeing a specialist. That should be really helpful to you. I know Marje is happy about that.
Yes Summer, everyone here has been so encouraging and helpful. You are so kind. Wendy is so knowledgeable and I’m so thankful for her and for this whole group.
 
Bouncing is a process that involves getting safely to a dose where he starts to see normal numbers more of the time. Only once he starts seeing normal numbers more often will he ease off on the bouncing. The longer he stays in higher numbers, the worse the glucose toxicity. It sounds bad, but basically is a type of resistance where his body is used to higher number and it takes more insulin to break that resistance. More details here: Glucose toxicity: What is it & what should I do about it?s

Almost every new person asks if it's better to gradually get them used to lower numbers, and the answer is no. Bouncing is not a bad thing, it's a sign his natural defences are working, and also a sign that the insulin is working to get him towards better numbers.
Hey @Wendy&Neko I ended up giving Max 9.5u. I would have went to 10 but I’m dealing with a migraine this afternoon and sometimes I have trouble focusing with those dreadful things so I need to rest well to get rid of it. Ugh. I didn’t want to miss his chance to increase because he needs it, so I did the .5 increase tonight… maybe I can do the 10 sooner than the 6 cycles if this doesn’t help any? Thanks for your help!
 
We are right here with you, Lori. I can offer support but not dosing advice. Wendy and Marje and Melissa and Bhooma and others are the experts. They will be a great help for you.
 
The other option would have been to wait until tomorrow morning for an increase. In fact, go ahead and do 10 units tomorrow if that works for you.
 
Back
Top